Great win by the GUNNERS after a most undeserved

• Great win by the GUNNERS after a most undeserved

sending off of Vermaelen in the dying minute of the first half.

A brilliant save of a penalty by Almunia...before which a typical GUNNERS move had seen a goal by Denilson. Fabregas' burying of a penalty, for hand ball, deep into the 2nd half and sweet possession sealed the win!

Arsenal 2 - 0 West Ham Denison blasts in the opener

Arsenal 2 - 0 West Ham

The Gunners open up their account with a cracking strike from Denilson

By Mark Ashenden

Arsenal survived defender Thomas Vermaelen's first-half sending off to beat West Ham and climb to the top of the Premier League table.
    Denilson put the Gunners ahead on four minutes after Nicklas Bendtner's pass.

Vermaelen saw red just before the break for bringing down Guillermo Franco, but Alessandro Diamanti saw his spot-kick well saved by Manuel Almunia.

West Ham substitute Carlton Cole hit a post, before Cesc Fabregas scored a penalty after a Matthew Upson handball.

A second period of hard graft and three points at the Emirates ensured a sixth successive league win and, with Manchester United and Chelsea both playing on Sunday, guaranteed the Gunners top spot for at least 24 hours.

For their London opponents, though, the struggle for Premier League survival shows no sign of receding with Gianfranco Zola's side now without a point in four matches and hovering perilously three points above the drop zone.

Richard

After hearing they had been drawn against Barcelona in the Champions League midweek, the Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger remarked that "your next game makes your life".

And with a six-year gap since becoming champions in England, Arsenal looked in no mood to take anybody lightly at the start of Saturday's tea-time clash and were celebrating the opening goal on just four minutes.

Denilson played a one-two with Bendtner and although there was a hint of a use of arm when getting past Valon Behrami, the Brazilian was soon dancing the samba after striking the ball low into the net for his sixth of the season.

West Ham, looking for a first win on their travels since the opening day of the campaign, were not totally devoid of attacking ideas despite missing their injured skipper Scott Parker.

Wenger and players believe in title

Italian Diamanti fired a free-kick over the bar, while Mido, starting up front in place of Cole, slid in at the back post and narrowly missed out on converting a devilishly low cross from the recalled Junior Stanislas.
    The hosts were playing their typically free-flowing game and Samir Nasri and skipper Fabregas, back from injury, both wasted good chances inside the box.
    However, within one minute of the break, the script for Wenger's high-fliers took an unexpected turn for the worse when they were reduced to 10 men.
    After a long punt into the box from Diamanti, Franco clashed with Vermaelen and referee Martin Atkinson was soon reaching for the red card after getting the nod from his assistant.
    Boos turned to loud cheers inside the stadium when Almunia dived left to keep out Diamanti's kick and preserve their lead, but it did not discourage Wenger from expressing his opinion to the man in black as the teams walked off at half-time.

Despite their numerical inferiority, Arsenal continued to press forward as the effervescent Emmanuel Eboue curled a fine cross for Andrei Arshavin to nod over.

As the rain dumped on to the Emirates pitch, Wenger opted to sacrifice his attacking options and bring on Abou Diaby for the impressive Bendtner, while Zola, desperate for an equaliser, introduced Cole for Franco.

Arsenal remained comfortable in possession and Fabregas delivered a pin-point free-kick towards the charging Sol Campbell but the veteran defender could only parry the ball back to Rob Green with his shoulder.

Zola rues lack of staying power

Striker Cole came within a few inches of an equaliser after blasting a 20-yard shot against the left post, but with five minutes remaining the points were made safe with another penalty.

Fabregas burst into the box and as the ball bobbled up against Upson's arm, referee Atkinson pointed to the spot for a decision that few contested.

The Spaniard showed no nerves as he struck the ball past Green to cap a magnificent display.
    Live text and stats

Saturday, 20 March 2010
    Premier League
    Home Team Score Away Team Time Arsenal 2-0 West Ham FT (HT 1-0)
    • Denilson 5
    • Fabregas (pen) 83

That was an excellent performance,Alex Song was outstanding,what a player this young man is turning out to be.

Arsene Wenger saluted an 'outstanding' display from his Arsenal side as they climbed back to the top of the Premier League table with victory over West Ham.
        Denilson fired the Gunners into an early lead before the Hammers were handed a lifeline back into the match as Thomas Vermaelen saw red for bringing down Guillermo Franco in the box.
        Referee Martin Atkinson pointed to the spot and gave the centre-back his marching orders on the advice of his assistant, but Manuel Almunia produced an excellent stop to deny Alessandro Diamanti.
        Returning captain Cesc Fabregas then sealed an important success seven minutes from time with a penalty of his own after Matthew Upson's handball to leave Wenger purring.
        "I believe we had an outstanding game," the Frenchman declared.
        "We played with class and spirit and we kept our nerve when the situation became difficult, so overall we have shown a good attitude, good maturity, and in the important moments in any department we were decisive.
        "Everybody adapted very well to the situation and technically I believe we were outstanding today."
        Very harsh

Wenger was left fuming by Atkinson's decision, which rules Vermaelen out of the next game at Birmingham - leaving Arsenal short at centre-back, and spoke to the official at the interval.
        "I felt it was very harsh," he said. "We have seen this situation so many times in the game without it being punished at all."
        The Gunners could be back down to third should both Manchester United and Chelsea win on Sunday but, after another brave display, Wenger's youngsters remain very much in the hunt for a first title since 2003/04.
        Wenger added: "We are not under any special pressure because we are beyond expectation.
        "We want to win the trophy because we are all conscious we have won nothing yet - the hunger is there, the talent is there and I think the nerves are there.
        "All we can do is rely on the other results of the other teams, so the only thing we can do is master our own results.
        "We have a good chance to do it this year. It will be exciting, tight and the response we gave today in the second half was very important in future games."

My balla, mi a follah him from dem Charlton days. Him ah guh run tings. Hab di flair more dan Michel an Essien inna my opinion; once him get di shot dance done.