Time to search for new players

• Time to search for new players

Bora must now start to scout the U-17, the U-20 and the U-23 in order to find the bulk of his squad for WC2010 and the Back-To-Africa Campaign. The vast majority of his present squad will require skilled-nursing treatment in 2010. Consider the age of the following players in June of 2010:

Andy 32; Scarlett 31; Claude 31; Ralph 29; Burton 33; Damion Stewart 29; Tall P 32; Jerry Hue 32; Marshall 35; Jermaine Johnson 30; Marlon King 30; Shavar Thomas 29; Langley 31; Bibi 31; Fuller 30; Tappa 30-plenty andLowe 30-whole-heap.

Given the advancing age of the above players, Bora must seek to find some gems among the youger squads to compliment the skills of Luton Shelton, Keith Kelly, Akeem Priestly, Joel Grant, Dever Orgill, Omar Daley, Jamal Campbell-Ryce, Garfield Reid and Oneil Thompson. Failing that, we will be depending ona largely geriatric team laden with Geritol and Ben-gay. However, as Bora said one or maybe two players in their 30's could possibly make his squad.

For my money I'd like to see the continued usage of Bibi, Jerry, Andy, Claude, Shavar, King, Fuller and Ricketts.

Many of the older players will be very useful throughout qualifying; just like how The Prof utilised Tatty, Hector, Tegat, Butler et al during our march to France 98.Yet, in the final analysis and selection, most of the older players will be given their thank-you notes and maybe a honorary trip to Johannesbourg Airport.

But....let the games begin. It's a lengthy process and two basic tenets (uttered by Bora himself) must be carried through: PATIENCE & RESPECT.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

RE: Time to search for new players

Garfield Reid and Oneil Thompson not exactly young eedah!

Well, one thing is certain ... we have a very experienced team.

When mi cry fi the youth dem mi get cuss round yah so when we put the grandpa dem pon the field I hope unnu like the results.

We are simply not developing any youth player with the execption of Luton Shelton, Taylor and maybe 1 one or two more with the senior team in mind.

Re: "when mi cry fi di yute dem"

Sass, the cry fi the yutes is not a problem. In fact I believe every forumite (like all well wishing ReggaeBoyz fan) desires to see a continuity within the youth movement. Indeed, this has been a cry from ever since Zadie (Stoni G/Mackajukhot) first wrote about it on the old forum. Since then it has been one of Karl's slogan and he has uttered it a million times over the past 8 years.

What I hope to see now is Bora getting into the thick of things and demand that a proper feeder system be put in place so that as we approach the year 2010 we will have ample and suitable replacements for our legion of tired legs.

Jackie Walters, Karl Brown, Geoff Maxwell and Dean Weatherly should get assignments to prepare these youths for upward thrust into the senior squad. I do believe that we have the players whom we can mould into what is required. But first Bora and the JFF need to make it an instant priority and sound the abeng. Emphasis on the youths who will carry the torch in 2010 must begin NOW!

That said, I still believe we will have a place or two for a Joel Grant or a Jamal Campbell-Ryce. Preparation is the key but in the final analysis we will have to select the best availabe JAMAICANS for the Reggaeboyz squad. I want to stress that all Jamaicans in the diaspora should be looked at for selection throughout our campaign. Yet, in saying this I do agree that we need to identify these Jamaicans early so that they can be a part of the TEAM from the early stages. We mustrelinquish the grab-a-team mentality.

I am enthused about Bora's signings (though not his salary), but I would be even more excited if I see him making a statement now about grooming the young ones for possible 2010 selection.

Somehow I don't get the vibes that Bora is all about the "perpetual" promotion that Zadie wrote aboutand Rene Simoes so painfully stressed& worked towards!
          "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011