Our Midfield

• Our Midfield

Why is it our midfielders seems to have it so hard finding clubs and stepping up the ladder?

Our forwards are doing alright and our defenders are doing OK.

Something needs to change in the middle of the park, How we groom our midfielders.

When you look at Essien, the African Mid at KOP, Damian Francis, The Fulham captain just to name a few and wonder why can't we produce something like one a them. They are not really flashy, win tackle, always in the game and can kill a team when they get the chance but they also pass the ball.

RE: Our Midfield

Easy nuh, the english game isn't tailored

for Jakan midfielders. If you notice; it's mostly defensive midfielders from abroad (S.american african)that flourish in the Epl. If you are artist with the ball, you cannot survive in the EPL as a midfielder. Juninho came and never made it. Veron helped MANU big time but he had to leave. Our midfielders would do better in Spain. If Tappa had played in Spain, he would have been a legend on the Euro circuit.

Assasin (12/11/2006)Why is it our midfielders seems to have it so hard finding clubs and stepping up the ladder?

Something needs to change in the middle of the park, How we groom our midfielders.

When you look at Essien, the African Mid at KOP, Damian Francis, The Fulham captain just to name a few and wonder why can't we produce something like one a them. They are not really flashy, win tackle, always in the game and can kill a team when they get the chance but they also pass the ball.
      The closest we have to them are Khari Stephenson and Jermaine Taylor.

Veron helped MANU big time but he had to leave. Our midfielders would do better in Spain.
        Are you saying Veron was an impact at Man U?

If Tappa had played in Spain, he would have been a legend on the Euro circuit.
        We can only speculate on that one as we will never know.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Jawge (12/11/2006)Easy nuh, the english game isn't tailored

for Jakan midfielders. If you notice; it's mostly defensive midfielders from abroad (S.american african)that flourish in the Epl. If you are artist with the ball, you cannot survive in the EPL as a midfielder. Juninho came and never made it. Veron helped MANU big time but he had to leave. Our midfielders would do better in Spain. If Tappa had played in Spain, he would have been a legend on the Euro circuit.
          So how did Ronaldo, Robben, Hleb, Diouf etc.,make it? Thanks in advance. - T.K.

Jermaine Taylor??? I would more likely add Bigga Thompson and Rat Daley.

BTW, I hope Bora has Damien Francis on his radar. If not, Mo you need to meet with the brilliant journeyman and apprise him of that diamond called Damien. We need him to re-enter Africa.
            "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Mo, add Damien Francis to your profile list too?

BTW Farmah, was it Karl who said Francis nuh good? Seh im too slow. Nuh worry doh, as Karl nuh know ball.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

These guys are wingers and not midfielders in

the traditional sense. Outside of Chrsitian wouldn't really call the rest ball artist. You are welcome, anything else?

Assasin (12/11/2006)Why is it our midfielders seems to have it so hard finding clubs and stepping up the ladder?

I think truth to tell is that we either do not appreciate nor understand why being a two way player is important. So we get left behind. There are very few mid-fielders in the top leagues who can get away withonly being able to play on one side of the ball.In the modern game two-way mid-fielders are a must and we are simply not producing them at the moment. - T.K.

Jawge (12/11/2006)These guys are wingers and not midfielders in

the traditional sense. Outside of Chrsitian wouldn't really call the rest ball artist. You are welcome, anything else?
                    I think I am going to go bang my skull into a brick wall now. Thanks. - T.K.

Mosiah (12/11/2006)

The closest we have to them are Khari Stephenson and Jermaine Taylor.
                      Jah know mi cant believe u call Taylor name. Di mannot even know how fi control the ball. Bora affi go teach him dat before him become any good.

without people like this in the Midfield it is going to stifle the growth of "creative mid". When a man take a chance and go forward he wants to know his back is covered. Jawge and call will tell you possession is everything but Remember Brazil had Dunga and of course Gilberto along with other do the job so Ronaldinho can play all the way up.

You notice when we had Shorty, Fitroy and Paul Hall how Tappa could go forward? Later on he was playing so deep that he was no longer significant in the ball game. Jermain Hue maybe good offensively but when he is too deep his passes are not as effective as when he is right behind the strikers.

Yesterday I saw makalele(Arsenal) went up in attack and I say he made one Kill dead countryman sprint back to go back in defense and I had to say "wow". We need a little more from our midfielder.

TK take a look at a player

such as Zizou. Does zidane play on the wing? Is he a ball artist and does he play on both sides of the ball? Has he ever palyed in the EPL? See you fall in the US coaching trap of changing players. I play a player based on their personality; if a player has the trait of an attacking player, you encourage it, don't try to tell them work on their defensive game. Look what happened yesrteday; Robinho was asked to do some defensive work and it almost caused a goal. You cannot tell Roanldo to do defensive work, he is not geared for that game. Granted there are payers that can go both ways and this is an asset to teams of the modern game.The US coaching system does not understand skill ball they dismiss it as show boating hence they discourage players on this end of the game (only to be shocked by this same creative play in a WC game) I short most of the top players in today's gameare specialists (they go one way).

What if I tell you that because of the demand of the Euro market quality players like Robinho did not get to develop fully. If Robinho was able to stay in Brasil, he would be able to look at you and steal the ball (see 82 games when socrates, zico et al take away the ball from Diego) taking away the ball is now a lost art among today's players. Zidane would not suffer in the EPL (the only team that plays to suit him is arse and they are not consistent)