• $heva to leave Chel$ki?

Shevchenko reveals Chelsea doubts

LONDON, Dec 7 (Reuters) - Ukrainian striker Andriy Shevchenko is prepared to quit Premier League champions Chelsea after struggling to come to terms with the English game.

Shevchenko, 30, who transferred from AC Milan during the close season for £30.1million ($59 million), told the Daily Mirror his game did not suit Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho.

'I feel at home at Chelsea, and it's felt like my team for a long time, but unfortunately my game doesn't suit Mourinho,' Shevchenko was quoted as saying.

'Everyone has been writing about me being sent on loan to Milan. I still haven't discussed this question with the management, but the bosses themselves probably still haven't decided.

'I'm not finished as a player. On the other hand, I have nothing to prove to anybody. Everybody already knows what Andriy Shevchenko is capable of.'

Shevchenko has scored just three Premier League goals this season and only opened his Champions League account on Tuesday against Levski Sofia.

Shaun Wright-Phillips, another player who has failed to impress during his time at the Champions, scored his debut goal for Chelsea against Levski, but has continually been linked with a move away.

Although Mourinho insisted after the game that he wanted the 25-year-old to stay, the Chelsea hierarchy, led by chief executive Peter Kenyon, are still keen to accept any offer in excess of £12m, with West Ham already showing their interest.

RE: $heva to leave Chel$ki?

Better him go back to Milan because they really need a striker.

Has he really struggled...or, is the expectations too high?

I think he is doing OK! ...and, has been showing signs that A-OK is just around the corner!

Karl - 3 goals in 16 games for a man "worth" 30 million pounds - trust me - he is struggling. For him to score 10 goals in the prem, he will have to average 1 goal in every ~3 of the remaining fixtures, that's up from 1 goal in every ~5. Can he do it? Probably, but I say probably not.

His big issue is not his talent, but rather that he plays for a team that has a massive goal scoring threat from other parts of the park, e.g. Carvalho (a defender) was the goal scorer at Old Toilet and Lampard (midfielder) was the team's top scorer last year.

In Italy, he had great service from Pirlo and Kaka who were expected to set him up. In England, Ballack and Lampard are expected to score! His problem is that he doesn't realise that he has to score from the scraps and not the build up...at least in JM's system. He would do much better at a team like Arsenal or Spurs, where they have systems that set up their forwards as opposed to expecting heavy goal production from their midfield. All that being said, I like him, but I wouldn't sign him to any team I managed...certainly not for US$60M, me woulda buy a nice cyar instead

Paul Marin (12/7/2006)Karl - 3 goals in 16 games for a man "worth" 30 million pounds - trust me - he is struggling. For him to score 10 goals in the prem, he will have to average 1 goal in every ~3 of the remaining fixtures, that's up from 1 goal in every ~5. Can he do it? Probably, but I say probably not.

His big issue is not his talent, but rather that he plays for a team that has a massive goal scoring threat from other parts of the park, e.g. Carvalho (a defender) was the goal scorer at Old Toilet and Lampard (midfielder) was the team's top scorer last year.

In Italy, he had great service from Pirlo and Kaka who were expected to set him up. In England, Ballack and Lampard are expected to score! His problem is that he doesn't realise that he has to score from the scraps and not the build up...at least in JM's system. He would do much better at a team like Arsenal or Spurs, where they have systems that set up their forwards as opposed to expecting heavy goal production from their midfield. All that being said, I like him, but I wouldn't sign him to any team I managed...certainly not for US$60M, me woulda buy a nice cyar instead
          You said it! Chelsea's goals come from all over the field. One mark of an excellent TEAM?

How does he fit in? Is he rounding into form...excellent fit?! I think so!

Tell you what, Chelsea could ship him over to the GUNNERS! Yes, our goals come from all over the field also...but, with the number of chances we create for our forwards this guy would be feasting! (We are agreed! )

...and, it would not be bad to have a 25 year old good striker on our 'misfiring in front of goal' TEAM! mmmm? Quickly back into the EPL title hunt?

KArl, if you call Chelsea an excellent team,, what you would call Manu?

Lazie (12/7/2006)KArl, if you call Chelsea an excellent team,, what you would call Manu?
              Not bad at all!

...but, still BoyU!

Karl, the problem is that he would never fetch (and no one would pay) the US$60M that Chel$ki paid for him. I would pay more for Wolcott than for $heva any day of the week. Bottomline on it is that he is not fitting in to the system and won't have a chance to prove himself as time is up. Look for him to be loaned out in January and for Robben to fight his way back into the squad. Either that, or you will see Kalou included more. Also, don't be surprised if Jon Obi Mikel is either sold or loaned out in January as well along with SWP.

Paul? You point on goalscoring is valid...but, it is what I think I am seeing... i.e. I think, he is making headway. Remember he was not 100% while he played in his earlier matches for Chelsea.

---

The big 'name brand' guns:

Didier Drogba<DIV class=mvb>This season</DIV>

<TABLE class=protables cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=c1></TD><TD class=c2><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>Apps</DIV></DIV></TD><TD class=c3><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>As sub</DIV></DIV></TD><TD class=c4><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>Goals</DIV></DIV></TD><TD class=c5><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>Yellow</DIV></DIV></TD><TD class=c6><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>Red</DIV></DIV></TD></TR><TR class=r2><TD class=c1>Total (Club)</TD><TD class=c2>24</TD><TD class=c3>(2)</TD><TD class=c4>14</TD><TD class=c5>4</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR><TR class=r1><TD class=c1>League</TD><TD class=c2>15</TD><TD class=c3>(1)</TD><TD class=c4>8</TD><TD class=c5>3</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR><TR class=r2><TD class=c1>FA Cup</TD><TD class=c2>0</TD><TD class=c3>(0)</TD><TD class=c4>0</TD><TD class=c5>0</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR><TR class=r1><TD class=c1>League Cup</TD><TD class=c2>2</TD><TD class=c3>(1)</TD><TD class=c4>1</TD><TD class=c5>0</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR><TR class=r2><TD class=c1>European/Others</TD><TD class=c2>7</TD><TD class=c3>(0)</TD><TD class=c4>5</TD><TD class=c5>1</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

-----------

Andriy Shevchenko[b]<DIV class=mvb>This season</DIV>

<TABLE class=protables cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=c1></TD><TD class=c2><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>Apps</DIV></DIV></TD><TD class=c3><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>As sub</DIV></DIV></TD><TD class=c4><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>Goals</DIV></DIV></TD><TD class=c5><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>Yellow</DIV></DIV></TD><TD class=c6><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>Red</DIV></DIV></TD></TR><TR class=r2><TD class=c1>Total (Club)</TD><TD class=c2>20</TD><TD class=c3>(1)</TD><TD class=c4>6</TD><TD class=c5>1</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR><TR class=r1><TD class=c1>League</TD><TD class=c2>13</TD><TD class=c3>(0)</TD><TD class=c4>3</TD><TD class=c5>1</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR><TR class=r2><TD class=c1>FA Cup</TD><TD class=c2>0</TD><TD class=c3>(0)</TD><TD class=c4>0</TD><TD class=c5>0</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR><TR class=r1><TD class=c1>League Cup</TD><TD class=c2>1</TD><TD class=c3>(0)</TD><TD class=c4>1</TD><TD class=c5>0</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR><TR class=r2><TD class=c1>European/Others</TD><TD class=c2>6</TD><TD class=c3>(1)</TD><TD class=c4>2</TD><TD class=c5>0</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

-------------------

*Arjen Robben<DIV class=mvb>This season</DIV>

<TABLE class=protables cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=c1></TD><TD class=c2><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>Apps</DIV></DIV></TD><TD class=c3><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>As sub</DIV></DIV></TD><TD class=c4><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>Goals</DIV></DIV></TD><TD class=c5><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>Yellow</DIV></DIV></TD><TD class=c6><DIV class=mvb><DIV class=rhst>Red</DIV></DIV></TD></TR><TR class=r2><TD class=c1>Total (Club)</TD><TD class=c2>18</TD><TD class=c3>(6)</TD><TD class=c4>0</TD><TD class=c5>1</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR><TR class=r1><TD class=c1>League</TD><TD class=c2>11</TD><TD class=c3>(3)</TD><TD class=c4>0</TD><TD class=c5>0</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR><TR class=r2><TD class=c1>FA Cup</TD><TD class=c2>0</TD><TD class=c3>(0)</TD><TD class=c4>0</TD><TD class=c5>0</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR><TR class=r1><TD class=c1>League Cup</TD><TD class=c2>1</TD><TD class=c3>(0)</TD><TD class=c4>0</TD><TD class=c5>0</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR><TR class=r2><TD class=c1>European/Others</TD><TD class=c2>6</TD><TD class=c3>(3)</TD><TD class=c4>0</TD><TD class=c5>1</TD><TD class=c6>0</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

-------------

Wayne Rooney<DIV class=mvb>[B]This

Karl, your table is misleading. The metric by which he is and will be measured by is his performance in the league. In that regard, he is not even on the radar screen (not in the top 18). Don't get me wrong, I don't think it's him, I think it's Chelsea's system. The total number of goals by the top strikers in EPL are:

8 Goals

Didier Drogba, Chelsea

Kevin Doyle, Reading

Nwankwo Kanu, Portsmouth

7 Goals

Louis Saha, Man Utd

Wayne Rooney, Man Utd

6 Goals

Gareth Barry, Villa

Thierry Henry, Arsenal

Darren Bent, Charlton

Andrew Johnson, Everton

Dirk Kuyt, Liverpool

5 Goals

Benedict McCarthy, Blackburn

Cristiano Ronaldo, Man Utd

Robin Van Persie,Arsenal

Henri Camara, Wigan

Tim Cahill, Everton

Frank Lampard, Chelsea

Bobby Zamora, West Ham

4 Goals

Juan Pablo Angel, Aston Villa

Gilberto Silva, Arsenal

Joey Barton, Man City

Brian McBride, Fulham

Rob Hulse, Sheff Utd

El-Hadji Diouf, Bolton

Aiyegbeni Yakubu, Middlesbrough

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, Man Utd

OK! ...but, I did not mean my table to be used to justify my position.

My thoughts ran on how the player looked as he played. ...as I said, he looked to me like he is settling in.

...and now I add, the goals will come.

btw - If we remove the midfielders from your scoring chart, which strikers beside Rooney, Saha, Henry and Drogbaare doing well and scoring goals?

Unuh well want to see Sheva leave Chelsea eeh? Some people jus' bad mine, grudgful and envious bwoy!

Unuh can gwaan hope him leave as he is not going anywhere.
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

The time away is obvious...you are wasting time with Karl, he is the 'eternal optimist' and always living in some fantasy land...he thinks the Reggae Boyz can win the FIFA WC as long as Burrell is put back in the big chair and our Reggae Girlz can rank in the top five as long as the JFF send them to trips in Europe- yet he has no idea how they would fund such a trip or any of that kind of details.

Karl sounds like the (football) uneducated man on the street side or bar chatting football after watching the World Cup finals.

Bwoy Sickko, you wicked to the youth rasta. I don't know what he sees, but he sees it

Dont worry I have told him it to his face--many many times