The addition of Nowak strengthens Bradley's case

• The addition of Nowak strengthens Bradley's case

Well...you guys are focusing on Adu but the real news is this....without Nowak we are screwed and the guy they brought in to replace Nowak for United.....it's not even worth mentioning the man's name as he is a nobody and you haven't heard of him......A great run comes grinding to a screeching halt for DC United.....we're not even going to be able to beat the Red Cows to rhatid........kiss teet........BPRC.....(Gamma 3:16) -T.K.<DIV class=pagetitle><H1>The addition of Nowak strengthens Bradley's case</H1></DIV><DIV class=bylinebox style="MARGIN-TOP: 8px"><DIV class=bylinetext>Andrea Canales
    Archive </DIV><DIV style="FLOAT: left"></DIV></DIV><BR clear=all><DIV class=text11 style="BACKGROUND: rgb(255,255,255) 0% 50%; moz-background-clip: initial; moz-background-origin: initial; moz-background-inline-policy: initial"><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top>

Clearly, U.S. national team interim coach Bob Bradley made a bold move to claim the job permanently even before any of his players kicked a ball.

It wasn't so much the roster Bradley selected for the first training camp of 2007, though his picks reflected an aggressive pursuit of young and untried players. It wasn't even in the choices of players, like goalkeeper Joe Cannon, that showed a marked deviation from the preferences of former coach Bruce Arena. <DIV class=phinline>
    <DIV style="WIDTH: 205px"><DIV class=photocred2>Tony Quinn/WireImage</DIV><DIV class=photosubtext>Peter Nowak was one of the original candidates considered for the U.S. coaching position.</DIV></DIV></DIV>

It was when Peter Nowak's name surfaced as Bradley's new assistant coach that it became obvious that the interim coach does not intend to go gently to his Olympic post.

In the battle to retain his position, Bradley has just begun to fight. Nowak may be the ace he needs to get ahead.

Part of the reason for that is because Nowak was in fact Bradley's legitimate competition for the USMNT appointment. Insiders privy to some of the negotiations revealed that Nowak was indeed a solid candidate in the running who fell just short of the final group of options from which Bradley was plucked for his temporary duty.

The united front of two of the top candidates will no doubt present a tantalizing option to U.S. Soccer Federation president Sunil Gulati. After all, a twofer is a popular deal worldwide.

In some way, the combination of Nowak and Bradley also works as something of a yin-yang, with each one offering strengths to balance out weaknesses in the other.

For example, Bradley's forte is undoubtedly his long experience with the various levels of the U.S. game. Since he began coaching at 22, Bradley has now, at age 47, spent more than half his life teaching the game. Not surprisingly, he lays claim to more games won in Major League Soccer than any other coach.

Yet what Bradley lacks is a proven record of performance as a soccer player at a top level. While obviously not a vital component for many successful coaches, it is still a plus. In terms of credibility to impressionable players, it's a factor.

This is where Nowak offers the experience of a top international player for both the Polish squad and as a club player for many years both in Germany and Poland. Nowak's success continued when he joined MLS in 1998, when he captained the Chicago Fire to an MLS championship. Having won the MLS Cup with D.C. United in 2004, his first year as a coach, Nowak remains the only person to claim an MLS title as a player and a coach.

Bradley and Nowak also offer contrasting app

RE: The addition of Nowak strengthens Bradley's case

See....This is just embarrassing.....how a big time club like DC United hire such a no name....no credibility having guy like this? It is a rhatid conspiracy by the league....they want Red Bulls money so badly that they went out of their way to sabotage DC United by pushing this Nowak move.......I guess this opens the door for the Cows to actually do something next year......I quit MLS.....- T.K.

D.C. United names Tom Soehn head coach<DIV class=bylinebox style="MARGIN-TOP: 8px"><DIV class=bylinetext>ESPNsoccernet news services
    </DIV><DIV style="FLOAT: left"></DIV></DIV>

<BR clear=all><DIV class=text11 style="BACKGROUND: rgb(255,255,255) 0% 50%; moz-background-clip: initial; moz-background-origin: initial; moz-background-inline-policy: initial"><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top>

D.C. United announced Thursday that former assistant coach Tom Soehn has been named as the club's head coach, effective immediately. Soehn takes the reigns following six years in MLS as an assistant coach. Soehn replaces Peter Nowak, who has been hired as assistant coach of the U.S. Under-23 Men's National Team and will serve as assistant to Bob Bradley with the full national team.<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=300 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SCRIPT language=javascript> </SCRIPT><SCRIPT language=javascript1.1 src="http://ad.dc2.adtech.de/addyn%7C3.0%7C605%7C1181107%7C0%7C170%7CADTECH;loc =100;target=_blank;key=mls+story+NA;kvsection=mls; kvpagetype=story;kvcc=NA;grp=1971991;misc=11667204 20271"></SCRIPT><NOSCRIPT></NOSCRIPT></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

"Tom Soehn has been a huge contributor to the success of our club over the past three seasons," said United President and CEO Kevin Payne. "He and Peter, along with Mark Simpson, forged a unique partnership. Tommy is incredibly hard working, with a tremendous drive to succeed."

As an assistant under Nowak, Soehn helped United earn a spot in the playoffs for three straight seasons and capture the 2004 MLS Cup and 2006 Supporters' Shield.

Prior to beginning his coaching career, Soehn played five years in MLS as a defender with both Dallas and Chicago, totaling two goals and three assists. During his time with Chicago, he was a member of the Fire's three championship teams (MLS Cup 1998, U.S. Open Cup 1998 and 2000). </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></DIV>

HA HA HA HA HA HA HA

LOL I never thought THE DAY WOULD COME BUT yes !!!! With him out here comes NY.

Seriously though I really think Nowak should have gotten the Natl team job, he is the MLS's Mourinho WITHOUT THE ATTITUDE! ....u like dat T.K ?

While I don't like the Bradley move, I think hiring Novak is a good move.

I hope certain supporter from some teams(mi nah call nuh name) see that red bull fans nuh bias and nuh talk bout Phenom when we nuh have one :P