Jangle, whats your opinion on this? My take is

• Jangle, whats your opinion on this? My take is

I don't think he is it. Yes, he isn't afraid to shoot, but he doesn't do much to create for the strikers.

Sir Alex Ferguson: Darron Gibson's goals make him 'the new Paul Scholes' at Manchester United

Irish international can be '12-14' goals a season man...

By Zack Wilson

14 Apr 2010 11:36:00

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson believes that Darron Gibson can develop into the kind of goalscoring midfielder which Paul Scholes has been at Old Trafford over recent years.

Ferguson believes that the Red Devils have lacked a natural goalscorer in midfield when Scholes has not been fit, and he is optimistic that Gibson, who netted his sixth goal of the season last week against Bayern Munich in the Champions League, can develop into that kind of player.

"You saw Gibson's performance against Bayern Munich," the Scot told reporters.

"That was his sixth goal of the season [in all competitions] and you cannot dismiss that.

"It is the kind of contribution we used to get from
    Paul Scholes. He used to get me 12 to 14 goals from midfield all the time and we haven't had a player like that in a while."

Ferguson also feels that Gibson may well have helped United's campaign significantly if he had played more regularly throughout the season.

"Who is to say if Gibson had been playing all the time where he would be in terms of goals?" Ferguson mused.

"But he is getting recognition now and even the players are commenting on how much he has improved."

Meanwhile, another United midfielder,
    Owen Hargreaves, may not return from injury until next season, with Ferguson doing little to reassure Red Devils fans that they will see the Canadian-born England international in action again this term.

"It is difficult to say when Owen will be back; he is training well and I had him in the squad for the Chelsea game," said the United manager.

"His training performances have been fine but I think at the moment midfield is not an issue for us because we have plenty of alternatives."

I agree with you to an extent in terms of his creativity. We are lacking that with the senior citizens in the team. However, if we can get back to the days when our midfielders, as a whole, were scoring 15 - 20 goals for us, then I'll take him. He has not failed given his limited runs in the team. I did not see the game against Blackburn over the weekend, but I saw the highlights and I was very ****************ed at the team I saw on the pitch. I don't know why Fergie did not start the same team from the CL game. I am glad that Mechado got a run out on saturday. Fergie needs to pension off Giggs, Neville and Scholes come summer. Anderson, when he's back, needs to play as the third striker or much further up the field. He should not be playing a holding position in the midfield. Fergie needs to do a much better job rotating the younger defenders inot the team. I read that he's going to farm out Fabian next season which makes no sense. Evra needs the cover even though for now, he's Mr. Everready.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Gibson remainds me of a youthful Scholes, he is assertive, and has tremendous shooting potential(Scloles had a knack for making great shots). I saw where he could've made timely passes to Rooney and didn't, I am sure Rooney's injury is the reason, Da Silva did it too.
      I am happy that Fergie is at least thinking about life after Scholes(Gibson),Giggs(Nani)andNeville(Da silva).

Blessed

Jangle when your forward line not scoring it don't create space for the midfield and that is part of the problem with Manu. When Rooney play it is better. When Rooney score it open up and give more space to the midfielders.

Lazie saying Midfield is the problem, I hope he sees this
        "His training performances have been fine but I think at the moment midfield is not an issue for us because we have plenty of alternatives."

Jangle when your forward line not scoring it don't create space for the midfield and that is part of the problem with Manu. When Rooney play it is better. When Rooney score it open up and give more space to the midfielders.

Lazie saying Midfield is the problem, I hope he sees this
          Sass, you never stop do you? When I spoke about the midfield it was regarding the amount of goals coming from the MU midfield. Check and see how many goals came from Chelsea and Arsenal's midfield compared to MU.

That quote you just highlighted was in a COMPLETELY different context. It was a response to a question about the return of Owen Hargreves. Stop twisting stuff to fit yuh theories nuh?

Sass I think you have it turned around. If the midfield is not creative, then the goals won't come. Our midfield is our weakest area because Fergie puts too much faith in Scholes and Giggs. They should have been used very sparingly throughout the season. Carrick can do Scholes' job competently and Fletcher is developing into a multi-faceted midfielder.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

How many creative midfielder you really see at the top clubs in the EPL. That is a dying art in the EPL. Look at Joe Cole, Deco etc. Fabregas is no creative mid, neither is Lampard and the current Gerrard is not but if the forward line is firing and giving them some space they will take more shots between the 20 and 30 yard line. I however agree that Scholes and Giggsy is giving diminishing return.

Lazy there is only one man in Arsenal Midfield that is scoring and when he is out you see the results.

yeah Chelsea have a strong midfield but even they are not firing on full trottle so they are not a great example and that only happen because of Drogba and Anelka on the forward line providing space for the midfield to operate.

Lazy there is only one man in Arsenal Midfield that is scoring and when he is out you see the results.

yeah Chelsea have a strong midfield but even they are not firing on full trottle so they are not a great example and that only happen because of Drogba and Anelka on the forward line providing space for the midfield to operate.
                  It nuh matter if a 1 or 100 they get more goals from their midfield. Your argument about providing space does not hold water bredren. Give it up.

BS. One man score from midfield, without him Manu mid is better than Arsenal but you a talk. Just fail to see that your big balla nah produce and that a the heart of the problem.

somebody should ask Fergie where is the problem.

BS. One man score from midfield, without him Manu mid is better than Arsenal but you a talk. Just fail to see that your big balla nah produce and that a the heart of the problem.

somebody should ask Fergie where is the problem.
                      When Fergie use 3 mids, most time its Carrick, Scholes and Fletcher. Fletcher roams all over and the other 2 play deep. Yuh nuh see the problem there?

I'm not talking about which mid is better, I'm pointing to the fact that enough goals didn't come from the midfield.

the fact is any of those 3 will pull a shot when they have space but if they don't have the space they simple look for the pass so what I am saying when a forward put pressure on the defense it cause for midfielder to drop back and then space is created in the midfield. If the forward not doing that then the midfield will be closely marked and less shots will result.