• Target man - White wooed by Canada's national team

Target man - Jamaican striker wooed by Canada's national team

Published: Tuesday | February 2, 2010

Gordon Williams, Gleaner Writer

O'Brian White, a former Ocho Rios High student. - file
    A promising young Jamaican player has become a prime recruiting target for Canada's men's national football team as it cranks up its efforts to qualify for World Cup 2014 in Brazil.
    Canada's head coach, Stephen Hart, said he has approached St Ann-born striker O'Brian White more than once to persuade him to represent Canada. According to Hart, he talked to White before and after his permanent appointment as coach late last year, in an attempt to convince the player to switch country allegiance. "I have spoken to him," Hart said while still in the United States last week with his team, preparing for Jamaica. "I wouldn't say that I have pressured him. I've let him know of my interest."

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports1.html

The 24-year-old White recovered in time to finish the '09 season with two goals in nine games for TFC, where he lines up alongside stars Dwayne De Rosario and Julian de Guzman, two players with strong Jamaican ties but who also expect to be part of Canada's push for Brazil in 2014. Other current Canadian natio-nal players at TFC include Ali Gerba, Nana Attakora and Adrian Serioux.

The writer should know by now that Dwayne de Rosario has no Jamaican roots. His roots are Guyanese and he told me that himself.

But even before Hart approached him, White had been targeted by Canada. Early last year, White explained that while he had no problems with the North American country, he has always wanted to play for Jamaica.
    However, there was some disappointment with Jamaica's lack of interest in his services.

But we took the time to run down a player who had no Jamaican roots whatsoever! Remember Tyrone Mears?

How does O'brian White get lost from our program?!? Come on Captain! I almost thought Boxhill was still there!

Dwayne DeRosario's roots are by artificial insemination! Baby momma (or is it his wifey?) is a Yardie.

White will play for The Boyz, period!
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Hear Mosiah, when him same one going to cuss how White get game over one of his clients.

if he were 35 years old...hell yeah, i'd cuss!

You crack me up my friend

You should have asked me. I was recruitng Dwayne when he was on the CN national yout team a few years back. Definately not Jamaica blood. Mosiah you crack me up. It will all be better in time. We just need to focus on our own players inside Jamaica with a new system. Keep hoping my firend. Coach B

------------------------------------------------------------

The writer should know by now that Dwayne de Rosario has no Jamaican roots. His roots are Guyanese and he told me that himself.

But we took the time to run down a player who had no Jamaican roots whatsoever! Remember Tyrone Mears?

How does O'brian White get lost from our program?!? Come on Captain! I almost thought Boxhill was still there!

[/quote]

ah bwoy what can I say?

We better hope Zeppo know him immigration laws .

Among other things, we could also think on how many players are currently 'available' for consideration who have passed through our age-group teams?

Would a 'guesstimate' be somewhere in the region of 100+? Would some of necessity be lost?

Unless O'brien White is a shoo-in for our Reggae Boyz...this is a 'nice' story but no big thing!

White should change his allegiance and play for Canada since it is unlikely he will get a blie by Tappa.

True Dwayne is Guyanese.. maybe because him love the head food.

ah byowy... wha you seh.. Mo will seh a true him paly a farin.. Yow unno lol my brdin mo.. you just have to tell him when to wear what hat.

he isnt. know his dad well but I do think he gets mistaken because of his circle and if you did not know he was not jamaican you would belive otherwise from a cultural perspective. He definelty more Jamaican than Julian dem.

so i guess keammar daley and navion boyd are my clients too, huh?

every caribbean person wants to be jamaican and acts jamaican as best they can. ask Russell Peters!

so yes, it's easy to believe he is jamaican.

and Tyrone????