Two things - It would have been good to win or draw...

• Two things - It would have been good to win or draw...

...but even if we had won or drawn on the matter of how we played, we were just god-damn awful!

The commentator is saying we did not embarass ourselves. That is nonsense. As far as playing football was concerned, we did embarass ourselves!

karl, did anyone here say we played well? put things in perspective boss. there is a lot of room for improvement, but no need to crucify them. moving from the npl to this is not going to be easy. relax!

and at the end of the day the score is respectable. who in their right mind would have become compalcent if we had held on for the win?!? no one!!

chill!!

karl, did anyone here say we played well? put things in perspective boss. there is a lot of room for improvement, but no need to crucify them. moving from the npl to this is not going to be easy. relax!

and at the end of the day the score is respectable. who in their right mind would have become compalcent if we had held on for the win?!? no one!!

chill!!
      You think it is crucifying by calling it as seen? ...I think it is anti-TEAM Reggaeboyz by fooling the players into thinking crap is the greatest thing since slice bread. You are an enabler! You are working against improving standards. You are trying to condemn us to the bottom of the barrel!

You and others like you should stop it!

you and your ilk should put things in perspective! and stop the crucifixion of our team members! durrant brown, tappa, linval, barrett and the rest did not become the great 98 team because they were thrown into a big match every two years!

stop the nonsense, karl! yes, there is much room for improvement, but it was not that bad! STOP IT NOW!!!!

better than 5-0

...or 4-LUV... or 3(tree) -LUV...

BTW: what was the final score??

couldn't bother to watch your team, huh? did the usa play last night?

stop the nonsense, karl! yes, there is much room for improvement, but it was not that bad!
                Not that bad!
                You are crazy! ...or you have no clue about the game!

Even the players when they have time to watch the game will start wondering what you were taking before, during and after that match...

Ofcourse the other possibility is you never watched and only popped up with your views after seeing the comments on the board and seeing the score

not only did i watch, i recorded the match!

ok, so we played terribly. why was that? coaching? because surely, our players are not that bad.

because surely, our players are not that bad.
                    Lest be real. Some of our best young players went to Brazil and were struggling to beat the reserve team of B level teams.

and what does that mean? the players are bad or the coaching?

The coaches at the youth level. Since this is the product we have to work with for the senior team, it is the players, not the senior team coach.

In my mind our problem stems/starts with the coaching in our NPL. I have been watching the NPL on and off for the last few years and the representation of on-the-field performances points to poor coaching.

I'll give you one teaching reference - Take a look at the world's top teams, e.g. BoyU, Chelsea, Arsenal...Germany, Brazil, Spain...and in our area Mexico and USA...even when there is light pressure on the ball those teams keep the ball moving from man to man...and the players keep rotating in space.

Our NPL teams and our national teams (age group & Reggaeboyz) stop passing & stop moving if there is no pressure. It does at least these things...
                          a) does not build on conditioned reflex of moving and passing;
                          b) and does not continue to provide a building on technical ability;
                          c) does not build on conditioned improved reflexes on identifying dangers and opportunities;
                          d) does not quickly build game awareness...on relative top speed of opponents! ...and increase TEAM Reggaeboyz work-rate (conditioned reflex on ability to work for longer periods at or near optimum levels)...

...does not build necessary 'reflex awareness' on/of spotting dangers & opportunities and thus correct ways of reacting to and taking advantage of each respectively...

...it makes for individual members to be more prone to mistakes on passing and positioning - i.e. under or over-hitting passes, not attacking ball on a consistent basis & finding it difficult to judge 'pace of opponents' & quickly recognize opponents idiosyncracies (resulting in arriving at ball a tad late - too often not "receiving ball with God only by the receiver's, our player's, side", rash and desperate tackles, unnecessary fights the ball, losing ball... for the making of reduced time in TEAM possession...

Our local NPL coaches are obviously not putting enough emphasis on moving the ball around and movement of players. If it were not so...what then causes our local teams to for years...and up to this day/yesterday's match display that lack of being able to retain possession for the putting together...consistently...good passing sequences...sustained periods of possession during games?

Lack of practice, mi seh! Lack of building that conditioned reflex of passin an movin - movin an passin, mi seh! Poor coachin, mi seh!

NB: As I have been preaching...teaching...it makes no sense aping 'bad play' - see Mosiah's claims & thus instructions to our players on our glorious performance. We must be moving our players (...and thus our TEAMplay) towards TOP OF THE WORLD! If that is not the aim, what is the point of our looking towards creating a local football industry? ...the production of quality players for transfer to professional leagues to gain enhanced incomes for the players, steady stream of funds for clubs, infusing of needed funds to the 'industry'...etc. ...and dreams of TOP OF THE WORLD players and teams?
                          ...living in 'fool's world'?
                          Last edited by Karl; February 11, 2010, 09:05 AM.

ok, you have played your hand.

here we go again. rationalistion to stone dog!