• Against Algeria the U.S. delivered when it mattered most

Donovan and U.S. show flair for drama -- and a whole lot of heart

It was all over, wasn't it? The scoreboard at Loftus Versfeld stadium read USA 0, ALGERIA 0. The fourth official raised his board indicating just four minutes of stoppage time. The Americans had wasted their chances all day, hitting the woodwork once, and yet another FIFA officiating crew had waved off a legitimate U.S. goal.

It had to be over. The U.S. had blown its chance, falling short in the easiest World Cup group of its history, and now the response would be merciless back home. You couldn't advance ahead of Slovenia? You couldn't beat Algeria? All those millions of mainstream sports fans who'd tuned in over the past two weeks would go back to their other interests. It would be a long four years until the next World Cup in Brazil.

(continue)

Donovan 'proud' after last-gasp American triumph

Instead Donovan's goal saw the Americans seal a 1-0 win over Algeria and leap frog both Slovenia and England and clinch top spot in Group C.

With England having secured qualification minutes earlier with a 1-0 victory over Slovenia, the Americans went into injury time staring at an unlikely exit with a point not enough to edge out Slovenia in second place.

But Donovan's second goal of the tournament ensured that the USA would not be following the likes of France, South Africa and Greece on to an early flight home.

(continue)

The U.S. had blown its chance, falling short in the easiest World Cup group of its history

You scrapped by , almost bye..lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Clinton so taken with US team he’s sticking around

Former President Bill Clinton liked what he saw from the U.S. team so much, he’s staying for the next game.

Clinton said Thursday he changed his itinerary in South Africa so he can attend the Americans’ round of 16 game Saturday against Ghana in Rustenburg. Clinton, the honorary chairman of the U.S. bid to host the World Cup in either 2018 or 2022, watched the Americans’ thrilling victory over Algeria on Wednesday with FIFA president Sepp Blatter and U.S. Soccer president Sunil Gulati. He then visited with the team in the locker room.

(continue)

The U.S. had blown its chance, falling short in the easiest World Cup group of its history

You scrapped by , almost bye..lol
          Poor thing. At least you going down fighting.

U.S. top their group for the first in their history. Proof is on the paper. LOL

You still nuh answer which two teams from that group better than the best teams from their previous World Cups. Talk up nuh?

grasping for straws, keep it up you might get one on your way down.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

grasping for straws, keep it up you might get one on your way down.
              LOL. the simplest question and you can't answer it. Or you still believe that Lalas meant it was the easiest group in the World Cup. This is similar your "dearth" campaign. LOL

Stick to the issue , dont hide behind a question , easiest group right ? Finished at the top of the group you say , that easy huh ,hoping for calls and cards to go your way and coming down to the 90 minute of the last game of the group must have been real easy for the USA in such an easy group , if only Argentinia and Brazil could learn from that.

Hype ,spin , flip or flop you still have egg on your face

the question goes directly to the issue, unfortunately your comprehension was off when Lalas made him initial statement, so you started to state all kinds of stupidness.

Again, which two teams from these two groups do you think could qualify from their previous WC groups?

When you serious and ready to answer let me know.

You have to believe the US has a great chance of advancing. Even if as we say in Jamaica, "the Ghanaians baall dem" and 'out-pass' and 'out-move' the USA I expect, the USA has a good chance of winning.

Why?

The Ghanaians have been poor in front of goal and the Americans have been better. In any case, it should be a very entertaining game. Pull hup unnuh chair pan nex Sunday!

After several near-misses by U.S., Donovan dramatically nails winner

The line between stunning, historic success and abject failure is ruthlessly thin at a World Cup.

The goal, the one the United States wanted so desperately and needed even more badly to escape the first round, just wouldn't come. Visions of very bad things were surely starting to taunt U.S. fans, thousands of whom shrank nervously into the South African night with each scoreless minute. This team was about to become the U.S. side that couldn't win a game at World Cup 2010, with the sure coaching changes and player admonishments that would follow.

But then came the goal, a rebound buried by Landon Donovan, and now the entire U.S. South African effort -- the entire four-year cycle, really -- will be seen altogether differently, for this is the side that didn't lose a first-round match here.

(continue)

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                        Clinton so taken with US team he’s sticking around

Former President Bill Clinton liked what he saw from the U.S. team so much, he’s staying for the next game.

Clinton said Thursday he changed his itinerary in South Africa so he can attend the Americans’ round of 16 game Saturday against Ghana in Rustenburg. Clinton, the honorary chairman of the U.S. bid to host the World Cup in either 2018 or 2022, watched the Americans’ thrilling victory over Algeria on Wednesday with FIFA president Sepp Blatter and U.S. Soccer president Sunil Gulati. He then visited with the team in the locker room.

(continue)

Tell di real reason - Ambassador for the USSF...as wi seek di nex available World Cup!

stop please Zeppo....

you're gonna make me cry again for JOY!!!!..