MUCH ADU ABOUT NOTHING? T.K., have a seat b4 reading.

• MUCH ADU ABOUT NOTHING? T.K., have a seat b4 reading.

<TABLE class=articlebodyblack cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=textjustify>It's an easy headline but observers seem to think it is quite apt.</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><DIV class=sectiongaplarge></DIV>

<TABLE class=articlebodyblack cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=textjustify><P nd="3">Reuters:<P nd="4">Is Freddy Adu the real deal or just the latest great American soccer hope to sink under the weight of hyperbole? <P nd="5">After a highly publicised but inconclusive two-week training session with Manchester United, followed by an abrupt trade away from his Major League Soccer (MLS) club D.C. United, the jury is still out on the 17-year-old Ghanaian-born Adu. <P nd="6">While not exactly a flop, he has hardly set the U.S. soccer scene alight since signing a $1 million endorsement deal at 14, becoming MLS's highest-paid player on $500,000 per season at 15 and the youngest U.S. international at 16. <P nd="7">He was promptly traded to MLS newcomers Real Salt Lake, but could not have endeared himself to fans there by insisting he wants to play in Europe. <P nd="8">"People around him have always told him: 'You're the greatest,' and when you are a teenager you begin to believe it," said Steven Goff, the Washington Post's soccer writer. <P nd="9">"(But) he's a great kid and not full of himself, it's just that the expectations on him are so high. <P nd="10">"He's become a good MLS player this year," said Goff. "The first year he was a novelty, the second he was spectacular at times but also painfully inconsistent. This third year he was a good solid player, but certainly not a great player." <P nd="11">Another prominent soccer writer, Grahame Jones, of the Los Angeles Times, said: "I have always regarded Freddy Adu as being a marketing creation. <P nd="12">"He is a gifted player for his age but nothing special, even within the limited talent field that is MLS. His training with Manchester United was more of a courtesy by Man U toward MLS than an expression of serious interest and from what I hear he did not overly impress," he told Reuters. <P nd="13">"Perhaps in time and with the right coaching, he might become a useful journeyman player but at the moment he is quite ordinary," said Jones. <P nd="14">It was all so different three years ago when Adu burst on to the scene as a precocious talent on the U.S. Under-17 team with the speed and skill to beat opponents with ease and score. <P nd="15">Shoe company Nike saw him as a marketable icon and paid him well, while PepsiCo featured Adu in an advertisement for a soft drink. It was no coincidence that he was paired with Pele in those spots. <P nd="16">There the comparison with the great Brazilian ends. When he was 17, Pele was helping Brazil to win the World Cup. <P nd="17">MLS, naturally, wanted to promote Adu as the new face of a sport still struggling to make a mark in America. But therein lies the league's dilemma -- any player good enough

RE: MUCH ADU ABOUT NOTHING? T.K., have a seat b4 reading.

25 Adu's in Jamaica

Now mi affi agree with you! Alot of hype as a teen, then eventually fade away. Wha happen to Ball Jeezas?

I hope not! At least, let's hope our 25 Adus have brighter futures!

<DIV>Nuh TK have di nerve fi say Adu better dan Maestro! Dat one almost as good as Leyton Orient! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Now yuh going to hear Adu is 10 years younger dan Maestro. Or is he? :w00t:</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Do the Forumites remember the one time Maestro and Adu met on the same field? Well, if yuh don't know, unnu need fi aks somebody! </DIV>

Dem say him going to take Andy game, but him have to improve over the off season to do that.

Every time I see them play against each other, Andy look like a breddah playing big man ball and Adu look like the yute hoping him lose it so that him can get a one touch.

Sorry Lazie but I have no need for Adu now. I am currently in seach of a new Phenom. When I find him I will let the forumites know. Right now I am leaning towards Stephen Deroux but I will wait a bit longer to see who DC United brings in before I crown the new Phenom. - T.K.

This Stephen Deroux fella, is he Brazilian?

Mosiah (12/21/2006)This Stephen Deroux fella, is he Brazilian?
                  No sah....straight from yard.....University of Maryland wanted him really badly but he did not have the grades to get in right out of high school.....he went to CC got himself straight but by then DC United had already picked him up at an open tryout if my memory serves me correctly....he is a left outside half.....the man can fly up and down the field.....workrate to kill....- T.K.

Me (12/21/2006)Dem say him going to take Andy game, but him have to improve over the off season to do that.

Every time I see them play against each other, Andy look like a breddah playing big man ball and Adu look like the yute hoping him lose it so that him can get a one touch.
                    Well Ellinger said that Adu will play attacking mid. Articles have speculated that Andy will battle it out with Mehdi Ballouchy onthe left hand side of midfield. How that works out I'll never know. I have a bad feeling as it relates to Andy in this scenario. - T.K.

T.K. (12/21/2006)

Well Ellinger said that Adu will play attacking mid. Articles have speculated that Andy will battle it out with Mehdi Ballouchy onthe left hand side of midfield. How that works out I'll never know. I have a bad feeling as it relates to Andy in this scenario. - T.K.
                      Mi wouldn't be surprised if dem bring almshouse to Andy.