• Diaby,Eduardo and now Ramsey.Why?

FABREGAS CLAIMS ARSENAL ARE 'VICTIMS'

Cesc says Gunners learnt from Eduardo situation

</IMG> FABREGAS: Converts the late penalty

27/02/2010
    CESC FABREGAS thinks Arsenal aren't getting enough protection from referees after Aaron Ramsey suffered a broken leg at Stoke.

The Gunners skipper was visibly shaken at witnessing his team-mate's injury but kept his composure to score the penalty that gave the title-chasers the lead at the Britannia Stadium.
    Speaking after, the 3-1 success, Fabregas stormed: "We are victims."

The Spanish midfielder admitted it was hard to finish the game following the 65th-minute injury. He declared: "In the last four years, I have seen three of my players - Abou Diaby, Eduardo and now Aaron - suffer broken legs.

"What can I say?

"You could ask yourself if we are protected enough. I don't think so.

"Speak to the referee.

"I know in England we like to play on and play on, I know it's a great game and we all love this type of game. But there is a line that you cannot pass and we are sometimes victims.

"I'm not complaining - football can be like that.

"Every time we are down and getting kicked we don't complain.

"But there are things in football that are a little bit too much and to have three broken legs in four years, I'm sorry, but that's a little bit too much."

It was almost two years to the day that Arsenal's Brazilian striker Eduardo had his left ankle smashed after an horrific challenge from Birmingham's Martin Taylor.

French midfielder Abou Diaby had his ankle broken in May 2006 by a Dan Smith tackle at Sunderland on the final day of the season.

Arsenal blew the title following Eduardo's injury.

They threw away victory at St Andrew's that day and the match culminated in former skipper William Gallas' shameful on-the-pitch sit-down sulk.

However, the players produced a gritty fightback yesterday to clinch a victory which has hauled the Gunners right back into this season's Premier League title race.

Arsenal are now just three points behind leaders Chelsea, who crashed 4-2 at home to Manchester City and have the easier run-in with just 10 games remaining.

Fabregas insisted: "We have learnt from when it happened to Eduardo. I think that day we lost the league.

"It's very difficult to play like that but we learnt from it.

"We showed character and we knew that if we won today, we'd still have a lot to say in the title race."

Shawcross should not have been red-carded. The foul was not malicious. Actually, it was not even a foul in the first place. Ramsey, unfortunately, came out the worse from a 50/50 tackle. Arsenal and Wegner whine too much. His problem is that he sends out boys to play against big men and expect the other teams to treat his players like the boys they are. When they get hurt, he complains. These players inexperiences are what is causing their many injuries because they are playing against veterans. Also, if Wegner has his players practising one-touch ball all the time in training without being pressured, then how does he expect them to react when faced with big physical teams? Fiberglass is feeding into the propoganda that his coach is feeding the team. There is a reason why Fergie will have the younger players in the reserve team for years before sending them out to face the big men. Arsne and Fiberglass need to shut up and play. This is football, not Jacks.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I hope Ramsey will recover like Cisse(a case better made not about a team..).
      I argued to my friends that if there is any way a "two foot" tackle should be allowed, it should be the way Nani did it for which he was red carded. The league has responded to the concerns.

Maybe it is the shin guards, with this Toyoda crap I take nothing for granted.

Blessed

Shawcross should not have been red-carded. The foul was not malicious. Actually, it was not even a foul in the first place. Ramsey, unfortunately, came out the worse from a 50/50 tackle. Arsenal and Wegner whine too much. His problem is that he sends out boys to play against big men and expect the other teams to treat his players like the boys they are. When they get hurt, he complains. These players inexperiences are what is causing their many injuries because they are playing against veterans. Also, if Wegner has his players practising one-touch ball all the time in training without being pressured, then how does he expect them to react when faced with big physical teams? Fiberglass is feeding into the propoganda that his coach is feeding the team. There is a reason why Fergie will have the younger players in the reserve team for years before sending them out to face the big men. Arsne and Fiberglass need to shut up and play. This is football, not Jacks.
        Jangle stop chatting rubbish,you know damn well that most of the teams go out to try and ruff up Arsenal.This is got nothing to do with young players if young players are good enough Fergie would play them like he did with the neville brothers,Giggs,Scholes,Beckham,Ronaldo,Rooney.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
          Jangle stop chatting rubbish,you know damn well that most of the teams go out to try and ruff up Arsenal.This is got nothing to do with young players if young players are good enough Fergie would play them like he did with the neville brothers,Giggs,Scholes,Beckham,Ronaldo,Rooney.
          Emotions aside ... Jangle is correct. It was a 50/50 ball that both players wanted to win. The ref simply gave the card because of the broken leg.

Fabregas need to show some respect. I noticed him telling Pulis to shut up ... I'd love to see smady shot him a box one day. Now he is coming with this ... where was the complaint about the tackle Gallas made on the Bolton player a few weeks back?

Typical Arsenal bitching from a bag of softies.

What has players' age or lack of experience have to do with Diaby's injury and Eduardo's injury?

...and if we may hazard a guess the nature of how Aaron Ramsey suffered his injury prevented replays. Certainly the place on the leg where the multiple breaks occurred...between knee and ankle...suggests a kick to that area. Why suggest Aaron's age or his inexperience got him kicked high on his leg...far above the ground?

yes but if you dont play the ball and play the man its a red card. its not always intent.. I may not intend to kick you in the face but if I swing high then it is what it is.. it was an idot tackle.. I dont think he meant injury but a suh... how comes a just we a get dem bruk foot ya..

What has players' age or lack of experience have to do with Diaby's injury and Eduardo's injury?

...and if we may hazard a guess the nature of how Aaron Ramsey suffered his injury prevented replays. Certainly the place on the leg where the multiple breaks occurred...between knee and ankle...suggests a kick to that area. Why suggest Aaron's age or his inexperience got him kicked high on his leg...far above the ground?
                  Me no know a wah do Jangle,him muss hit him head to raass!!!

Emotions aside ... Jangle is correct. It was a 50/50 ball that both players wanted to win. The ref simply gave the card because of the broken leg.

Fabregas need to show some respect. I noticed him telling Pulis to shut up ... I'd love to see smady shot him a box one day. Now he is coming with this ... where was the complaint about the tackle Gallas made on the Bolton player a few weeks back?
                    Lazie i dont think the youth went in to cause injury to Ramsey,you could tell he was devastated but it was a bad challenge and deserved a red card.I also think Arsene reacted like any manager would after seeing another one of thier players to a horror injury.What i dont agree with is Jangle bringing age and experience into the equation.LOL!!

MARTIN SAMUEL: How can so many broken legs be down to chance?

Last updated at 1:41 AM on 01st March 2010It was a familiar speech. ‘There is no way that was a malicious challenge,’ said David Kemp, assistant manager of Stoke City. ‘Ryan isn’t that sort of player. It was probably a new experience for him to get frustrated, that’s why he chased down the ball and made that tackle.

‘There was no malicious intent. It was a genuine attempt. We’ve seen far worse challenges go unpunished. It was just one of those football injuries, one of those incidents that frequently happen in the game. Before long Ryan might be on the end of one himself.’

Over time, only the names change. The quickest of wit will have spotted that Kemp is now Stoke’s chief scout, not assistant to Tony Pulis. His observation was not from Saturday, when Shawcross broke the leg of Aaron Ramsey, but from 2007 when he broke the leg of Francis Jeffers of Sheffield Wednesday with a tackle from behind. Maybe Arsene Wenger is correct not to believe in coincidence.

Who's sorry now? Ryan Shawcross's careless tackle breaks Aaron Ramsey¿s right leg

Shawcross left the Britannia Stadium distraught at this latest calamity. So he should be. Ramsey is a precociously-talented teenage footballer, and who knows when he will play again, or what path his career will now take?
                      These days, football gets its mitigations in early. It was the first time Shawcross has received a red card; he has subsequently and justifiably been called into the England squad and the majority agree there was no desire to harm in his challenge.

Yet malicious intent - the motivation to actually cause serious injury - is rare in football. One thinks of Roy Keane’s tackle on Alf Inge Haaland in the Manchester derby or the one by Gavin Maguire of Queens Park Rangers that ended the career of England full back Danny Thomas, and resulted in a compensation pay-out of £130,000.

Shawcross did not tackle Ramsey like that. He did however arrive late and with sufficient abandon to lose any chance of controlling the consequences. The greatest sickness in English football is that we do not recognise the wrong in that. ‘Spare me about how nice Shawcross is,’ Arsene Wenger, the Arsenal manager, said acidly; but the testimonials to his decency were already under construction.

More from Martin Samuel...

And, despite his previous with Jeffers, Shawcross does not seem a wicked sort; yet neither was Martin Taylor of Birmingham City, the defender who shattered Eduardo’s leg almost two years ago to the day. So when Wenger dismisses the idea of coincidence in the number, and severity, of serious injuries Arsenal suffer during matches - three broken legs from foul tackles in five years - he has a point.

If his players were the victims of notorious hard men, Tommy Smith types who leave a string of wounded victims scattered in their wake throughout football, it might be coincidence. That two players with little reputation for brutality - certainly Taylor was a boy scout compared to most central defenders - end up making potentially career-ending tackles against players from the same club demands closer inspection.

Wenger believes players are told to get at Arsenal by roughing them up, and the evidence, while circumstantial, suggests he has a point.

Shawcross did not seek to injure Ramsey but he will no doubt be aware of the theory that Arsenal don’t like it up them, and may have responded accordingly. Perhaps he heard it in the dressing room before the game.
                      Stoke City are not a dirty team and Pulis has done an exceptional job there, but is it beyond the realms of possibility that he employed one of football’s many euphemisms, prior to the game? Something about letting them know you are there, or seeing if they fancy it? What do these phrases mean if not ‘go in extra hard and test their courage’? And, at that point, are the margins between hard/fair and hard/dangerous not frighteningly small?

Pulis would never say ‘go out and break Ramsey’s leg’, and any coach who talks in those terms is despised by his contemporaries, but that does not mean Stoke’s management team did not place emphasis on the physical aspect of the game.

Let’s face it, no manager outside the top of the Premier League is going to attempt to win by out-passing Arsenal. Kevin Keegan, ever the optimist, tried it during his brief return to Newcastle United, lost heavily twice, and was mocked for his naivety.

Even Chelsea, who have beaten Arsenal 5-0 on aggregate in two matches this season, did so while making full use of their physical advantages. With players such as Didier Drogba, Michael Ballack and John Terry, they out-muscled Arsenal and, in doing so, out-played them, too. Wenger moaned after the game, but was dismissed. Chelsea were clearly superior and Arsenal could not compete with their athleticism, which then led to domination in technical areas. Yet, however baseless his complaints on those occasions, Wenger has the beginnings of an argument in the way Arsenal are regarded as a soft touch, and therefore fair game for bullies.

Crying shame: Shawcross leaves the field in tears after the challenge

Wenger feels that because English football believes Arsenal’s largely foreign squad is excessively fancy, this creates a climate which legitimises rough tactics as a way of beating them.

Chris Morgan, captain of Sheffield United, punched Robin van Persie, the Arsenal striker, in the ribs on the blind side during a match in 2006, but after the game there was greater focus on Van Persie’s refusal to offer his hand at the end.

As if an off-the-ball punch was something Arsenal’s softies just had to overcome, and they were bad sports if they could not. In essence, while English football employs this mindset, it is playing a version of the rules, not the real thing.

‘It wasn’t a bad tackle’ is the standard line, isn’t it? On the sofa, in the studio, in the press box, from the phone-ins. ‘It didn’t look that bad. There wasn’t much intent. He’s not that kind of player. He was just too quick for him. I thought the ref had a good game, actually. He let it flow.’ This last phrase - and we have all used it - translates as letting the players operate on the absolute boundaries of what is legal; a standing leg on this side of the divide, a raised foot on the other.

The reaction to the Shawcross and Taylor tackles is telling. Alan Hansen, Alan Shearer and Gary Lineker were stoic over what Shawcross had done, reviewing the footage on Match of the Day. Similarly, at the time of the Taylor tackle on Eduardo, Steve Bruce, a respected central defender, now manager of Sunderland and his former boss at Birmingham, did not even see the challenge as a yellow card.

From season to season, the justifications are unaltered. More than three decades’ experience in English football at least made Kemp smart enough to predict that the challenge on Jeffers was not the last leg-breaking tackle in which Shawcross would be involved. And he is one of the good guys, apparently.

There, in a nutshell, is the problem

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1254454/MARTIN-SAMUEL-Now-Aaron-Ramsey--broken-legs-chance.html#ixzz0gujU2g16
                      Last edited by Karl; March 1, 2010, 08:23 AM.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                        yes but if you dont play the ball and play the man its a red card. its not always intent.. I may not intend to kick you in the face but if I swing high then it is what it is.. it was an idot tackle.. I dont think he meant injury but a suh... how comes a just we a get dem bruk foot ya..
                        How is it an idiot tackle? The ball was there and both players wanted it. There goes the whining again. A Arsenal players alone suffer broken foot?

Dunny check out this tackle Shawcross makes on Adebayor in the 2008 season http://www.twitvid.com/3BCE0

I'm not saying he's a dirty player, but after reading that he broke Jeffer's leg and after seeing this video its clear that he has a history of mistiming challenges that lead to players being seriously injured. Adebayor was out for a 6 weeks after this challenge.

I wouldnt even repond to any of the posts that jangle made on this topic.

But one has to question if rooney was on the receiving end of that challenge would the sentiments from England be the same.

I remember in 2002 when some argentine tackled in the champion's league and broke his metatarsal, the English pressed wrote about it being deliberate and the Argentine wanted to sabotage England's chances at the world cup.

Remember how eduardo was branded a cheat and vilified in the press for weeks for diving, uefa even thought about baning him, but breaking someone's leg is not even remotely as bad. Hypocrites I tell you.

http://www.twitvid.com/CA36B

Take another look mr. lazie and take off ur red devil tinted lense before u do so.

Originally posted by Shola View Post
                              http://www.twitvid.com/CA36B

Take another look mr. lazie and take off ur red devil tinted lense before u do so.
                              Red Devils tinted lense have nothing to do with it. Its as if unuh nuh want unuh players fi get tackled. Its unfortunate the youth's leg got broken but nuh bother come play the victim now.