• Drogba v. Rooney

Drogba v. Rooney: Chelsea's Ivorian still has edge over Man Utd striker

However this season’s Premier League finishes, people will look back over the year at how two of the best strikers in the world have dominated proceedings for their clubs.

Earlier in the season I debated what evidence there was for Drogba, Rooney or Torres being the best striker in the league, and praised Drogba for being the most effective. Since then, even the most biased Chelsea fan would have to admit that Rooney has been on an incredible run of form and has proved prolific in front of goal. He now has four more goals in the league than Drogba, and effectively rendering the loss of Ronaldo irrelevant has been no mean feat.

Looking at the stats though, the difference between the two is too close to call. On average Rooney has scored a league goal every 95 minutes, Drogba has taken five minutes longer (a goal every 100 minutes). If you take into account assists though (Drogba has made nine compared with Rooney’s five) Drogba ‘contributes’ a goal every 71 minutes compared with one every 80 for Rooney.

Stats like this, of course, tell only one part of the story. Man Utd fans will point to Rooney’s other contributions to the team – for example his all action style, leadership, tracking-back and tackling. Chelsea fans of course would do the same for their man: he has probably been Chelsea’s most reliable defender from set pieces, he is one of the team’s most vocal leaders, he plays his game in the middle and out wide and his strength creates invaluable space for the likes of Anelka and Malouda.

So whilst these stats point to both strikers being almost equally balanced, I looked for other ways to compare their performance. Looking back over Drogba’s four goals against Arsenal this season, it occurred to me to compare which player scores most frequently against higher quality opponents. In this comparison, Drogba comes out comfortably ahead.

Flat track bullies?
    So far this season, just over half (55%)of all Drogba’s 22 league goals have come against teams currently in the bottom half of the table. By comparison, 69% - or 18 – of Rooney’s goals have come against teams currently placed 11th or below. Elsewhere, just 14% (3) of the Ivorian’s goals have come against the bottom three, while well over a third of Rooney’s (38%) have come against those currently in the relegation places. In fact, nine of Rooney’s 26 goals have come in the four matches Man Utd have played against Portsmouth and Hull.

Making it tough at the top?
    Drogba’s record so far against teams higher in the table is impressive: 23% of his goals have come against top four opposition. Rooney has only scored three goals against the top four (12%). In total, less than a third (31%) of Rooney’s goals have come against teams in the top half of the league. While Rooney still has an opportunity to score against Chelsea to come, Drogba will face both United and Liverpool before the season is through.

Looking more broadly than just the percentages – and trying to give some proportional value to scoring against teams of different ability – I looked at giving each goal scored a number of points based on the league position of the team against which it was scored. I’m no mathematician, but giving a range of points from 20 (for each goal scored against the team currently placed first in the table, Man Utd) to one (for each goal scored against the team currently 20th in the table, Portsmouth), seemed the fairest way.

Allotting points in this way, Drogba comes out on top again by a significant margin, scoring 220 ‘points’ to Rooney’s 181 (see table – click to enlarge).

Of course, in pointing to which player has been the most effective this season all these stats are flawed in some way. Firstly, not all games have been played, so whilst Drogba might have more games against better opposition to come, Rooney could well score hatfuls more against mid-table opponents still on Utd’s fixture list. More significantly, form changes everything too: one team’s resistance against Man Utd or Chelsea could be entirely different from one end of the season to the other. That also means that teams may have been in vastly different league positions. Furthermore, both players play in different sides who rely on them to varying degrees. Finally, I haven’t been able to look at goals scored in competitions other than the Premier League.

Nevertheless, the stats are indicative, and tell a part of the story that anecdote and opinion can’t reach. At the very least, they demonstrate how the number of goals in the ‘scored’ column alone doesn’t necessarily give the whole picture. Rooney will almost certainly win the key player of the year awards in the weeks to come – and those awards will be well deserved. But Drogba has been similarly unplayable and deserves equal recognition: the pre-World Cup hype of the English media and Chelsea’s recent decline shouldn’t colour judgement of his season come May.

http://www.bridgeviews.co.uk/bridge_...d-striker.html

The duel between these 2 is certainly exciting. I have to ask if Drogba didn't leave for the African Nations Cup how the race between the 2 would look.

Look Lazie, I am looking forward to Saturday April 17, 2010 at 7:45 ET on ESPN HD.

Figet 'bout Drogba an Rooney...

My wish is that ManU continue to win all their games till April 17th.

If you don't know ManU plays my TEAM ManCity.

I hope that it's a Man Citys' win that will kick ManU out of the EPL championship .

That's all I have to say about that.
      --Forrest Gump

Hype ! Drogba vs Rooney , is only for a season , last season it was Drogba vs Torres , season before that Drogba vs Torres , season before that Drogba vs everyone one else or Drogba, season before that it was all about Thiery .

Btw I know the man with the Pink rose is in there somewhere.

Next season it will be Drogba vs ........?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Look Lazie, I am looking forward to Saturday April 17, 2010 at 7:45 ET on ESPN HD.

Figet 'bout Drogba an Rooney...

My wish is that ManU continue to win all their games till April 17th.

If you don't know ManU plays my TEAM ManCity.

I hope that it's a Man Citys' win that will kick ManU out of the EPL championship .

That's all I have to say about that.
          --Forrest Gump
          As Fergie call them, "The Noisy Neighbours!" We know, the biggest game for every team is to play Manchester United. Yuh time will come.

Hype ! Drogba vs Rooney , is only for a season , last season it was Drogba vs Torres , season before that Drogba vs Torres , season before that Drogba vs everyone one else or Drogba, season before that it was all about Thiery .

Btw I know the man with the Pink rose is in there somewhere.

Next season it will be Drogba vs ........?
            Last season? I know the demise of Liverpool is affecting yuh thoughts. LAst season it was Anelka who was scoring the goals for Chelsea, not Drogba.

Since yuh memory Xcaspe yuh, it was Ronaldo was was the leading scorer in the previous 2 seasons.

All of a sudden yuh gonna act as if Rooney was playing as the main striker all along.

ease him up deh Mr. President. Him and him likkle team have taken a battering all season. Forgive him for he knows not what to say.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015