1. Italy
    2. Paraguay

Group G

1. Brazil
    2. Cote d' Ivoire

Group H

1. Spain
    2. Chile
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

A: Mexico/France
    B: Argentina /Nigeria
    C: England/USA
    D: Germany/ Serbia
    E: Netherlands / Cameroon
    F: Paraguay/ Italy(reluctantly)
    G: Brazil/ Portugal
    H: Spain/ Chile

The man seh reluctantly. LOL

Everybody a fight gainst the big side.

Originally posted by Me View Post
        The man seh reluctantly. LOL

Everybody a fight gainst the big side.
        Naah fight gainst yuh side bredren! Just of the view this isn't the best Italy have and I'm truly uncertain if they can cut it. Is it impossible for Slovakia to pip them?

Well it is true that the team is vulnerable, especially since Cannavaro has to start. He is probabably the weakest link in the team, but they will keep the midfield deep to protect him. If Lippi decide to go with Camronesi and Gattuso, then their might be some serious difficulties.

If Maggio, Marchisio and Montolivo play, then people going to ask is who dem baller yah in a similar manner to how Gross was a surprise for many.

Just bringing this back to the top. Moderators can you please pin this?
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yeah, Italy not as bad as I thought. Dem have hidden quality and nuff ringcraft!

Mosiah, yuh caan pin this post fi me? Everytime I see man and man with them predictions I have to search for this.

The matches - Schedules, Results

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches/index.html

Who shall advance? - The expected! the possibilities!

This World Cup I have decided to not predict and put my thoughts on winners in the first round group matches on the main site.

I had stated previous to the start of the tournament that my favorites were Germany, Brazil, Argentina. Spain and the Dutch. I still think these teams are in the front running...but of all these teams, I am starting to have my doubts about Argentina.

When others were berating Diego Maradonna and his team, I said Argentina had the quality players. I said, after qualifiers the squad being smaller would 'gel'. The team would play itself into form as the tournament advanced. That will occur...however, after watching Argentina's free flowing attacking style I have noticed that they are extremely shaky at the back...particularly wide on the right.

It appears this has also been noticed by some, however, those who have observed that Achilles heel have claimed Argentina will just score more goals than any opponent that exploits that weakness. I have my doubts.

Of the others from the 'pack' from which I expect our new World Cup winner to be crowned, Brazil and the Dutch are the only two assured of advancing.

Germany and Brazil were really just about tied as favored to win it all based on my own assessment.

Here is the problem - Germany is the more organised, more disciplined on implementing tactics.

Brazil of all the 32 teams is next in those categories...and has the added component of more individual creativity...standing out in that area of number of highly creative individuals in TEAM by far.

However, the Germans' individual 'steely resolve' and rigid adherence to shape and tactics has Germany, even taking into account the current position in their group, as getting the nod as my 'el Numero Uno'.

Aside: It is astonishing that at this stage only Brazil and Portugal are mathematically assured of advancing.

To advance my expectations:
                    Group A - Uruguay and Mexico
                    It may well be these teams find a way to together waltz into the next round.

Group B - Argentina and Korea DPR
                    Surely the Korean players will rediscover their focus and resolve?

Group C - England and Algeria
                    The English should shed the paralyzing fear and win comfortably.

The Algerians are a better TEAM - technically better than the USA, run just as hard and have more creative players. The USA main hope is Josy Altidore to 'bus out'. He is a better player than he has been showing both in the EPL and in this World Cup. Needs a teamate to free him by telling him and actually creating chances for him - "Josy I am going to set you up repeatedly. Just shoot!"

...incidentally for England, Rooney also needs such service.

Group D - Germany and Serbia
                    They will win the next match...and that's that.
                    Sorry Ghana

Group E - Japan and the Dutch
                    These teams should win their matches.
                    Cameroon threw away their hand. They folded.

Group F - Italy and Paraguay
                    ...with wins!

Group G
                    Brazil and Ivory Coast

It is a pity the African team with greatest potential and greatest collection of individual players cannot not make of selves TEAM and thus will not be around to 'represent' Surely, those individuals...those Ivory Coast players could have challenged for the World Cup. It was precisely my fear...and only that fear that they would not make of selves a TEAM that had me not put them in line of pre-tournament favorite.

Group H - Have not a clue.
                    Spain and Chile are the class teams but Spain messed up the expected and since she should defeat Chile ...then it would not be surprising if three teams end on 6 points. It will go down to the final whistle and the TIE BREAKING RULES

NB:
                    Tie-breaking rules
                    With more than a few groups likely to be decided during the final group play matches, it is worth taking a look at the tie-breaking rules that could decide which teams advance to the round of 16 and which teams get an early flight home from South Africa. From the FIFA rules here, Article 39-5 of the FIFA rule book: The ranking of each team in each group will be determined as follows:
                    a) greatest number of points obtained in all group matches;
                    b) goal difference in all group matches;
                    c) greatest number of goals scored in all group matches.
                    If two or more teams are equal on the basis of the above three criteria, their rankings will be determined as follows:
                    d) greatest number of points obtained in the group matches between the teams concerned;
                    e) goal difference resulting from the group matches between the teams concerned;
                    f) greater number of goals scored in all group matches between the teams concerned;
                    g) drawing of lots by the FIFA Organising Committee.

Last edited by Karl; June 22, 2010, 04:35 PM.

Los Celestes (Uruguay) vs. Los Putos - A Bloodbath

I predict that Uruguay vs. Mexico will be a full tilt bloodbath, with Uruguay prevailing.

"Los Celestes" - The Sky Blues, in reference to Uruguay's uniform color.

The Algerians are a better TEAM - technically better than the USA, run just as hard and have more creative players.
                        Is this the same Algeria who has yet to score a single goal in the tournament? - T.K.
                        Last edited by T.K.; June 22, 2010, 04:29 AM.

Well so far France, Cameroon, Nigeria teams I expected to advance are on their way home. Tomorrow USA and England my be added to the list.

Well so far I am bang on track with the exception of Group G....even though theoretically it's not over.

Still going good so far.