Wenger eyes Chelsea or Man Utd

• Wenger eyes Chelsea or Man Utd

History suggests Chelsea or Manchester United might just fancy meeting Arsenal in the Uefa Champions League quarter-finals. Arsene Wenger wishes to make it clear the feeling is entirely mutual.

Wenger made no effort to be careful what he wished for as he virtually floated in to pore, and purr, over Arsenal's artistry as they swiped Porto aside 5-0 at the Emirates.

He has been accused of flying in the face of logic before - therefore it should come as no surprise that Wenger rolled out the welcome mat for two teams who have inflicted four defeats, three of them emphatic, on Arsenal this season.

Wenger insists revenge is not his motive, and his explanation that "we can't do any worse than we did in the league" does not exactly present the most convincing argument.

But no-one does conviction and confidence, even when it is wholly misplaced, quite like Wenger and this was Arsenal's manager at his most bullish in the afterglow of a demonstration of almost all that is good about his team.

Small details may yet derail his plan. Jose Mourinho will not be too amenable when he takes Inter Milan back to Chelsea next week in a position he loves, namely defending a lead.

And of course Manchester United have memories of dismantling Arsenal in last season's Champions League semi-final, as well as at the Emirates in January, to call on should the sides meet again this season.

It is hard to imagine Chelsea or Manchester United reeling back in terror at the thought of facing Arsenal when they have proved so superior in direct opposition this season.

None of this was knocking Wenger out of his stride when he admitted if he had a choice he would take an all-Premier League encounter, although he added he was also guarding against developing "a negative obssession with not drawing Chelsea or Manchester United."

Wenger, for all his cerebral approach to management, still loves one very basic human emotion of the sport. He enjoys proving people wrong.

You can see it as Arsenal edge their way back into a Premier League title race that looked lost after defeats to Manchester United and Chelsea. You can sense it in his relish at the notion of challenging, and defying, the odds that would be against Arsenal should they meet the two other English superpowers.

And, after witnessing the manner in which Arsenal demolished Porto, it was easy to see why Wenger was so upbeat as he said: "If I don't smile tonight I will never smile."

Chelsea and Manchester United may allow themselves a smirk of their own at Wenger's audacity given their record against Arsenal, but his confidence in his team is pretty much clad in concrete. Unbreakable.

A note of caution though. While the variety and creativity of Arsenal's game was enough to put paid to Porto, better sides may take more ruthless advantage of uncertainties at the back when placed under serious pressure.

Arsenal wobbled at the start of the second half before regaining their composure and reasserting their vast supremacy. They may not get away with it against a Didier Drogba (let's face it, when do they ever get away with it against Drogba?) or a Wayne Rooney.

But having been critical of Arsenal before this season, with total justification, it is only right they should be applauded for a performance to delight any purist. On nights like this they are a pleasure to watch.

The unlikely spearhead was the man dubbed "Barndoor Bendtner", and the striker with the Devon Loch approach to a finish, after Arsenal's win against Burnley on Saturday.

If Wenger is confident, then Nicklas Bendtner is regarded by plenty as over-confident. And that is putting it mildly. Even Wenger allowed himself a wry grin when he revealed "his confidence level always remains relatively stable."

It is this indestructible self-belief that allowed Bendtner, helped by a ringing endorsement from Wenger in his programme notes, to shrug off his nightmare against Burnley and lead Arsenal's dismissal of Porto with a hat-trick.

Arsenal's fans are sometimes accused of impatience, but they threw their weight of support behind Bendtner. And while the goals he scored would have taken a lot of missing, he justified Wenger's declaration before the game that "he will score the next one". He did - and the one after that for good measure.

He was helped by another of those mesmerising displays from Andrey Arshavin. The Russian set up goals for Bendtner and Emmanuel Eboue, and held Porto's defence in his spell all night.

This loping little man, when on song, has an uncanny knack of almost hypnotising defenders who are frozen to the spot with indecision in front of him as he makes another of his surges into opposition territory.

Arshavin was the ring-master - but the real high spot was Arsenal's third goal from Samir Nasri. It provoked all manner of comparisons from Archie Gemmill for Scotland against the Netherlands in 1978, to Ricky Villa for Spurs against Manchester City in the FA Cup final three years later. At a push you could even stretch it to a Diego Maradona moment.

Nasri slalomed in from the right flank, taking out a succession of Porto defenders, some of them twice, before smashing a finish past Helton. It finished Porto off and it was fitting it should do so.

It was the crowning moment of a virtuoso Arsenal attacking display. The doubts must remain about whether they would possess enough to take out Chelsea or Manchester United should they meet over two legs, as Wenger wishes.

Would they have the strength? Would the failings that have let them down against Chelsea and United this season surface again?

Well, we know the answer to one thing. Arsene Wenger would just love the chance to find out.

Wenger a ginal. Its like a youth whey run through him gate then have the most talk. Him qualify suh him can talk ... Chelsea and Manchester United still have 90 minutes to play before dem can say anything.

suh what is ginnalship 'bout dat? as the article seh, him nuh express any lack of confidence before, after or even during the game. as it happens his place is already booked. whose fault is that?

Tell him fi talk if and when the others qualify. I guess if his wish should come through it would be another "oh 5hit!" moment. Kinda like that youth that ran through the gate then started mouthing off, only to turn around and his 2 of those he was running from standing behind him.

Where Porto allowed Arsenal to have their way, teams like MU and the Rent Boys will not do that!

ok...BUT if man u and chelsea don't make it through, whose fault is that? mi nuh si it the way you see it. if a team can beat man u or chelsea then shouldn't arsenal fear that team all the more?

How yuh come to the whose fault question? No one is distributing fault here. I could have said "when" but being a realist I know that nothing should be taken for granted hence I cautiously use the word "if".

Secondly, I don't want Chelsea to qualify. I want then to win 2-1 so it goes into penalties and Inter win on the shoot out.

i also said IF....twice at that! no fault should be distributed which is exactly my point....man u and chelsea have to win in order to face the gunners, IF they don't and it is nobody's fault then the gunners will have to face the team(s) that beat either one.

which is more daunting, beat the team that beat you or beat the team that beat the team that beat you? at this stage there really are no easy games so....wait...porto pick up 5 yesterday...but it wasn't an easy 5 to drop!

at this stage there really are no easy games so....wait...porto pick up 5 yesterday...but it wasn't an easy 5 to drop!
                ...but it show was a pleasure watching, if good goals can be pleasurable, those 5 pleasurable goals!

well if he say he did not want them that would be very bad. What else can he say. Is like a parent on my team says dont let them score first.. so I asked if they do what do we do. Stop playing?