Footballer infected with malaria leaves hospital

• Footballer infected with malaria leaves hospital

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Footballer infected with malaria leaves hospital</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Observer Reporter
    Tuesday, December 19, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>The Boys' Town player who was hospitalised last Thursday after being diagnosed with the deadly malaria disease, has been released from hospital, says team coach Andrew Price.

Yesterday, Price told the Observer that the player, who lives in the Arnett Gardens community, was released on Sunday after spending three days in hospital.

Price said the player, who was the first athlete reported to be infected since the outbreak, would not return to training for at least another week.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"He has lost some weight and so he will need time to recover," Price said.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) postponed all National Premier League (NPL) matches indefinitely on the advice of JFF Medical Committee chairman Dr Winston Dawes.

RE: Footballer infected with malaria leaves hospital

A very deadly disease Mo. We thought we had erradicated this from our local landscape but apparently it's alive and well.

A controlled supply of Chloroquin HCL or Quinine SO4 shouldcure the sick. Buta strong Portia-led intervention will be required for an islandwide clean sweep to rid the environment of that plague.

Mo you and I had this conversation a few years back and I never fully thanked you for enlightening me about the use of the Chinchona plants which can be found in the cooler hills of Jamaica.Judicious use of the leavesof that plant might also come in handy.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

In Jamaica, Education,Public Health Care, Public Safety all rank below football on the government priority list.

below football? Yuh mek it sound as if football was high on the list.

Balla, tell him bout the distribution of scarce benefits and spoils to the hostile tribes nuh? Forfar a give the gov't way too much credit.

Farmah (12/19/2006)A very deadly disease Mo. We thought we had erradicated this from our local landscape but apparently it's alive and well.

A controlled supply of Chloroquin HCL or Quinine SO4 shouldcure the sick. Buta strong Portia-led intervention will be required for an islandwide clean sweep to rid the environment of that plague.
          You are most welcome, Farmah!

I have noticed that a lot of the drugs used to cure/treat malaria are based on quinine, which of course comes from the cinchona plant. I do hope that, despite our recent indifference towards the plant and its environs, that some persons in Jamaicacontinued with research into its medicinal uses.

Like I mentioned before, I had malaria as a 5/6 year old when I lived on the African Continent. I remember it vividly. Yes, it is deadly and my poor parents must have been scared to death, but I'm here, alive and kicking. It's certainly nothing to be ashamed of and I fear that the way it is being treated in Jamaica now, some people might begin to scorn those who may contract the disease. The fact is, mosquitoes can and do bite any one a wi. I saw two in my office today that I swore were the size of a Harrier Jump Jet. If they weren't carrying malaria, then it must have been the entire US Marine Corp!

The good thing in all of this, no one has died in Jamaica since this latest outbreak. Let's hope I don't havegoat mouth.

No shame in having it Mo. But if the local health care organizaton continue to treat it as such, then it might have more adverse effects than good. As for the Chinchona plants, the environmentalist could make a very good case presenting it to the government. Let's hope we will beat this in a very short time.
            "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011