• PLCA Teams Pull Out of Caribbean Champions Cup

Press Release
    PLCA Teams Pull Out of Caribbean Champions Cup

The Premier League Clubs Association (PLCA) will not participate in this year’s edition of
    the Caribbean Cup Competition staged by The Confederation of North, Central American
    and Caribbean Association of Football (CONCACAF). This was stated by the chairman of
    the PLCA, Most Hon. Edward Seaga in a letter to Mr. Jack Warner President of
    CONCACAF. In explaining the decision, Mr. Seaga said that the PLCA Teams were not in a
    position to finance the cost of participation which varies from a high of $5,967,000.00
    (should a local team advance to other group stage where we would have to host the
    participating Teams) to a low of $1,966,500.00 (per Team/per trip for preliminary
    round). In this effort, there is neither prize money nor even a cup, although the greatest
    obstacle is the cost and the incompatibility of the time table of the Caribbean Cup with
    the Premier League fixtures.
    Mr. Seaga held out a possibility for resumption if costs were significantly reduced and
    the competition reorganized to avoid conflict with the Jamaican Premier League season.
    The winner of the Digicel Premier last year was the Tivoli Gardens Football Club. It was
    eligible to participate in the Caribbean Cup this year but will not for the reason given
    above.
    Premier League Clubs’ Association

I wonder if all the clubs agreed to this.

I wonder how that fits with the aim to advance in world football...and put more players in the world's football marketplace?

one has to wonder

So yuh tink dem would issue a press release and dem nuh gree?

not saying dat...just saying doh!

I know Harbour View would go and maybe Portmore if they were further up in the league but Blainds never liekd the idea and maybe he got them to see his point of view.

Issuing a release does not mean every single member shared the same view but those in the minority went along with the majority decision.

A tough call if you asked me and the individuals should be allowed to make their own decisions.

whey yuh a seh..PLCA a run like how jlp used to run?!! juss axin' bro...juss axin'!!!!

well you can't blame blinds if the man dem go a meeting and shut up and come out and complain when it say them support it.

If them quiet or vote for it then them gave some support to it. Same thing with Burrell and the JFF.