Wenger backs Cesc to improve

• Wenger backs Cesc to improve

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger is backing star midfielder Cesc Fabregas to get even better in the coming years.
    The Spain international has been in blistering form for the Gunners this term with an impressive nine league goals from just 16 appearances.
    Although some tipped Arsenal for a season of struggle the 22-year-old has inspired Wenger's side to remain among the title challengers.
    The French tactician does not think Fabregas is a player who will rest on his laurels and that his drive and determination will see him improve his game even more in future.
    Exceptional

"Cesc is a player who is an exceptional talent," said Wenger. "But part of the exceptional talent is that he is never happy with what he is delivering.
    "There is a lot more to come from him, because these players always get better.
    "Today he is stronger defensively than three years ago. He is stronger in his runs. He is stronger in his long passing, his left foot is better.
    "But he can be better in the air, because once you get into the box at the right moment you can score as well with headers. His left foot, heading - there is a lot more to come from him.

ARSENAL boss Arsene Wenger has heaped praise on his 'midfield general' Cesc Fabregas.

The Gunners manager faced criticism from some quarters over his failure to sign an enforcer to play alongside the Spaniard after the departures of Mathieu Flamini and Gilberto Silva in 2008.
    But Fabregas starred in yesterday's 2-0 win at Bolton — scoring his 10th league goal of the season and playing a part in the second.
    And what the 5ft 9in Arsenal captain may lack in physical presence he makes up for with his quick thinking and abundance of talent.
    He is set to play a pivotal role in the club's Premier League title charge as they face crucial games against Aston Villa, Manchester United, Chelsea and Liverpool in the next four weeks.
    And Wenger said: "He looks like a real general in midfield now and of course that helps as we go into a period of important games.
    "The Bolton game was a test of character and they have shown plenty — which is very good news for us.
    "Over the years our strength has increased and we showed we have matured — we know when to go for the fights and we know when to put the ball down.
    "Without a doubt there is still more to come because we are a young team.
    "We have a very tough run of games coming up but let's be focused on the next one and keep it simple."
    Arsenal face Bolton at home in the league again on Wednesday knowing a win by two clear goals will take them top of the table on goal difference from Chelsea.

Advertisement

var RStag = "";try{RStag = segQS;}catch(e){RStag = "";}document.write('');

And Wenger added: "It is important psychologically — not mathematically so much.
    "We have a good opportunity to do it so we have to focus."
    Defender Bacary Sagna insists the significance of the victory at Bolton was not lost on the players but admits it will mean nothing if their recent good league form slips.
    Arsenal have not lost since being beaten 3-0 at home by Chelsea on November 29 — a result which left them 11 points behind Carlo Ancelotti's side.
    The Frenchman said: "The victory at Bolton was massive. We have to think about Wednesday's game against them and we have to take maximum advantage if we want to be champions.
    "It will be good for us [to go top] but we would still have 16 games to win the Premier League — it will not be decided on Wednesday so we have to make sure we carry on winning."
    Arsenal have not won any silverware since their 2005 FA Cup victory over Manchester United but Wenger claims his squad now believe they can win their first title for six years.
    He added: "When the season started, we were not all convinced in our squad maybe that we could be where we are today.
    "Now that we are there, we want to have a go."

OWEN COYLE celebrated his first game in charge of Bolton - by drooling at the magic of Cesc Fabregas.

Arsenal's magnificent Spanish midfielder ensured Coyle had a torrid debut in the Reebok hotseat following his arrival from Burnley 10 days ago.
      Coyle was gutted to be on the receiving end of a Fabregas masterclass - but quick to heap praise on the jewel in Arsene Wenger's crown.
      He said: "Fabregas could play for anyone in world football. Barcelona or anybody, you pick them and he could play for them. He is a top, top player.
      "There are different types of midfielders but for me and in terms of how I like football to be played, he is the most pleasing on the eye.
      "He has everything in his locker. He has got pace and a level of composure, his finishing is of the highest standard, he has movement, anticipation, intelligence.
      "So, to sum up, then yes he is the best in the Premier League. He is just a quality player and Arsenal are very fortunate to have him."
      Gunners boss Wenger was only too happy to agree - and warned his Premier League rivals the Spanish wizard will just keep on getting better.
      Fabregas was back in action after missing Arsenal's previous three clashes with a hamstring complaint and Wenger roared: "He was very influential again.
      "What is very interesting for us is that Cesc gets stronger and stronger and has more personality on the pitch - like the whole team.
      "He will be 23 this year but he is just at the start. He is only starting.
      "He is the guy who touches the ball more than anyone else so it is not illogical the opposition should try to stop him playing.
      "We expected a fully-committed Bolton team and we were not disappointed.
      "They gave absolutely everything and put us under a lot of pressure.
      "But we tried to put the ball down and play - sometimes it worked very well during spells in the first half.
      "It was important for us not to get to the last 15 minutes only one goal up and the second goal killed the game."
      Wenger is praying Fabregas can remain 100 per cent fit for the rest of the season. The Gunners might have picked up seven points from nine during his recent absence but the Frenchman knows his side are twice as good when he is playing.

var RStag = "";try{RStag = segQS;}catch(e){RStag = "";}document.write('');

And with tough clashes against Bolton again, Stoke City, Aston Villa and Manchester United to come before the end of the month, Wenger is desperately praying Fabregas is back for good.
      He added: "I believe in the last 48 hours we have lost Aaron Ramsey and Samri Nasri to injuries and we go now into a period where every game becomes very important and against opponents who are fighting for the championship.
      "So it is important not to lose any more players and especially not him.
      "He is just coming back now and we survived OK when he was out. But with so many important games coming up it is important to have him."
      Coyle was delighted by the effort put in by his players in his first game as Bolton boss.
      He said: "The level of performance was terrific.
      "What we offered for the duration of the match would, on another day, have resulted in points.
      "We were always in the game and they weren't half-chances we created, they were real gilt-edged chances."

Cesc to get better

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
        ARSENAL boss Arsene Wenger has heaped praise on his 'midfield general' Cesc Fabregas.

The Gunners manager faced criticism from some quarters over his failure to sign an enforcer to play alongside the Spaniard after the departures of Mathieu Flamini and Gilberto Silva in 2008.

But Fabregas starred in yesterday's 2-0 win at Bolton — scoring his 10th league goal of the season and playing a part in the second.

And what the 5ft 9in Arsenal captain may lack in physical presence he makes up for with his quick thinking and abundance of talent.

He is set to play a pivotal role in the club's Premier League title charge as they face crucial games against Aston Villa, Manchester United, Chelsea and Liverpool in the next four weeks.

And Wenger said: "He looks like a real general in midfield now and of course that helps as we go into a period of important games.
        "The Bolton game was a test of character and they have shown plenty — which is very good news for us.

"Over the years our strength has increased and we showed we have matured — we know when to go for the fights and we know when to put the ball down.

"Without a doubt there is still more to come because we are a young team.
        "We have a very tough run of games coming up but let's be focused on the next one and keep it simple."

Arsenal face Bolton at home in the league again on Wednesday knowing a win by two clear goals will take them top of the table on goal difference from Chelsea.

And Wenger added: "It is important psychologically — not mathematically so much.
        "We have a good opportunity to do it so we have to focus."

Defender Bacary Sagna insists the significance of the victory at Bolton was not lost on the players but admits it will mean nothing if their recent good league form slips.

Arsenal have not lost since being beaten 3-0 at home by Chelsea on November 29 — a result which left them 11 points behind Carlo Ancelotti's side.

The Frenchman said: "The victory at Bolton was massive. We have to think about Wednesday's game against them and we have to take maximum advantage if we want to be champions.

"It will be good for us [to go top] but we would still have 16 games to win the Premier League — it will not be decided on Wednesday so we have to make sure we carry on winning."

Arsenal have not won any silverware since their 2005 FA Cup victory over Manchester United but Wenger claims his squad now believe they can win their first title for six years.

He added: "When the season started, we were not all convinced in our squad maybe that we could be where we are today.
        "Now that we are there, we want to have a go."
        Ofcourse!

He has stepped up a notch this season. Now I would like to see him step up in his next game against Chelsea.

Will be interesting to see what sort of role he plays for spain in the world cup.

the second bolton clash should prove "interesting" coming so close on the heels of the game last saturday.

Bolton dash whey the game. They lack that quality upfront.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

they could have been 2 up within 10 minutes...and in my opinion they were competive the whole match...traore had a torrid time of it!

yup Bibby's replacement - Lee, gave him hell!!! Bibby needs to work back for his game.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Traore and defense don't mix. LOL

time is not on his side unfortunately.

you mean knees not on his side?

How many knee surgery can one man have?