Is Rooney becoming overrated?

LOLOL...when good ole USA , with DONOVAN , another one vying for Pele's throne dethrones them it will be the media war of words between two quixotic football hempires...on fiyah....lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

i would agree he is one of the best players in the world, but all this talk about white pele and best striker in the world and he is the best header of the ball...settle the hell down!!!

When you wake up what happened ? Deal with reality Lazie......I know the truth hurts.
        What is the truth? Not something you make to fit your wishes.

07/08

Rooney:
        EPL: 12 goals 13 assists
        UCL: 4 goals 1 assist

Tevez:
        EPL 14 goals 7 assists
        UCL: 4 goals 1 assist

08/09

Rooney :
        EPL:12 goals 7 assits
        UCL: 4 goals 3 assists

Tevez:

5 goals 3 assists
        2 goals 1 assist.

Based on that Tevez better than Rooney? Get real bredren.
        Last edited by Lazie; February 18, 2010, 10:47 AM.

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
          Lazie, I'm going off what the columnist wrote:

"Following the Champions League last-16 first leg at the San Siro, both Sir Alex Ferguson and David Beckham lavished praise on the England forward, describing him as one of the best players in the world."

The writer spoke about "one of the best players in the world." As such I made my statement - not focussing on forwards/center forwards - but basically on offensive players inspite of position.
          .. so he isn't one of the best players in the world? Come on now! If it was a Jamaican doing what Rooney is doing I bet you'd be singing a different tune.

Very good , now get the stats as to whom Fergie used off the bench and what effect he had on the game ? Having an equal number of goals in 08 and half that the 2nd season says it all, considering he was a bench player.

Fergie went out of his way to frig Tevez carrear. it didnt work, like I said tell me what happened when you awoke ? Are the skies still blue.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Very good , now get the stats as to whom Fergie used off the bench and what effect he had on the game ? Having an equal number of goals in 08 and half that the 2nd season says it all, considering he was a bench player.

Fergie went out of his way to frig Tevez carrear. it didnt work, like I said tell me what happened when you awoke ? Are the skies still blue.
              There you go again! Who was scoring the most goals in the team last season? Ronaldo. Who had the most assists last season? Berbatov. As a winger Ronaldo wouldn't back track so Fergie pushed Rooney out on the left most of the times. Was Fergie frigging up his career with such a move? Of the 5 EPL goals Tevez scored last season, Berbatov set up 4 I can remember. Oh ... and unless I'm wrong the team won the EPL, the World Club Cup, the Carling Cup and reached the finals of the UCL.

Better yuh stop talk. Yuh dealing with emotions .... I'm dealing with facts.

Wow!!!!! Lazie, I see that you rate him at the top of the pedestal. No problem with that; I'm just of a different opinion. I rate him highly and as I said in an above post, I would probably put him in my select 11. That said, I went ahead and named some players whom I considered to be better than him. Don't take it personal bredrin; it's all arbitrary!
                "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

well he may not be the best at any one spot but maybe the best overall. Drogba can tackle but I wouldn't let he play as deep as would with Rooney. Eto'o I don't think is nowere near Rooney in tackling.

Wow!!!!! Lazie, I see that you rate him at the top of the pedestal. No problem with that; I'm just of a different opinion. I rate him highly and as I said in an above post, I would probably put him in my select 11. That said, I went ahead and named some players whom I considered to be better than him. Don't take it personal bredrin; it's all arbitrary!
                    Come on ... what to take personal? Its a discussion forum, its good when there are different opinions.

"top of the pedestal" Now thats a leap! I certainly think he is doing enough for his name to be mentioned with todays elites.

I agree that "personal" tag was not apropos! It was a very poor effort trying to drive home my point.

Yet, I think you and I rate Rooney differently. I see him as England's best player and a very good player on the world scene. You, I believe, rate him as one of the best forwards in the world (top 3 maybe)...am i correct?

The bottom line is Rooney is very good but the superlatives and hyperbole aren't necessary!
                      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

I agree that "personal" tag was not apropos! It was a very poor effort trying to drive home my point.

Yet, I think you and I rate Rooney didderently. I see him as England's best player and a very good player on the world scene. You, I believe, rate him as one of the best forwards in the world (top 3 maybe)...am i correct?

The bottom line is Rooney is very good but the superlatives and hyperbole aren't necessary!
                        You see him as England's best? Fine. That means he is the best on one of the best clubs teams in the world .. fine. He has the most goals in Europe todate. He not only scores but set up his teammates as well.

Now I don't think I have to tear down one player to give Rooney credit. There are certain traits that are missing such as being deadly on freekicks. I think he needs to improve that part of his game to be regarded the best. Another thing he needs to improve is to control and shoot without hesitation like Adebayor, Drogba and Saha .... that said I think Rooney could play for any team and is certainly one of the best strikers around.

Yes, if he works on freekicks he will be pushed up another rung on the totem pole. But inspite of his few deficiencies he is still a player I love to see in action.

The fact is none of those three can't pass the ball like Rooney. If you check stats during the game you will see Rooney how good Rooney is.

X, seriously how Brasil come into this argument boss? Truth be told: Yes Dunga would play Drogba because he reminds him of young R9( (powering the ball past defenders and scoring) plus Drogba has a good head shot. He would have to score in almost all games though. Crouch yes but only if Tele was alive because crouch would remind Tele of Dr.Socrates (tele would play him to see how well he fits) Dung no; It was Dunga and Laza that came out and said if Brasil continue with the 82 model they won't win a WC again. I agree to point; only about the 82 defensive style. The 82 selecao was so sure of their attack that they didn't care if you scored (look how many goals they scored after beating russia).

The above came back to haunt them; after a brutal game with Arg., they next took on the physical Italy. Had they played italy before Arg. they would have destroyed them at 5-2. This is why Dunga's team is geared to meet a challenge of such (if needs be, two hard back to back physical games)

Now the rest of names can just forget it. Listen to me carefully: THERE IS NO PLACE FOR THEM ON THE BRASILIAN TEAM (from 58 to present). ok?

Argument done.

I don't get the point of this article. They said that he was one of the best players in the world. Based on current form who could disgree with them? They did not say that he was THE best player in the world. It looks like it was a slow day in the office for whoever wrote this. Seems like he was trying to draw up controversy where there was none to begin with.