Captain Burrell Speaking about the JFF being(Hitz 92)

• Captain Burrell Speaking about the JFF being(Hitz 92)

Excuse the quality, my radio is a bit ancient.

I just recorded the Captain live on Hitz 92 speaking about the possibility of the JFF going bankrupt.

I didnt get to record from the start of the interview but was lucky enough to catch some important points.

Here's the download link

http://www.mediafire.com/?t0gjyzmcczi
    Last edited by Shola; March 8, 2010, 07:09 PM.

Thanks!
    Excellent work, boss!
    Much appreciated.

Burrell paints grave picture of JFF's finances
      Everard Owen

Tuesday, March 09, 2010

HIGHGATE, St Mary -- President of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) Captain Horace Burrell told delegates at an ordinary congress here on Sunday that the federation's atrocious financial state will lead to sweeping changes and further cutbacks unless a light appears at the end of the tunnel.

"It is because of this serious financial crisis why the Executive Board decided that we have to look at all our programmes and to cut some of these. One of the first areas that has been cut is the female senior football programme," said Burrell as he addressed the local football parliament at the St Mary High School.

President of the JFF Captain Horace Burrell signs the register before the start of the ordinary congress at St Mary High School in Highgate on Sunday. (Photo: Everard Owen)

1/1

Burrell said in light of the realities facing the federation, the Olympic programme could be next to face the knife unless appeals to government and corporate Jamaica fall on friendly ears.

The Board, it is said, will be forced to make a decision on Olympic qualifiers as soon as week's end.

The JFF currently funds nine national teams, and Burrell singled out the significant costs associated with flying these teams around for preparation and competition.

"It has been an extremely challenging year as we have found ourselves in a position at times that we can hardly operate because of a lack of finances. And the business we are able to conduct is made possible by the very hard working and committed group of JFF staff," said Burrell.
      Among the cutbacks that have already been done, stipends to JFF executive officers have also felt the axe.

"This was a painful decision, but we are in crunch time," said the CONCACAF Executive Committee member.

Faced with the crippling effects of the global economical downturn, the JFF had already reduces staff and has cut the wages of existing ones.

Treasurer of the financially burdened body, Garfield Sinclair, cited the difficulties managing the accounts as potential revenues went up in smoke with the senior Reggae Boyz's failure to advance to the South Africa FIFA World Cup and the heavy debt bag it drags around.
      The congress approved the draft audited reports for 2008/2009.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...RD-JFF_7472474

The business of sports

I have been watching with interest the different sporting bodies announce that they are short of funds and how they need resources to continue their development programmes. The most obvious of these is the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) but I have also seen it for hockey, volleyball, softball and of course cricket. The problem is that these federations are outdated and are still operating under the days when sport was mainly an amateur business. Presently however, sports are no longer amateur and have in fact become big business.

In order to succeed in sports, international competition is required in order to be able to compete with other countries. Many of these countries have huge budgets to finance their sporting bodies. In addition these sports have recognised the importance of marketing and brand recognition. In order to succeed a sport has three main sources of revenue. The first is sponsorship, the second is spectator support and television rights and the third is sale of merchandise. If any one of these is missing it is very difficult to fund the development of a sport.

In Jamaica most of these factors are entirely missing and thus it makes it hard to compete. It is time for federations to rethink their way of operating and to start thinking like a business. If you have a product that nobody wants, no matter how well you market it nobody will buy it.

Some sports such as hockey, softball and rugby are so far removed from the interest of the public that it is highly unlikely that they can succeed, as sponsors and television have no desire to support what is not wanted.
        Even football, which is reasonably well supported has difficulty getting a core support as evidenced by the number of matches at the stadium that result in losses for the federation. If the local public is not interested what scope is there for the sale of television rights to overseas countries. Merchandising is one of the main areas in which we can do better but this is also dependent on being able to compete globally.

It is time for us to focus on the sports that we do best and for federations to realise that some sports cannot survive locally. Implement business practices such as financing, marketing, budgeting and corporate governance. Focus on providing sports that the people want and put aside those unrealistic dreams that most sports administrations seem to have.

The matter of sports is a business and must be run as a business in order to succeed.

http://gleanerblogs.com/finance/?p=135
        Last edited by Karl; March 9, 2010, 02:11 PM.

are you saing we should kill sports like hockey, volleyball, badminton and table tennis?!?

i say kill cricket first! at least at the windies level!

why kill it at that level? Them making money. The only thing is the people who run it a dash way the money. The West Indies dispite losses is playing more test than ever before and them tour deh is money especially Austrialia, India, Pakistan and India.