Never knew that he was such a header of the ball; seems like opponents are giving Rooney too much room; he's not that tall. I would man mark him or even have two on him. Yes, that would create opportunities for others but why let the obvious danger man sink you?
Rooney using his head again...
He does the TEAM thing consistently - He pulls away from his marker! He toughens up when he needs to hold his ground! He speeds into over-drive when needed! Makes the good...through...great passes! Takes the tremendous or slight touch when needed...beats his man when needed...
Damn is there anything this guy cannot do?
Just a great player! ...wish he was playing for my GUNNERS! We would be unstoppable! ...for yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaars!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Mosiah View Posthow is his speed over ground, though?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Peter R View PostNever knew that he was such a header of the ball; seems like opponents are giving Rooney too much room; he's not that tall. I would man mark him or even have two on him. Yes, that would create opportunities for others but why let the obvious danger man sink you?
Man marking Rooney is easier said than done. He's been a handful for premiership defenders this season.
Just a great player! ...wish he was playing for my GUNNERS! We would be unstoppable! ...for yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaars!
The problem is Wenger doesnt spend more than 10 million pounds for a quality striker. None of his current attacking options are world class. Its the singlemost reason why Rooney was never on Arsenal's radar to begin with.
May not be the fastest...but his thinking gets him that 'first step drop' on the opposition...often!
...an yuh dun kno, he is no slouch when it comes to speed!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Warlord View PostMan marking Rooney is easier said than done. He's been a handful for premiership defenders this season.
Man marking used to work when players were robots...unthinking zombies!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by chrisssteeven View PostHi!
Wayne Rooney scored couple of goal against West Ham United. He scored 27 goals in this season and he is also a top scorer in this season. Wayne Rooney is so talented and quick player.
Just asking!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
I would be all over him (i.e. marking him, in case some moron misunderstands me!)like white on rice.
Mek somebody else score but try to shut him down...isn't that where the goals are coming from?
Karl, how would you advise your Gunners , or anyone for that matter, to deal with the Rooney threat?Peter R