• U.S. youth on trial at Ajax

DAVIES BEGINS AJAX AUDITION

With several noted European clubs reportedly waiting their turn for a look, Boston College strike phenom Charlie Davies has started an eight-day trial with Eredivisie giants Ajax Amsterdam.

The 2006 NCAA All-American from New Hampshire arrived on Tuesday, then worked the full 90 minutes in the Young Ajax exhibition loss the following night.

"Yesterday, he played in a friendly, and we can see that he's a good player," Young Ajax coach Aron Winter told YA. "He had some difficulties, but he has quality."

(continued)

RE: U.S. youth on trial at Ajax

Dreaming of Ajax

The Ajax youth academy has captured the imagination of talented young football players all over the world. Also that of Charlie Davies, the twenty-year old striker of Boston College from Boston, Massachusetts. The American, forward of the year in the ACC, one of the divisions of the college competition in the United States, is on a two-week trial at the Amsterdam club and Davies enjoys every minute of it. The forward played with Young Ajax in a friendly against FC Lisse on Wednesday. This Friday he scored three goals in the intra-squad match and shows an array of dazzling moves. With his twenty years, Davies is the oldest of the group of interns and the extra years translate into a fysical advantage.

Davies owns the typical American sports mentality and pairs a fierce desire to win with a positive attitude. The American already knows the names of most of his new teammates. "I learn those things quickly and I thought it was important to pick up on those details'', says Davies. "It is very exciting to be on trial here at Ajax; I am learning a lot and I am anxious to sign a contract here. The level of play is very high and I want to play with the best players.''

In about a week Charlie Davies will know if his dream comes true and he will succeed John O'Brien as an American in the red and white of Ajax.

(full article)

<SPAN class=headline>DAVIES LEAVES AJAX WITHOUT OFFER </SPAN>

<SPAN class=headline>Boston College forward Charlie Davies has completed a trial with Ajax Amsterdam, who have decided not to offer the American a contract.

As Dutch news outlets were busy reporting an Ajax swoop for NAC Breda strike ace Leonardo as complete, the Yank's visit was cut a day short. </SPAN>

<SPAN class=headline>(continue) </SPAN>

<SPAN class=headline></SPAN>

<SPAN class=headline></SPAN><SPAN class=headline>

</SPAN>

<DIV>Yuh mean the "Boston College strike phenom" was not offered a contract? How can that be?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Are we using the word "phenom" a little too liberally, Zeppo?</DIV>

I wish him all the best. He seems to have more desire than the other saviour of American football, Landon Donovan.

Mosiah (12/13/2006)Are we using the word "phenom" a little too liberally, Zeppo?

Who's "we"?

At any rate, Ajax prefers to get them young and have them progress through the youth system, as John O'Brien did.

If they are going to take on a 20 year old he would have to be ready to jump straight away into the first team, and it appears that Davies isn't quite there yet. Had he gone there at 18 things could very well have turned out differently.

Anyway, don't think that you've heard the last of this kid. He has been hot property for the last year or so and Ajax was just one of many teams interested in giving him a look (Olympique Marseille is another one).