Originally posted by wbvs View Post
    jamaicans are some of the most skilfull players
    from the caribbean
    I thought we had got over this "skillful" nonsense by now. I guess not.

I am sure you also believe African teams have some of the most "skillful" players in the World Cup.

The only problem is the "skills" they supposedly have don't win matches, so 5 of them gone home and one got lucky with help from the most "unskillful" of teams, Australia.

When will we see the light?

I thought we had got over this "skillful" nonsense by now. I guess not.

I am sure you also believe African teams have some of the most "skillful" players in the World Cup.

The only problem is the "skills" they supposedly have don't win matches, so 5 of them gone home and one got lucky with help from the most "unskillful" of teams, Australia.

When will we see the light?
      thats true , I remember days gone teams like antigua etc use to beat up
      jamaica and those were the days when we have 11 skill coles , you r
      right about the africans as skillz are concern however what beat teams
      like nigeria was discipline .
      Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
      United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
      happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
      Probably forthcoming...

I hate to borrow Karls overused word but, in summary, we may or may not have skillful players, but what we do not have is a skillful TEAM!

In fact I would argue that we do not have particularly skillful players either.

If you are a forward and you cannot score then you do NOT have the required skills, it matters not how much you can dance around and juggle a ball. It may be the required skill for the circus but not the required skill for a goal scorer.

I hate to borrow Karls overused word but, in summary we may or may not have skillful players, but what we do not have is a skillful TEAM!

In fact I would argue that we do not have particularly skillful players either.

If you are a forward and you cannot score then you do NOT have the required skills, it matters not how much you can dance around and juggle a ball. It may be the required skill for the circus but not the required skill for a goal scorer.
          true , finishing was what let us down in the last Gold Cup but if jamaica
          neva got the red card versus costa rica they would have advance to
          the next round .
          United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
          Probably forthcoming...

What i don't understand is why we think many other teams in CONCACAF aren't also producing "skillfull" players.

Honduras when Pavon was young, use to dribble circles around our players. the Mexicans been doing it for decades, who can forget Wanchope and the Ricans embarassing our defense repeatedly. Even the curry people team use to have Latapy, Nakhid and the Natty Dread running circles around our defenders at times.

So all these nations have players who can dribble "skillfully" just as good as our players. Difference is those players usually, Shoot, Pass and control the ball much better than ours.

The sooner we get away from this "skill" midset and utilize the strength and speed we have and then organize the team, we will be better going forward.

Originally posted by Me View Post
              What i don't understand is why we think many other teams in CONCACAF aren't also producing "skillfull" players.

Honduras when Pavon was young, use to dribble circles around our players. the Mexicans been doing it for decades, who can forget Wanchope and the Ricans embarassing our defense repeatedly. Even the curry people team use to have Latapy, Nakhid and the Natty Dread running circles around our defenders at times.

So all these nations have players who can dribble "skillfully" just as good as our players. Difference is those players usually, Shoot, Pass and control the ball much better than ours.

The sooner we get away from this "skill" midset and utilize the strength and speed we have and then organize the team, we will be better going forward.
              U CAU bring trinidad inna dis , # 1 we beat trinidad moreso than they do
              us , #2 trinidad have neva beat jamaica in a world cup qualifier . #3
              jamaica is the only caribbean island the brazilians would give a contract
              to . I would love to see JAM/T&T in one group for 2014 World Cup Qualifiers
              Probably forthcoming...

I don't know why we have always believed that, and still believe it after all these years. Talent abounds almost EVERYwhere. Somehow we think is only we have wasted talent like Dago and Blacka.

I bet if you go into the slums of Honduras or Mexico them can tell you about dozens of players who better than their top players today but did not make it.

U CAU bring trinidad inna dis , # 1 we beat trinidad moreso than they do
                  us , #2 trinidad have neva beat jamaica in a world cup qualifier . #3
                  jamaica is the only caribbean island the brazilians would give a contract
                  to . I would love to see JAM/T&T in one group for 2014 World Cup Qualifiers
                  Trinidad beat Jamaica more times than we ever beat them. It is just since the Simoes era we have started to close the gap.

Anyhow, the point is they have "skillfull" ballers just like most of the top nations in CONCACAF do, so we need to get past this obsession with peopel who can dribble.

I would ask you to ponder why it is Fuller cannot score and provide assists for Jamaica to save his life and yet he is in the EPL doing faqairly well at those jobs?

I put it to you that it is not that he cannot do the job...but if his so-called TEAMmates are all playing on the other TEAM's behalf (the give away the ball so often that Fuller's time on the ball is minimal and his support even less)...that it would be more than a miracle if he replicated his EPL feat.

Trinidad beat Jamaica more times than we ever beat them. It is just since the Simoes era we have started to close the gap.

Anyhow, the point is they have "skillfull" ballers just like most of the top nations in CONCACAF do, so we need to get past this obsession with peopel who can dribble.

me I advise you do some research on Trinidad/Tob v Jamaica , the only
                      thing trinidad have over us is Caribbean Cup and thats due because they
                      host it 10 times ! , jamaica have beaten trinidad more times than they
                      do us . you wanna bet ?
                      Probably forthcoming...

Even going to the youth ranks. Almost every youth tournament, Mexico, Costa Rica, Honduras and even El Salvador have looked more "skillfull" than our teams.

When you look at the development from a Junior player to a senior player, the youth team with Fuller is probably the most successful over the past couple decades. Fuller, Kevin Deer, Robert Scarlett, Jermaine Johnson, Shavar, Claude, Stew Peas, Christopher Nicholas, Shane Crawford and Patrick Graham.

When they played their Under 20 qualifiers all the other teams had better dribblers, passes and shooters with the exception of Fuller. They ran circles around the midfield, had Claude and Stew Peas taking salad and pile left right and center, but because Fuller could dribble and run past everybody from his own half of the field they had a chance in every game.

Even going to the youth ranks. Almost every youth tournament, Mexico, Costa Rica, Honduras and even El Salvador have looked more "skillfull" than our teams.

When you look at the development from a Junior player to a senior player, the youth team with Fuller is probably the most successful over the past couple decades. Fuller, Kevin Deer, Robert Scarlett, Jermaine Johnson, Shavar, Claude, Stew Peas, Christopher Nicholas, Shane Crawford and Patrick Graham.

When they played their Under 20 qualifiers all the other teams had better dribblers, passes and shooters with the exception of Fuller. They ran circles around the midfield, had Claude and Stew Peas taking salad and pile left right and center, but because Fuller could dribble and run past everybody from his own half of the field they had a chance in every game.
                          i remember when our U20 team with fuller qualified for the U20 championship in canada .
                          Probably forthcoming...

i remember when our U20 team with fuller qualified for the U20 championship in canada .
                            Are you talking about Keith Kelly's team?

the team that qualified @ the U20 tournament in Canada 2000 , I dont
                              remember if kelly was on the team but christopher nicholas , allen whittiker
                              etc Clovis de Oliveira coached that team , fuller was'nt on it .
                              Probably forthcoming...