Wenger fear for youngsters

• Wenger fear for youngsters

Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger hopes the horrific injury suffered by Aaron Ramsey will not weigh on the mind of his players.

Ramsey suffered a badly broken leg against Stoke on Saturday, following a full-blooded challenge from Ryan Shawcross.

At just 19 years old his career now hangs in the balance, although medical experts are confident he will make a full recovery.

The injury has, however, left Wenger fuming, with the Gunners chief of the opinion that his young side are singled out for rough treatment.

Abou Diaby and Eduardo have both suffered as a result of crunching challenges in the past and Wenger feels more needs to be done to help protect his technically-gifted stars.

"In midfield against Stoke we had Ramsey, Cesc Fabregas, Samir Nasri and Emmanuel Eboue, with an average age of 21," said the Frenchman.

"Up front we have Nicklas Bendtner, who is 20. What these guys do, at that age, is absolutely remarkable, to handle the game like they did.
    "But of course, if you destroy them, they might not be football players. What is most terrible for me is Ramsey starts his career with a double operation.

"You never know what kind of consequences this will have on his physical side of the game and his psychological side of the game. It's just scandalous."

Intensive rehab

Meanwhile, the surgeon who helped Eduardo recover from a similar injury two years ago is confident Ramsey will be back to full health inside nine months.

"I expect it is déjà vu for Arsenal's staff and will bring back memories for them. If you look at the pictures it is similar to where Eduardo was holding his leg," Khalid Baloch, the consultant trauma surgeon at Selly Oak hospital in Birmingham, told the Daily Mirror.

"The Arsenal physios and doctors have seen this before though and it will be fresh in their minds.

"I expect eventually Ramsey will have the same type of intensive rehab and play again. Arsenal's physios did a great job with Eduardo.

He added: "There were some similarities with Eduardo and a leg break is usually six to nine months out.

"The mechanism of the injury is obviously similar with two players getting involved in a tackle and one player's foot hits the other's leg.

"Whenever any break has a significant bend in it, as his did, there is a possibility for a compound fracture but it is hard to tell if that happened to Ramsey as well."
    Last edited by Karl; March 1, 2010, 12:43 PM.

waaah, waaah, waaah!!!! What about the older players who suffer horrific injuries? Or a player close to the end of his playing career? Bibi and Fuller are good examples of mental fortituity.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

WTF is "mental fortuity"?

C'mon now Gamma you should know by now that we build and puddung words. Yuh know wha....gimme yuh fone numba mek me call yuh.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

it would be helpful fi know whey yuh mean though... .... is mussi you did talk 'bout how andy williams love turn "in a full half circle"

hehehe.......ef (si me picking up yuh Trini haccent) a laff tiday I dead...

that must have ben some ************************ blow to the head!!! who knew a football could cause so much loss of gray matter one time!