• U.S. has the look of America’s team.

U.S. has the look of America’s team.
    By Martin Rogers, Yahoo! Sports

IRENE, South Africa – Tim Howard can’t exactly recall which game it was, but he remembers the moment he listened to the national anthem and realized he played for America’s team.

“I looked down the line and it struck me,” Howard said. “We are about as diverse and representative as it gets. It made me pretty proud – proud of being an American and proud of our team.”

Despite the best efforts of Howard and his teammates at this World Cup, the U.S. may never become a soccer-mad nation. But when an expected record soccer viewing audience tunes in for Wednesday’s do-or-die Group C showdown with Algeria, it will cheer on a team that represents its country in far more ways than just on the field of play.

Cultural diversity, that catch-all phrase so often used to sum up America’s spectrum of influences, courses throughout this group. The collection of players with various racial backgrounds has been molded by head coach Bob Bradley into one of the tightest-knit teams here.

The U.S. squad includes players of Caucasian, African-American, Caribbean, Jewish, Hungarian, British and South American descent. And it would likely have had a Chinese-American if not for Brian Ching being unable to shake off a troublesome injury.

More than any other sport, soccer’s figurehead side in the USA truly reflects the country it stands for. And it provides yet another reason why this is a team the nation should get behind as it bids to claim its place among the world’s elite.

“This is a story that doesn’t get talked about a whole lot,” said U.S. Soccer president Sunil Gulati, who was born in India. “But it is a good thing and we know that if we can tap into America’s diversity it would be a very positive thing.

“This is one of the special things about soccer. It is a game that can be played by everyone. It is very international and multicultural.”

The immediate goal for the Americans is qualifying for the second round, a target that likely requires a victory over Algeria in Pretoria, although a draw may be enough if England fails to beat Slovenia. Progression to the round of 16 – and further – would be another boost for the game’s popularity back home.

The issue of ethnicity is not one that is raised regularly during the long days that team members spend in one another’s company. Yet it is one that many see as a badge of honor.

U.S. team’s ethnic backgrounds

Goalkeepers
    Brad Guzan Caucasian
    Marcus Hahnemann Caucasian
    Tim Howard African-American, Hungarian

Defenders
    Carlos Bocanegra Caucasian, Mexican-American
    Jonathan Bornstein Jewish-American
    Steve Cherundolo Caucasian
    Jay DeMerit Caucasian
    Clarence Goodson Caucasian
    Oguchi Onyewu African-American
    Jonathan Spector Jewish-American

Midfielders
    DaMarcus Beasley African-American
    Michael Bradley Caucasian
    Ricardo Clark Caribbean-American (Trinidad & Tobago)
    Clint Dempsey Caucasian
    Landon Donovan Caucasian
    Maurice Edu African-American
    Benny Feilhaber Jewish (born in Brazil)
    Stuart Holden Caucasian (born in Scotland)
    Jose Francisco Torres Mexican-American

Forwards
    Jozy Altidore Caribbean-American (Haiti)
    Edson Buddle Caribbean-American (Jamaica)
    Robbie Findley Caribbean-American (Trinidad & Tobago)
    Herculez Gomez Mexican-American

“It is something that makes us stand out,” said Jozy Altidore, who, like fellow striker Edson Buddle is Caribbean-American. “We have players who come from every kind of background and heritage. It is nice for us all to be proud of our heritage and proud to play for our country.

“I don’t think there are many squads that are closer than we are and that is what America is all about: people from all backgrounds getting along together.”

Altidore’s family hails from Haiti, and he recently traveled to the Caribbean nation to promote awareness following the devastating earthquake that left an estimated one million people homeless.

The fathers of Robbie Findley and Ricardo Clark came from Trinidad and Tobago. Oguchi Onyewu, Maurice Edu and DaMarcus Beasley are all African-American. Howard, who will again start in goal on Wednesday, has an African-American father and a Hungarian mother. Jonathan Bornstein and Benny Feilhaber are both Jewish. Feilhaber, born in Brazil, and Stuart Holden, who lived in Scotland until he was 10, are the only naturalized Americans on the squad.

Jose Francisco Torres and Herculez Gomez are both Mexican-Americans who star for clubs in the Mexican Primera Division. Torres opted to play for the U.S. when he could have chosen Mexico.

“There are so many Mexicans in the USA and it is nice for me to represent them,” Torres said. “The Hispanic community has so much passion for soccer and it is great to be part of this.

Soccer is the world’s game, but few teams have as much international flavor as the U.S., something that Gulati insists will only diversify further over time.

“This is just one group of players,” Gulati said. “But yes, if you take a look at this team, it is a pretty good snapshot of America.”

Diverse when it suit dem yes dem nuh hab no choice but fi diverse. Nuh suh dem stay ah nuh nutten new dat,