ABC awarded U.S. TV rights for 2008 Euro

• ABC awarded U.S. TV rights for 2008 Euro

Great flipping news for me! This will be the first time I won't have to pay $100 bucks to watch the tournament! I am excited. Jangle whey yu deh? Explain to de massive 'bout de power of freeness. - T.K.<TABLE class=bdy cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=770 border=0><TBODY><TR vAlign=top><TD><DIV class=storyHeadline style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 10px; PADDING-BOTTOM: 10px; PADDING-TOP: 0px"></DIV><DIV class=storyHeadline style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 10px; PADDING-BOTTOM: 10px; PADDING-TOP: 0px">ABC awarded U.S. TV rights for 2008 Euro </DIV><SCRIPT> function BlogThisStoryTools() { var headline = "ABC awarded U.S. TV rights for 2008 Euro"; var url = &#100;ocument.location.href; var destination = "http://blogs.foxsports.com/BlogThis.aspx?r_title=" + escape(headline) + "&r_url=" + url; //alert(destination); //return; &#119;indow.location.href = destination; } </SCRIPT><DIV class=dataTable style="FLOAT: right; WIDTH: 313px"><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR align=middle><TD style="PADDING-RIGHT: 5px" align=left>StoryTools:</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD></TR><TR align=middle><TD></TD><TD>Print </TD><TD>Email </TD><TD>Blog This </TD><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></DIV><DIV style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 10px; PADDING-BOTTOM: 10px; PADDING-TOP: 0px"><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=440 border=0><TBODY><TR vAlign=top><TD>Associated Press
    <SPAN id=postedTime>Posted: 17 minutes ago</SPAN><SCRIPT> // front-end hack to remove postedTime from Rumors page until a better way can be determined if (&#100;ocument.URL.indexOf("/name/FS/rumors") != -1 && &#100;ocument.getElementById("postedTime") != null) &#100;ocument.getElementById("postedTime").style.d isplay = 'none'; </SCRIPT> </TD><TD width=10></TD><TD align=right><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=bdy cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=770 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD height=5></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=bdy cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=770 border=0><TBODY><TR vAlign=top><TD width=10></TD><TD width=440><SCRIPT> if(fanid.length > 0 && typeof(nflDe

RE: ABC awarded U.S. TV rights for 2008 Euro

Soccer a tek life innah di USA!

Only one reason these boys are doing this!

Yup! ...you guessed it! - MONEY!

Good going ABC. I remember the Czech republic nicing up a great tournament in 1996. Germanywon but it was on ESPN and people were discussing it. Unlike its subsequent years in Pay per view ignonimity.

Watch them try to put some of the biggest games on ESPN Classic to jump subscriptions to that channel - it's business still and they will be allowing us to see the games once more so no hard feelings.
      SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

Karl (12/8/2006)Soccer a tek life innah di USA!

Settle down, Karl. They won the US rights, just that, competing against other football savvy clowns like NBC, and CBS. What?

Lets hope they have the decency to show the trophy presentation.

Mosiah (12/8/2006)

Settle down, Karl. They won the US rights, just that, competing against other football savvy clowns like NBC, and CBS. What?

Yeah, don't be such a tool, Karl.

Don't listen to Mosiah Karl. You are spot on. This is all part of ESPN's plan of establishing themselves as theofficial home of the American soccer fan. Theyhave made no bones aboutgoing after the FSC market over thecoming years.Their newand improved contract with MLS is just the tip of the ice berg. - T.K.

T.K. (12/8/2006)

Don't listen to Mosiah Karl. You are spot on. This is all part of ESPN's plan of establishing themselves as theofficial home of the American soccer fan. Theyhave made no bones aboutgoing after the FSC market over thecoming years.Their newand improved contract with MLS is just the tip of the ice berg. - T.K.
                How are they going to get the FSC market? When I a watch my football pon FSC I'm not getting no damn disturbance bout no stupid NFL game coming up next. Who gives a fock?

ABC don't have the sense to show the trophy presentation for the MLS, yuh think they would do that to the Nyncomepoops Fools &amp; Losers, NBA and NHL?

As long as FSC show the EPL the Seria A and get back Ligue 1, ESPN can go to hell ... until its Champions League time.

Lazie (12/8/2006)
                  T.K. (12/8/2006)

How are they going to get the FSC market? When I a watch my football pon FSC I'm not getting no damn disturbance bout no stupid NFL game coming up next. Who gives a fock?

ABC don't have the sense to show the trophy presentation for the MLS, yuh think they would do that to the Nyncomepoops Fools &amp; Losers, NBA and NHL?

As long as FSC show the EPL the Seria A and get back Ligue 1, ESPN can go to hell ... until its Champions League time.
                  LOL...allright Lazie then I expect when the Euros come around that you won't be watching espn.

As for the FSC market I have no clue but they are going make a go of it and the fact is once a sport is featured on ESPN it brings that sport legitimacy to the US viewing public. If anyone can do it ESPN can. - T.K.

<DIV>
                    T.K. (12/8/2006)the fact is once a sport is featured on ESPN it brings that sport legitimacy to the US viewing public. If anyone can do it ESPN can. - T.K.
                    </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Hence the tremendous popularity of bass fishing!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Yee haw! </DIV>

Mosiah (12/8/2006)<DIV>
                      T.K. (12/8/2006)the fact is once a sport is featured on ESPN it brings that sport legitimacy to the US viewing public. If anyone can do it ESPN can. - T.K.
                      </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Hence the tremendous popularity of bass fishing!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Yee haw! </DIV>
                      Bass fishing run tings....tings nuh run bass fishing. - T.K.