Folks, was I the only one to see this?

• Folks, was I the only one to see this?

At the end of the Ghana game yesterday, some Ghanaian players tried to share their jubilation with their Serbian coach. He, however, brushed them off strongly and seemed extremely dejected. In my mind, if he was not open to the possibility of coaching another country to victory over his home country, he should either not have taken the job or he should not have been on the bench for the game.

What do you think?

Originally posted by Westman View Post
    At the end of the Ghana game yesterday, some Ghanaian players tried to share their jubilation with their Serbian coach. He, however, brushed them off strongly and seemed extremely dejected. In my mind, if he was not open to the possibility of coaching another country to victory over his home country, he should either not have taken the job or he should not have been on the bench for the game.

What do you think?
    I saw it! There are players that score against teams they were associated with and choose not to celebrate. I saw it as him taking the position not to openly celebrate a victory over his homeland. Didn't see a big deal with it, I'm sure in the dressing room he was grinning ear to ear.

I saw it but didn't think it anything to with the Serbian team....thought he didn't want no blackman hugging him up...in public.

So you think the coach is an Upper St Andrew labourite?

I saw it too and wondered. It was afterwards I found out that he was Serbian. It did look a way though.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yes! ...it occurred.
            Last edited by Karl; June 14, 2010, 06:07 PM.

Not to get into politics but your comment brought this point to my mind, it has been said of two Jamaican leaders in the past.
              1. Black people love him but him doan love black people.
              2. Him love black people but them doan love him nontall, cept fi a few diehards.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                Not to get into politics but your comment brought this point to my mind, it has been said of two Jamaican leaders in the past.
                1. Black people love him but him doan love black people.
                2. Him love black people but them doan love him nontall, cept fi a few diehards.
                Norman and Eddie?
                Just asking!

You get half of it right, or should I say 3/4 BDL

i saw it but thought that the coach was not in a celebratory mood as it was just one game to him and he wasn't satisfied with their play... some coaches don't celebrate if they win but their team did not play their best and if their objective of winning the championship isn't yet met... that was my take on his reaction...

saw it but said hey a win is a win. Didn't read too much into it.Hey you may need to go home sometimes

Mikey and Eddie! I heard that too.

Originally posted by Westman View Post

What do you think?
                          Respectfully disagree Westman. The coach is from Serbia and he was being respectful in not celebrating a win over his country. If he was not open to the possibility of coaching another country vs his home country he obviously would not have taken the job. He had the appropriate reaction at the end of the game. I am sure if there was a Ghanaian coaching Serbia to the win that day he would have been extremely reserved as well. No one in that situation would celebrate at the expense of their own country. I guarantee if Ghana wins the next game he'll be hugging every player on that bench. - T.K.