• Half a million unsold tickets remain for World Cup

Fifa urges South Africa fans to buy World Cup tickets

Football's world governing body has launched a new drive to encourage local fans to buy the 500,000 unsold tickets for this summer's World Cup. With two months until the start of the tournament, tickets are still available for every match except the final.

Organisers have admitted the initial reliance on internet sales was not the most "friendly" system for local fans. "We want to ensure the picture we give to the world is full stadiums," said Fifa secretary-general Jerome Valcke.

(continue)

anybody on here plan to go to the WC?

It is much too late right now, and we might see a similar scene to the cricket world cup in the Caribbean where teams played in empty stadiums. I wouldn't mind traveling to S. Africa to the WC if a great deal was available!

It was always a bad decision to go to South Africa but FIFA in their haste to go to Africa did not do enough due diligence and it will come back to haunt them and Africa will suffer as they wont see another WC in decades

There were better, safer places to go

Well if those unsold tickets come real cheap and include airfare (even economy class I guess...) then I might plan to go.

"Safer" I'll accept, but why "better"... it's not like SA has not hosted major tournaments before, maybe not on the magnitude in terms of numbers, but I do believe they have experience in Cricket and Rugby WCs... that should count for something, no?

The problem I think is the airfares to SA which have skyrocketed for the WC... unless you have plenty disposable income it isn't really worth it for the average fan to pick up and go to SA at this time... they're doing the right thing by wooing local fans to fill the stadia.

well i will let unnuh know. IMHO south africa has a lot to offer. the main setback is that it is not easy to get to......

I think Paul M is going... He had some extra tickets for sale but I baulked at the airfares. SA is definitely a country worth seeing from all I've seen (on TV) read, and heard from friends who've visited.

I'll have to wait for WC to pass.

Enjoy, if you make it...tickets it seems won't be a problem.

I see packages being advertised on oleole.com, official ticket partner of FIFA.

too late, zeppo. the world cup will be held in south africa.

When did I say otherwise?

Mi might reach if the prices drop at least 30%, mek we know wha yuh a do.

never!

when have you wished for a change of venue? now, that's the question!

Yes, when have I?

Please tell me.

i going.