• Memoirs of CFU series in ravaged Haiti

Memoirs of CFU series in ravaged Haiti
    Paul A Reid
    Sunday, January 24, 2010

IN late 2007, I was assigned to cover the week-long Caribbean Football Union's (CFU's) Olympic Qualifying tournament involving Jamaica, the Bahamas and hosts Haiti in Port-Au-Prince.
    I had no idea how the lot fell on me, but one of the prevailing complaints all the way to Haiti and back was that the CFU could have put the tournament in either the Bahamas, or even in the USA, given that all three countries had strong followings there.
    Had the CFU played it elsewhere, chances are I would not have been sent and I would not have had the first-hand opportunity to see and interact with one of the most maligned and misunderstood peoples in the region on their own turf.
    Just over a week ago, after the massive earthquake hit Haiti just before 5:00 pm on Tuesday, January 12, I thought about some of the people I had met there.
    'Tap Tap', a stringy, hyperactive liaison officer named by the Jamaican players after the rickety taxis that ply the streets of Port-Au-Prince immediately come to mind.
    Also, the bus driver who knew maybe three words of English, but every single word of every Bob Marley song on his scratchy tape, and the wonderful staff at the front desk of the El Rancho Hotel, where we stayed in Pechonville in the hills above the Haitian capital.
    Then there was the policeman at the airport who bore a striking resemblance to former Reggae Boy Onandi Lowe, as well as the former refugee who stood out in the sea of red-and-blue-clad Haitians holding aloft a small Jamaican flag when Jamaica played Haiti.
    There was also Reginald Lege, a Haitian who wore a Jamaican shirt to the game against the Bahamas and explained to me that he had come here once as a tourist on a cruise and couldn't wait to return.
    Judesson Brunache, a young Haitian who played two Premier League games for Seba United while he was a refugee living at the Mountpelier camp, longed to return to Montego Bay legally so he could resume his career and was a fixture at every session the Jamaican team had while in Haiti.
    Last week we learned that over 30 members of the Haitian Football Association were among the estimated 200,000 people who had been presumed killed, and more than 20 were buried in one mass grave.
    I can't help but wonder if 'Tap Tap', Reginald or Judesson, or any of the people and officials we encountered there in October 2007 are alive or dead.
    While there may be little any of us can do, it is important that we support the restoration effort either by one text or volunteering to rebuild the first free black nation in this hemisphere.
    One way we can help is to support the Western Basketball Association's 'Hoops for Haiti' effort at the MoBay Cricket Club today.

Memoirs of CFU series in ravaged Haiti
    Paul A Reid
    Sunday, January 24, 2010

IN late 2007, I was assigned to cover the week-long Caribbean Football Union's (CFU's) Olympic Qualifying tournament involving Jamaica, the Bahamas and hosts Haiti in Port-Au-Prince.
    I had no idea how the lot fell on me, but one of the prevailing complaints all the way to Haiti and back was that the CFU could have put the tournament in either the Bahamas, or even in the USA, given that all three countries had strong followings there.
    Had the CFU played it elsewhere, chances are I would not have been sent and I would not have had the first-hand opportunity to see and interact with one of the most maligned and misunderstood peoples in the region on their own turf.
    Just over a week ago, after the massive earthquake hit Haiti just before 5:00 pm on Tuesday, January 12, I thought about some of the people I had met there.
    'Tap Tap', a stringy, hyperactive liaison officer named by the Jamaican players after the rickety taxis that ply the streets of Port-Au-Prince immediately come to mind.
    Also, the bus driver who knew maybe three words of English, but every single word of every Bob Marley song on his scratchy tape, and the wonderful staff at the front desk of the El Rancho Hotel, where we stayed in Pechonville in the hills above the Haitian capital.
    Then there was the policeman at the airport who bore a striking resemblance to former Reggae Boy Onandi Lowe, as well as the former refugee who stood out in the sea of red-and-blue-clad Haitians holding aloft a small Jamaican flag when Jamaica played Haiti.
    There was also Reginald Lege, a Haitian who wore a Jamaican shirt to the game against the Bahamas and explained to me that he had come here once as a tourist on a cruise and couldn't wait to return.
    Judesson Brunache, a young Haitian who played two Premier League games for Seba United while he was a refugee living at the Mountpelier camp, longed to return to Montego Bay legally so he could resume his career and was a fixture at every session the Jamaican team had while in Haiti.
    Last week we learned that over 30 members of the Haitian Football Association were among the estimated 200,000 people who had been presumed killed, and more than 20 were buried in one mass grave.
    I can't help but wonder if 'Tap Tap', Reginald or Judesson, or any of the people and officials we encountered there in October 2007 are alive or dead.
    While there may be little any of us can do, it is important that we support the restoration effort either by one text or volunteering to rebuild the first free black nation in this hemisphere.
    One way we can help is to support the Western Basketball Association's 'Hoops for Haiti' effort at the MoBay Cricket Club today.
    SICKKO yuh boss always a gi yuh di assignments in the armpits of the world?

p.s. excellent article

Good article, yute!

Trust me, one sentence was left out here and it should have been that no one not even the team wanted to go to Haiti and thus the complainants that the games should have been held in the US.

Thanks boss

LOL... long time no body call me youth but I will take it

Give us a little more on why the team did not want to go? I have been to Haiti twice and the people were great! (...granted the last time i was there was 1985)...and the atmosphere at the Stade Sylvio Cator was, on both occasions, fantastic!

you do mean Petionville, no?

How long did you stay there?

Some of the players and officials had been there before and did not particularly want o go back

As we have been told ad naseum by CNN there is no infrastructure there, we cant blame the Haitians for AA leaving most of our bags in Miami but getting anywhere took major patience and we had to have outriders on small pot hole riddled roads that twisted and turned more than any country path we have seen.

The people had no respect for the cops in the car and ignored their orders but once we got the ones on the bike with the knee pads, every one scampered out of the way

The hotel was run down and the first room they gave me I refused to even put my bags in it, the bathroom had big brown rust spots in the shower and the beds looked flimsy- the other one i got was a bit better but was right next to the kitchen so when the staff started working at 5am the noise woke me up every morning.

One of the bus they gave us had no AC or tape deck and some seats were threadbare and when we went out to buy basic stuff for the team likke Gatorade etc we had to go to three store set far apart to get enough, some things like tape etc was just not available at all.

One improvement I heard was that if the players felt like going outside the hotel for a walk they did not have to be escorted by the armed Peace keepers who seem to be everywhere

Maybe...been there?

How long did you stay there?

Some of the players and officials had been there before and did not particularly want o go back

As we have been told ad naseum by CNN there is no infrastructure there, we cant blame the Haitians for AA leaving most of our bags in Miami but getting anywhere took major patience and we had to have outriders on small pot hole riddled roads that twisted and turned more than any country path we have seen.

The people had no respect for the cops in the car and ignored their orders but once we got the ones on the bike with the knee pads, every one scampered out of the way

The hotel was run down and the first room they gave me I refused to even put my bags in it, the bathroom had big brown rust spots in the shower and the beds looked flimsy- the other one i got was a bit better but was right next to the kitchen so when the staff started working at 5am the noise woke me up every morning.

One of the bus they gave us had no AC or tape deck and some seats were threadbare and when we went out to buy basic stuff for the team likke Gatorade etc we had to go to three store set far apart to get enough, some things like tape etc was just not available at all.

One improvement I heard was that if the players felt like going outside the hotel for a walk they did not have to be escorted by the armed Peace keepers who seem to be everywhere
                    2 weeks on each visit

Different experiences to mine.

The 'tap-taps' were there but I took that as an adventure...and we could walk about without any problems. We were treated very well...very, very well by the FA.

LOL... long time no body call me youth but I will take it
                        ...well yuh far fram Shady Pines!

no. not yet!

When yuh live there though Karl that get's old. My ex is Haitian/German and she lived there for a long while. She came to Jamaica to visit and was like a kid in a candy store. She had been to Jamaica before but ishe was still excited. Clothes shopping and just basic stuff like body lotion and dem tings she say is very hard to get down there. Also the kidnappings increased and they had to travel wit bodyguards just to go to work in the morning. The grandmother was kidnapped and held for ransom for 3 weeks and injected with needles said to be contaminated with AIDS (it wasn't). Dat place not easy at all she did waan me come down there and I refused

A hear yuh. boss!