Shelton on Europes Priemer League transfer market

• Shelton on Europes Priemer League transfer market

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Shelton's lure</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline>...Other European clubs keen on signing talented Reggae Boy</SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>KAYON RAYNOR, Observer staff reporter
    Tuesday, December 19, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=216 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>SHELTON... scored nine times in the league for Helsingborgs this season</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>A high price tag looks to be the only obstacle delaying Jamaican international striker Luton Shelton from realising his dream of parading his skills in the English Premier League.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Shelton's agent, Phillip Graham, in an exclusive interview with the Observer yesterday, confirmed that Sheffield United's manager Neil Warnock was impressed with the striker, having seen him play for Swedish club Helsingborgs IF, and has expressed an interest in signing him.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"I believe that Helsingborgs... their valuation of the player will probably be considerable more than Sheffield United's valuation," Graham said.<P class=StoryText align=justify>He said: "You never know how transfer deals are going to go... I met with the Swedish club last Thursday in Copenhagen and discussed it (deal with Sheffield) and at this moment we are a long, long way apart on valuation."
    Graham steered wide of disclosing transfer figures.<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=146 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>GRAHAM... it's possible there will be a deal to talk about in January</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>News broke last week that the tall, skillful 21-year-old striker could be joining compatriot Claude Davis at Sheffield United next month, when the transfer window re-opens.<P class=StoryText align=justify>With that said Graham - who successfully negotiated contracts for Ricardo 'Bibi' Gardner (Bolton Wanderers), Jermaine Johnson (Bradford City), Damion Stewart (Queens Park Rangers) and Davis (Sheffield), among others in the England - remains optimistic of doing the same for Shelton.

Last Wednesday, Sheffield United announced a proposition to raise £10 million in time for Warnock to strengthen his squad in the January transfer &#119;indow. Up to £5m is expected be used to invest in new players from the fund-raising.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The former Harbour View star is reported to have scored nine times in the league for Helsingborgs this season, although playing irregularly due to injuries. He also scored five times in helping his team win the Cup knockout and advance to the UEFA Cup play-offs.<P class=StoryText align=justify>According to Graham, "It's possible there will be a deal to be talked about in January, but at the moment I'm in (the) early stages of negotiations and I can't guarantee that anything will happen and Luton is aware of this."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Graham hinted that the Swedish club may be waiting for a bigger pay day (next season), given the fact that Shelton did so well in a short period (this season), having missed their pre-season with an injury.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"If he goes on to be the top scorer in Sweden and Helsingborgs do extremely well and they believe they can win the league next year - then they could have a player of extraordinary value on their hands, so I think they're not going to rush out and sell a player that they've only had for a very short period of time," he noted.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"We've d

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

RE: Shelton on Europes Priemer League transfer market

<P class=StoryText align=justify>yeah...but him ongle wa'an guh england! kinda shortsighted if yuh axe mi...but ten nuhbaddy naw axe mi nutten! it would be a shame if he went to sheffield in janauary and then they got relegated in may....

Gamma (12/19/2006)<P class=StoryText align=justify>yeah...but him ongle wa'an guh england! kinda shortsighted if yuh axe mi...but ten nuhbaddy naw axe mi nutten! it would be a shame if he went to sheffield in janauary and then they got relegated in may....
      I respectfully disagree G. I think with the english pound as strong as it is, a large contingent of Jamaican professional players already in england, england being the national team's home away from home, and his strengths as a player fitting perfectly in the English game how can he go wrong? I thinkhe is focusing on the right league.

As for being relegated it is a strong possibility considering Sheffields standing in the league right now. Inthe worst case scenarioof playing D1 I think even then Luton would be better offthen in Sweden. - T.K.

<DIV>But are Sweden and England the only choices? La Liga?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Anyway, I agree. I think there is much more exposure playing with a Sheffield United that might get relegated than a Helsingborg that really should not go very far in the UEFA Cup.</DIV>

X (12/18/2006)<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>"There has been interest from Italy, there has been interest from France and there has been interest from Holland, however, the player told me specifically that he only wants to come to England and I'll carry out his instructions and try and find a suitable buyer for him at some stage," the football agent stressed. "If it's January, then great, if not, then we'll have to wait," Graham stated.
          <P class=StoryText align=justify>Shelton should not limit his opportunities by only considering England. That is a mistake, and his "advisors" should instruct him to be more open minded.

Mosiah (12/19/2006)<DIV>But are Sweden and England the only choices? La Liga?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Anyway, I agree. I think there is much more exposure playing with a Sheffield United that might get relegated than a Helsingborg that really should not go very far in the UEFA Cup.</DIV>
            Nope...he could come play for a real club like DC United. - T.K.

Hortikal (12/19/2006)
              X (12/18/2006)<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>"There has been interest from Italy, there has been interest from France and there has been interest from Holland, however, the player told me specifically that he only wants to come to England and I'll carry out his instructions and try and find a suitable buyer for him at some stage," the football agent stressed. "If it's January, then great, if not, then we'll have to wait," Graham stated.
              <P class=StoryText align=justify>Shelton should not limit his opportunities by only considering England. That is a mistake, and his "advisors" should instruct him to be more open minded.
              I don't see anything wrong with that once he has options. He is already in a foreign culture and has probably decided that he wants to be somewhere where he will bemore comfortable. The language thing alone is a big thing for many people.

Is sameway most of the Argentinian players only want to go to Spain.

If he was in the NPL and desperate to get into professional football, I am sure he would be open tojust about anywhere(like how he ended up in Sweden).

Hortikal (12/19/2006)
                X (12/18/2006)<P class=StoryText align=justify>"There has been interest from Italy, there has been interest from France and there has been interest from Holland, however, the player told me specifically that he only wants to come to England and I'll carry out his instructions and try and find a suitable buyer for him at some stage," the football agent stressed. "If it's January, then great, if not, then we'll have to wait," Graham stated.
                <P class=StoryText align=justify>I don't think Luton is the one who is limiting himself. Afterall, I'm sure it's his agent who is making most of the decisions. I know Luton is concerned about Sheffield being relegated.

In his case I can understand. He is already in a professional team and is settled well at the club; no sense in leaving for unfamiliar turf in terms of language barrier etc. But if he has to leave, let it be England.

By the same token though, I think Jamaican players need to widen their options when thinking of playing professionally. England is not the only league in the world. Yes, it might be the most favourable to Jamaicans given our connections there and the language but other areas are also attractive.

TnT's Dwight Yorke and our own Damani Ralph have shown that there is life outside of England. Nice to see a handful of our players in Sweden but consideration must be given to Mexico, Spain, France, Italy, Japan and even China to rhatid! (Leyton Orient anyone?) Good morning HL
                  "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Farmah (12/19/2006)

TnT's Dwight Yorke and our own Damani Ralph have shown that there is life outside of England. Nice to see a handful of our players in Sweden but consideration must be given to Mexico, Spain, France, Italy, Japan and even China to rhatid! (Leyton Orient anyone?) Good morning HL
                    (snicker)

To date, no post has ever generated such laughter on this forum. It set a record that will never be equalled.

HL, yuh good? I see yuh inventing all sorts of cures for cancer and the like. Congrats!

Manu fi him.

Henrick Lawson a go recommend him.

Mawning Lazie:w00t:

That HL post was a classic. :P top-o-the-heap classic
                        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Assasin (12/19/2006)Manu fi him.

Henrick Lawson a go recommend him.

Mawning Lazie:w00t:
                          I know you said it as a joke but I have to admit when I was watching the Man U and Chelsea game and the score was tied at 1. Man U was clearly going for the full three points and not content with the 1-all scoreline........Chelseatakes off Ballack and subs in Robben.......Chelsea takes off Sheva andsubs inCoel.....compare now......after those changes just to keep pace......Sir Alex had to sub out an injuredRonaldo....he brought Fletcher in.....then he had to sub out Rooney......he brought O'Shea in.......

You know what crossed my mind at that moment?.....I said to myself.....you know what....Luton Shelton, at this point in the match,wouldbe a better sub than either O'Shea or Fletcher. - T.K.

mi a tease Lazie this morning but them saw Walcott fast but Shelton look fast like a 40 thieves to to me.

He leaves people standing. With Carrick and Rio whipping one and two over the top and a little Fergie touch he would be deadly inna them instances there.

mi a tease Lazie this morning but them saw Walcott fast but Shelton look fast like a 40 thieves to to me.

He leaves people standing. With Carrick and Rio whipping one and two over the top and a little Fergie touch he would be deadly inna them instances there.