ESPN World Cup Coverage

• ESPN World Cup Coverage

has been much improved since the last one. They are doing an excellent job and the analysts are very good.......even Lalas.

The refereeing has also been generally of high standard. Of all the matches that I have watched to date, the only gaffe I've seen is the sending off of Tim Cahill.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Coverage and Refereeing have both been excellent.

For the 2006 world cup, ESPN/ABC's preferred use of commentators with American accents was a disaster. This time around they hired top commentators & analysts. American media tends to prefer foreigners with British accents, and it was good to see non British analysts in the mix like Rudi Gullit.

Well di English dem run commentary business suh dat is a given. Analyst dem good to, couldah duh widout Lalas still but him ah gwaan.

I was in NY last weekend when the WC started and it was brilliant even though I think some of the analyst they used were crap like one former England international...cant recall who it is now but overall it was very good

Very true; bringing in a top player such has guilit (sp) was good decision. They did their research. I dont use the mute button and I look forward to hear the after game analysis.

the thing about ESPN is the people on the regular shows are now in tune and pushing it. I can remember when these same goons use to talk down "soccer" and the world cup.

Which same goons you referring to?

ratings boss ratings; it's the biggest show on earth.

i dont think its about accents... its about knowledge of the game and how to commentate on tv broadcast of soccer... most americans commentator just don't know enough about the game or the international players to prepare the audience expectations and bring enough excitement to the commentary...

i think the american dave o'brien was excellent at the last world cup 2006... i think he doing baseball during the world cup...

I love the hype ...lalas and all in his psychotic moments ..easiest group B.S !

I tell you my yank friends are impressed.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You are on the money, boss!
                        Who says this is not America's real national game?
                        ...damn...even Basketball ad using football's "step-over moves"?!

Judging by the support , I think the next two WC will see America explode with football passion.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Dave O'Brien was the most criticized commentator of the last world cup, and you can't be serious?

We been hearing that since......how many decades now? Not going to happen.

Maybe by World Cup 2030 if immigration from the Americas continue at its current rate. Maybe.