• Jamaica vs South Africa Again!

April 25, 2010

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Jamaica’s National Senior Men’s team, the Reggae Boyz will play an international friendly against the South African National team, Bafana Bafana on Wednesday, April 28 in Frankfurt, Germany.

President of the JFF, and FIFA and South African appointed Ambassador to the 2010 World Cup, Captain Horace Burrell received the invitation from the South African Football Association on Friday, 23rd April. The South African team which is already in Germany staging a training camp ahead of the FIFA World Cup, drew with North Korea last week and are anxious to have more international friendlies as they fine tune their preparation for World Cup 2010. A match scheduled with the Chinese National team for April 28 was cancelled by the Chinese on Friday and the JFF was approached to fill the void.

Despite this very late call and the extremely tight travelling schedule, the Federation accepted the invitation because of the importance of exposing the national team and specifically our younger players to as many international encounters as possible.

The travelling delegation will on Monday receive the necessary visas to enter Germany thanks to the German Embassy; the South African Ambassador to Jamaica, Her Excellency FD Radebe; and the Chief of Protocol, Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Janice Rose-Brown
    Director of Operations, PR & Events
    JamaicaFootball Federation
    20 St. Lucia Crescent
    Kingston 5
    Last edited by Karl; April 26, 2010, 09:14 AM.

Wow, talk about short notice.

Don't worry. We may see an even shorter notice when they switch the World Cup from South Africa to the USA!

does it even make sense at this stage?

Zeppo might think so.

Is joke, Zeppo! Cho!

Ridiculous. The JFF should have declined this invitation. This is a waste of time and money. You all know that none of these local players will be paid, and Burrell is going to use the "international exposure" argument to persuade these players. I am sure that SA is paying for this trip and match fee, but is it really worthwhile to us?
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I think it is more than worthwhile. Yes, they won't be paid, but the exposure will be great! If you were a...Jermaine Taylor, say, would you tell the JFF to go to hell with this?

Ridiculous. The JFF should have declined this invitation. This is a waste of time and money. You all know that none of these local players will be paid, and Burrell is going to use the "international exposure" argument to persuade these players. I am sure that SA is paying for this trip and match fee, but is it really worthwhile to us?
                Isn't it that the JFF it contracted to play by some party that offers enough cash to make it worthwhile?

Forget the thought that the JFF may come cheap ...at this time the JFF getting some money in its coffers, if not like manna from heaven it certainly is curry!

what kind of performance can they expect coming off the plane to go and play...not one player but pretty much the entire team!!!

let's see! they drew with them a few months ago. now, with SA preparing for the WC, they should be ready to go!

who? SA!!!!

yes! so maybe we can expect a duss out from dem?

what kind of performance can they expect coming off the plane to go and play...not one player but pretty much the entire team!!!
                          I think that is the furthermost thing from the minds of the JFF brass! ...guess they will be saying to Tappa, his staff and the players, a fi unnuh prab-blem dat!

anything less would be uncivilized!

dem aggo get some money to jangle dats why dem doing it .
                              Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
                              United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                              happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
                              Probably forthcoming...