• $4.8-m shortfall - JFF in red after friendly

$4.8-m shortfall - JFF in red after friendly
    Burrell begs fans to support Boyz for Brazil 2014

BY SEAN A WILLIAMS Assistant Sport Editor
    Tuesday, February 02, 2010

The heavily-indebted Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) has fallen deeper into liability hell after incurring losses associated with the staging of Sunday night's friendly international between the Reggae Boyz and Canada at the National Stadium.

To escape a loss account, at least $12 million was required in revenue which would have offered the comfort of a break-even status.

Jamaica’s goalscorer Luton Shelton (centre) tries to squeeze between Canada’s Ante Jazic (left) and Tyler Hemming on one of his assaults on goal during their friendly international at the National Stadium on Sunday night. Jamaica won 1-0. (Photo: Garfield Robinson)

1/1
    Preliminary figures yesterday showed that only $7.2 million of the minimum target was collected from gate receipts, a shortfall of $4.8 million. The sum earned was generated from the sale of approximately 5,300 tickets.

A further 2,000 tickets were apportioned to the complimentary list.

The sizeable complimentary tickets are shared among parish associations officials, referees, technical staff, standing committee members, current and past players, past JFF presidents, media, other sporting bodies, the PLCA, secretariat staff, sponsors, government officials and the political directorate.

President of the JFF Captain Horace Burrell said he intends to commission a policy review of the complimentary tickets regime.

For Sunday's match-up, like most others, the JFF had to pick up the tab for the critical operational spend. That included venue rental, security, printing of tickets, insurance of venue, local licensing fees, hotel accommodation for visiting team, meals, transportation, airfare for visiting officials and overseas-based Boyz and match incentives for home team.
    Luckily, the Federation was spared the expenses of airfare and match fees for the Canadian team.

Captain Burrell outlined that it is a financial challenge to stage home games and emphasised the importance of the Jamaican support.
    "Some people can't begin to understand the costs involved in having these matches... it's a tall order and we can only be successful if our dear friends come out and give their support some more," he said yesterday.

"But nevertheless, I would sincerely want to thank the Jamaicans who came out and supported Sunday night's game, and for those would did not come, I am giving them a special invitation to come out for the next one as we begin to build for Brazil 2014," Captain Burrell added.

The veteran football boss said he fully understood the factors that may have kept the fans away from the match-up which the Boyz won 1-0 and which marked the launch of the team's 2014 World Cup campaign.

"Some people may have been a little unsure of the performance the Boyz would give. Also, some people are more inclined to come out when the team is in competition or when we have a high-profile opponent. There is also the question of economics, so I know what people are going through," he noted.

But Captain Burrell would not let it slip to urge the nation that for the Boyz to repeat their France 1998 success, firm partnerships of all stakeholders must be established, and stressed that the fan is the most important of the mix.

"I want all of Jamaica to know that for our campaign to Brazil to be a success we need everyone's contribution, and the fans have a crucial role because without them we will fail," argued Captain Burrell.
    Though it is costly to put on home games, the CONCACAF Executive Committee member vowed he would do his best to bring as many of them to the fans.

"We will be working tirelessly to get at least one game per month for the team, and it is our vision to host as many of them as possible here, even though we may incur some losses. But as I have said before, the support at the gates can change all of that," stated Captain Burrell. He said while he was happy with the win over Jamaica's CONCACAF rivals on Sunday, in the same breath he lashed the efforts of some players.

"The performances of some of the players did not help the cause and I am sure that the coaching staff will take the appropriate action. We must remember that there are other players eager for opportunity," warned Captain Burrell.

Jamaica, ranked 81 by FIFA, will play their next friendly international against Argentina in that country on February 10.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/JFF-LOSSES_7381143

Preliminary figures yesterday showed that only $7.2 million of the minimum target was collected from gate receipts, a shortfall of $4.8 million. The sum earned was generated from the sale of approximately 5,300 tickets.

A further 2,000 tickets were apportioned to the complimentary list.
    Jamaica is land of freeness and providing 2,000 free tickets is a joke of the highest order and how dem fi mek money under those circumstances! These people lack basic money management skills.

The fact is (as mi Lab pardna HL would say), FOOTBALL IS A BUSINESS! The JFF cannot and should not be expecting gate receipts to extricate the business from the Red. A steady diet of nuff Corporate Dollars is what is required to keep the JFF above the Red Zone.

And this again is where visibility and marketability of the program become imperative. Mr Burrell, in a sense, has to re-create the ReggaeBoyz Brand!

The name is there but the lustre is buried beneath 12 years of failure, ineptitude and basic bungling. The lack of perpetual grooming of the youths, failure to properly market player jerseys etc., the tardiness and indecisions of the Academy and the whispers of misappropriation have
      only served to stagnate what we had after our attendance at France 98.

The win against Canada is a good start for the 2014 campaign. Mr Burrell
      must do all he can to keep the momentum going and, in doing so, will be able to garner the support of the mega-corporations - one by one. Put an attractive product on the pitch, keep the fans involved and keep winning. After that the fans and waggonists will pack the Office!
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

or blame Boxhill!

Some would like to believe that the mismanagement began with Boxhill. Not True!
          "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

cyaan say nutten!

The problem is you have people like Mosiah getting free ticket because he is a part of the football fraternity. Worse part is, is whole heap of free granstand ticket give out. All McIntosh, him nuh ramp when it come to the ticket business and him friend dem.

Argentina played Costa Rica recently. The score was 3-2 Argentina.

The game was on TV.

Costa Rica played quite respectable despite the loss.

A 1-NIL win by Jamaica would do well for the ReggaeBoyz Brand.

Excellent work Cap'n Burrell!!! Boxhill was an eejit.

OH BTW: Farmah, Corporate sponsorship is essential--but fan support is critical. "Jamaicans prefer cricket ova football".

Argentina v Costa Rica Highlights

Watch all the Argentina Costa Rica goals online for free with this video of the best bits from today's match.
                Check below for more highlight videos of Argentina Costa Rica - see all the goals from the game. Result from 27/01/2010

Last edited by HL; February 2, 2010, 03:52 PM.

First things first this was CANADA, frigging Canada!!! Who is going to pay to go see Canada's B team? I did not even liusten to it on the radio and did not watch the replay last night as I dont have time to watse on watching Canada pklay Jamaica, two very poor teams.

The JFF insulted the football public with bringing Canada here then turn around and bawl about losing money...

Must be Boxhill fault again... damn fools

next up? ARGENTINA!

You go Boxhill!!!

at least we getting games.

unnu gwaan ungrateful.

'ssasin...hush!!

yuh nuh easy! mi look like mi bex?!?

Ungrateful? all our games must be on the road as our supporters cannot afford to spend $2500 to go watch rux teams like Canada and Grenada

all well it better than play Clarendon all star.
                              who next?
                              You think the Argentina supporters a say the same thing bout we?