Boss eyes summer buys!

• Boss eyes summer buys!

Sir Alex Ferguson has a maximum of two transfer targets for the summer months, although he says he would still prefer to nurture young talent than spend big in an inflated market.

United already have Mexican striker Javier Hernandez and young English defender Chris Smalling due to arrive at Old Trafford in the close-season. But Sir Alex says he has his eye on a couple more additions.

"From our point of view, we have a good structure. We may need to tweak here and there – a player here, maybe a player there," the boss said on Friday.

"We tend to like buying young players and to build them up within the club. We’ve been good at that over the years. We won’t change that, that’s the reason we signed Hernandez from Mexico. We may buy another player this summer, maybe two at the very most, because that’s where we are, our structure is good. We may look at one or two things, but nothing serious."

Sir Alex also doesn't feel the need to compete with the spending power of our neighbours and Saturday lunchtime's opponents, Manchester City, who the United boss said could afford to sign 10 new players if they succeeded in securing the fourth Champions League spot.

"If we were to prioritise a player, I doubt City would be going for that player as well," he said. "They are maybe after a different type of player, but I don’t know what they are up to or what their plans are. Nobody knows, but they have a buying power that is different from most other clubs.

"The important thing is not to confuse ourselves with other clubs who have so much buying power. That’s just a fact. We don’t really need to worry about that. It was the same when Chelsea were buying players, we didn’t bother ourselves with that. What we tried to do is look at ourselves and see how we can develop our team. And we proved to be successful at it."

And as a precursor for the wild rumours that are likely to persist over the summer, Sir Alex gave short shrift to the suggestion that Real Madrid might test the waters with a bid for Wayne Rooney this summer.

"Well, this is the silly season, isn’t it? Wayne will be here next year."

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pa...6648209&page=2

Only 2? Another winger is needed, especially one that can produce from the left side. A midfielder is needed that can create and score as well. Still regret not requesting Wesley in the Ronaldo deal.

If the intention is using one forward a forward is going to be needed that is capable of playing that role as well as a 4-4-2.

Save the money and go after one top class midfielder - Lampard, Gerrard, Inniesta, Arteta, Yaya Toure. All other positions are aptly covered, he just needs to give the younger players more game time.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

one more decent striker unnu need who can give 15 -20 goals a season.

You have Heargreaves, Gibson, Fletcher, the other Irish youth who was out for the season, Anderson, Rooney who can drop back and play deep. Maybe a decent winger and a forward is all unnu need.

I don't agree with you Sass. Your premiss about forwards giving midfielders space is backward IMO. We don't have a recognised world class midfielder. I threw in Arteta and Toure in my other post because I think that if they were in our team and given a free rein, then they would develop into that world class player. The recognised world class forwards are already settled in their teams and it would take quite a bit of doolas to pry them away. Plus they are all past 26. If we were to go for a short term quick fix, I would try to get Henry for cheap. I think that Alex made some good investments with some of the youths a few years ago and he just needs to give them a chance to develop. Outside of Scholes, Giggs and Neville who are nearing social security age, we have enough other seniors within the team to balance it out. Fletcher, Evra, Ferdinand, Carrick, Rooney, Berba. I actually did not want to see us challenging for the EPL this season as I thought Fergie should have gone for youth to give them a year's experience. It would have made us into a much stronger fighting team come next season, but the other likkle teams around us like Arsenal and Liverfool never put up much challenge...so....
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I bet you this. Put Toure in a team less Messi and he won't have so much space or time with the ball. Trust me the youth Gibson look like a gem, give him a little more time.

Fact from old days to now. When you have a dangerous forward it force defenders to take a few step back which create more yards in the middle. If you notice when Arsenal play Barca they didn't double team Messi and he walked all over him. If they did double team him it would result in an open space for somebody else to get a chance.

Yes the youngsters need a little more chance, this season Manu despite losing games remain at the top and put the pressure to play experience players.

I understand Fergie is looking at Milner from Villa which is a good buy. But again he plays his best game when Ashley Young and Gabby are performing as he has more space to act then.

Hypocryte ...Sasss ...yuh naaah bawl fi Fergie fu buy young english striker?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

you hear mi a bawl fi anybody buy young English strikers?