3rd. Samuel Eto'o

National Team Captain Ricardo Fuller voted:

1st. Ronaldinho

2nd. Didier Drogba

3rd. Kaká

Hmmmm! What were they thinking?

RE: Jamaica Coach's and Captain's Vote for FIFA Footballer of the Year

Well how I see it is this way:

CB was a defender so he will appreciate Canavaro's approach (like a warrior) to defending. Fuller likes to use trickery in his game, hence his appreciation of dinho (club balla).

That tells you all you want to know about them. How many games did CB or Fuller see Cannavaro play? I bet they only saw him in the world cup! and possible in the finals at that. The world footballer of the year in Tiherry Henry... Argument Done! Carl Brown really needs to stay away from football. As for fuller picking Kaka well that a bit better choice but The MVP of the WC might be Canavora but certainly he is not the footballer of the year!..

Jawge (12/19/2006)Well how I see it is this way:

CB was a defender so he will appreciate Canavaro's approach (like a warrior) to defending. Fuller likes to use trickery in his game, hence his appreciation of dinho (club balla).
        mmmmm?

Yes!

The defender in CB speaksand he has selected two very good...excellent TEAMplayers and defenders in Canavaro and Buffon...

mmmm?...also interesting to see he then selects - (aside: my wish for the GUNNERS) E'to as his 3rd choice. Why? I am thinking he is impressed by E'to's TOP OF THE WORLD goalscoring & TEAMskillsand values as do all defenders/lovers of tight compactTEAMs the upfront players who above all other things make life easier for defenders by regularly putting away chances and half-chances.

The mind of CB? have to give him full respect.

-----

Fuller the fancy dan puts fellow fancy dan Ronaldinho first. Interesting to see he puts the 'deadly in front of goal' Drogba - (Is it a case of wishing I were...?) - 2nd and the unpretentious but great TEAMman and tremendous man Kaka- maker of goals and taker of vital goals - as his 3rd pick - (Is itthe wishing to be a hero syndrome?)

Both menmade excellent choices. I am more on the side ofCB's choices. Ooooh...my player of the year?

My player of the year is TEAMin every fibre of his being....a man who is the best at never wasting the ball i.e. giving it to the opposition and making best use of his options. A man that 99.99% of the time he steps on the field proves himself a vital cog in TEAM. A man whose technical skills were, to me, the very best in the world.A man who creates WINS.A man who is sheer genius in action as he makes the tremendously difficult look ridiculously easy...- when themost talented players around — from Brazil's Ronaldinho to England's Wayne Rooney — flopped on the biggest stage, this man walked tall!

Yup...you guessed it, my player of the year is the incomparable -Zidane!

Karl, did you get my call yesterday and di Sta B call you Monday night?

I ran into him and told him you asked for him.

here are some past player of the year Karl. When does any of your descriptive criteria fit any of these players. The award is for the best palyer in the world and they like you got it wrong.

List of male winners

Year Place Player Nationality Club Position

Details

1st Fabio Cannavaro

Italy

Real Madrid

Juventus F.C.

Defender

Details

1st Ronaldinho

Brazil

FC Barcelona

Midfield

Details

1st Ronaldinho

Brazil

FC Barcelona

Midfield

Details

1st Zinedine Zidane

France

Real Madrid

Midfield

Details

1st Ronaldo

Brazil

Real Madrid

Striker

Details

1st Luís Figo

Portugal

Real Madrid

Midfield

Details

1st Zinedine Zidane

France

Juventus F.C.

Midfield

Details

1st Rivaldo

Brazil

FC Barcelona

Midfield

Details

1st Zinedine Zidane

France

Juventus F.C.

Midfield

Details

1st Ronaldo

Brazil

F.C. Internazionale

Striker

Details

1st Ronaldo

Brazil

FC Barcelona

Striker

Details

1st George Weah

Liberia

A.C. Milan

Striker

Details

1st Romário

Brazil

FC Barcelona

Striker

Details

1st Roberto Baggio

Italy

Juventus F.C.

Striker

Details

1st Marco van Basten

Netherlands

A.C. Milan

Striker

Details

1st Lothar Matthäus

Germany

F.C. Internazionale

Midfield

Sickko (12/20/2006)Karl, did you get my call yesterday and di Sta B call you Monday night?

I ran into him and told him you asked for him.
              I didn't get the call. Last day was hectic and I never checked the cell.

It was greatlinking-up with you and rasta-chile.

Spoke with Rico and Mosiah but unfortuntately 'time' did not allow a 'face to face' link. Never heard from Sta-B...but, like you he could have called and I did not get the call as I never checked that cell. BTW - I do not have it anymore as I am back home. (regular number - 917-309-0969 is best contact).

PS: Kindly remember Tilla's deadline mid-January!

Lata!

OJ (12/20/2006)here are some past player of the year Karl. When does any of your descriptive criteria fit any of these players. The award is for the best palyer in the world and they like you got it wrong.

List of male winners
                Year Place Player Nationality Club Position
                Details
                1st Fabio Cannavaro
                Italy
                Real Madrid
                Juventus F.C.
                Defender

Details
                1st Ronaldinho
                Brazil
                FC Barcelona
                Midfield

Details
                1st Ronaldinho
                Brazil
                FC Barcelona
                Midfield

Details
                1st Zinedine Zidane
                France
                Real Madrid
                Midfield

Details
                1st Ronaldo
                Brazil
                Real Madrid
                Striker

Details
                1st Luís Figo
                Portugal
                Real Madrid
                Midfield

Details
                1st Zinedine Zidane
                France
                Juventus F.C.
                Midfield

Details
                1st Rivaldo
                Brazil
                FC Barcelona
                Midfield

Details
                1st Zinedine Zidane
                France
                Juventus F.C.
                Midfield

Details
                1st Ronaldo
                Brazil
                F.C. Internazionale
                Striker

Details
                1st Ronaldo
                Brazil
                FC Barcelona
                Striker

Details
                1st George Weah
                Liberia
                A.C. Milan
                Striker

Details
                1st Romário
                Brazil
                FC Barcelona
                Striker

Details
                1st Roberto Baggio
                Italy
                Juventus F.C.
                Striker

Details
                1st Marco van Basten
                Netherlands
                A.C. Milan
                Striker

Details
                1st Lothar Matthäus
                Germany
                F.C. Internazionale
                Midfield
                Great choices!

"They have got it wrong"?

Soooooo...who would have been your choices? ...and in particular, who would you have chosen this year?

Thiery Henry was the best player in the role last year! He led the EPL. He led his team in the Champions league all the way to the final. He help is team all the way to the world cup finals. He has been runner up or third place in the world football player of the year for the last 4 or 5 years. So here is a guy who always come second because Ronaldiho was a bit more special and now they go give it to a clutch and grab defender. A great defender but nowhere near the best player in the world. Its a Joke! I bet them lobby for that. As a matter of fact John Terry is more deserving that Cananavaro . We have to look past the world cup.

OJ (12/20/2006)That tells you all you want to know about them. How many games did CB or Fuller see Cannavaro play? I bet they only saw him in the world cup! and possible in the finals at that. The world footballer of the year in Tiherry Henry... Argument Done! Carl Brown really needs to stay away from football. As for fuller picking Kaka well that a bit better choice but The MVP of the WC might be Canavora but certainly he is not the footballer of the year!..
                    OJ how yuh just dismiss the ppl dem opinion suh and promote yours as the gospel

You are aware that you could lose that bet

I take it you have a regular job and fuller and Carl Brown would have more time to spend watching football

Question - what did any team Henry play for win this year?

If Italy had not won the World Cup, would Cannavaro's name even be in the top 5? Doubt it!

you are going to thread on a supposition ?

And what's wrong with that?

why bother when you have the fact ?

<DIV>Huh?!?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Again, if Cannavaro did not win the WC you would neva have heard a word.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I think the award should, well, reflect just what it says - who had the best YEAR in football. Henry and Eto'o are more worthy in my opinion. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Another thing - before this year's World Cup, was Cannavaro mentioned even once as being someone to make waves at the tourney?</DIV>