• Ancelotti-Rooney is world best

ANCELOTTI SAYS ROONEY IS WORLD'S BEST

Chelsea boss fears inspired United

</IMG> ROONEY: Praised by Ancelotti

By Greg Gobere, 06/02/2010
    CARLO ANCELOTTI has hailed Wayne Rooney as the best player in the world as he sweats over Manchester United's resilience in the title race.

The Chelsea boss was blown away by the champions' performance against Arsenal last Sunday and believes his Chelsea side must sweep aside the tirade of controversy around them to keep up the pace.

And, as he desperately tries to keep his team's focus on Arsenal today, he admits Rooney is leading by example for United.

In contrast his own skipper's leadership credentials took a major blow following England boss Fabio Capello's decision to strip John Terry of his armband on Friday.

Ancelotti said: "Arsenal were in good form but Manchester United played like a real team. They were strong with real quality, good defence and a fantastic counter-attack.

"Manchester are using Rooney very well right now.

"He improves his quality with every game and I am surprised his level never drops.

"Instead he always improves his performance. It's not just good for United but also the national team.

"To have him in this condition is important for the World Cup. At this moment he is the best in the world.

"The whole United team has the experience to fight until the end of the season. United scored three goals at Arsenal but the win wasn't easy. United had to play very well and we have to do the same. It's not easy to play against them.

"That is the way we played against them the last time. It was a very good technical performance and we need that again.

"Arsene Wenger is doing a very good job because he has a lot of young players.

"It is not easy to maintain the top level every year with a young squad.

"Arsenal were in the best condition when they beat my Milan side in the Champions League in 2008 and they deserved to win against us. They will want to be positive so we have to pay attention."

Ancelotti insists his team have remained unperturbed by the storm surrounding Terry, but evidence may suggest otherwise.

Chelsea rode their luck against Burnley last Saturday and then failed to make the most of their game-in-hand against Hull midweek.

ANCELOTTI: Surprised by the media

Ancelotti admitted: "It was a surprise for me to see so much interest in a player's private life - to see paparazzi and helicopters around the training ground. It is part of life and we will get on with it."

But one positive note for Chelsea this week was news that their two- window transfer ban had been lifted.

A relieved Ancelotti added: "It was important for us to have the ban overturned.

"We didn't do anything wrong. We wanted Gael Kakuta from Lens and we did it the right way."

Related Links

Well I am eating my words Lazie. After I cuss you and Ike Turne.....er...I mean Sir Alex out for letting Pink Shorts and Tevez go Rooney the team has been superb. Who in the world is playing better than Rooney right now? Only one I can really think of that I see just playing at that level is Milito (sp?) from Inter. He and Rooney just seem to be the difference everytime I See them play. There is nothing more wondeful to watch than a great player in his prime playing his best football. - T.K.

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
      Well I am eating my words Lazie. After I cuss you and Ike Turne.....er...I mean Sir Alex out for letting Pink Shorts and Tevez go Rooney the team has been superb. Who in the world is playing better than Rooney right now? Only one I can really think of that I see just playing at that level is Milito (sp?) from Inter. He and Rooney just seem to be the difference everytime I See them play. There is nothing more wondeful to watch than a great player in his prime playing his best football. - T.K.
      Diego Milito ... who just happened to score this morning again. Looking forward to see how him and the Chelsea defense mek out next week. Yeah ... it was sad to see Ronaldo leave ... but I don't see why there was much fuss about Tevez. The youth scored only 5 EPL goals last season.

At least he is flourishing at a smaller club. Is not everybody can handle the spotlight at a BIG club like Manchester United.

Hey Lazie you know that inter-milan side is no joke man. They look like a legit contender for that Champions League crown this year. I would not be shocked at all if they won it all. - T.K.

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
          Hey Lazie you know that inter-milan side is no joke man. They look like a legit contender for that Champions League crown this year. I would not be shocked at all if they won it all. - T.K.
          Well seeing how easy they were dispatched last season by the Empire, I'll wait and see.

LOL...I always love it when someone dismisses me like a child. Always good for the ego. Thanks Lazie! - T.K.