Tappa on our non existent youth program.

• Tappa on our non existent youth program.

Schoolboys invited to Reggae Boyz training

Published: Saturday | January 9, 2010

Ryon Jones, Gleaner Writer

From left: Wolmer's Waugh, St James' Ottey and St George's Morgan

When Jamaica's training squad for the upcoming friendly against on January 31 convenes, it will comprise five of the youngsters who participated in the recently concluded schoolboy football season.

The five are St James High's Ricardo Morris and Allan Ottey, Manchester High's Romaine Bowie, St George's College midfielder Marvin Morgan, and Christopher Waugh of Wolmer's High.

National Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore, says this is all part of the rebuilding process.

"We are rebuilding for the 2014 (World Cup) and these players, along with a lot more, will be rotated in the three camps that will be held leading up the game (international friendly against Canada)," Whitmore said.

"What you find (is that) after the players finish playing daCosta Cup and Manning Cup most of them stop, so you want to assure them that we still consider them to be part of the programme. "We have an under-23 tournament coming up soon, so we just want to bring them in so they can get a feeling of the programme and, hopefully, they come and show that they want to be part of it and bring something to the table you never know, one or two of them might be included in the game coming up on the 31st," he added.

Whitmore believes the youngsters selected were outstanding in the schoolboy season and the Jamaica Football Federation wants them to know that their performance has not gone unnoticed.

He added: "We want to really reward them and, hopefully, they can come and reward us as well. It is a long-term thing and they are young and doing well at the schoolboy level so we just want the transformation.

"We are using these training to get in some games where they can gel and they can understand what the national programme is all about. The schoolboy football competition and the national programme are two different things, so you have to make them get accustomed. If they come and they work their way to the top, you can't knock them for that; you have to give them their chance."

overseas-based players

The six overseas-based players who are currently in the island will also be part of the camp. These players are Shavar Thomas, Omar Cummings, Luton Shelton, Rafe Wolfe, Jason Morrison and Demar Stewart. The camp will run from the January 11-15 before breaking for the weekend. It resumes between January 18-21, before reconvening in the run-up to the game.
    Last edited by Karl; January 9, 2010, 09:26 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

wi still can't get it right. why is deshorn brown of steths not in the squad? this country lacks goalscorers. when you come across a pure goalscorer like deshorn, you encourage him. wi have midfielders up the ying yang, yet di whole a dem put together not as good as Maestro.

sigh

I think the current more mature and with greater experience and game awareness Maestro should get a chance at a professional contract. It would then be up to him to work at keeping that employment going for the next 5+ years to put aside something for his later years.

I am sure he realises now that the higher levels play does not allow him the time on the ball the slow moving NPL (our DPL) allows. He has the goods...the creative juices and kicking & passing technique that when added to his new awareness of what the higher level demands in quickness in spraying the ball around (not sitting on the ball as in his younger days and thus losing it often) he would make an excellent addition to even excellent teams...and at a reasonable transfer fee/price.

how good is the kid from the St.Catherine school? I think Bridgeport.

Slow real estate day, huh?

Yuh use to size up players after one sighting, but you've gone one better. Yuh nuh need fi see dem at all now! When last you see Maestro play to determine he is now mature and more game aware?

No one in the NPL has, over the last 10 years, been as closely marked by some of the fastest and bestest man-markers, sometimes two or three at a time. Yet, year after year, he continues to outshine them all. He wouldn't be Maestro if he was, as you have ignorantly said, losing the ball often.

Karl, for all you know, Maestro is playing the same way as he did 5 years ago. But, as is your custom, you have covered all the bases.

Oh, you don't have a problem with his defensive skills? Or has he also, from experience or some new diet and fitness regimen, improved on that as well?

sigh!

saw Bridgeport once, early in the season. no one stood out, but they had a nice team.

Slow real estate day, huh?

Yuh use to size up players after one sighting, but you've gone one better. Yuh nuh need fi see dem at all now! When last you see Maestro play to determine he is now mature and more game aware?

No one in the NPL has, over the last 10 years, been as closely marked by some of the fastest and bestest man-markers, sometimes two or three at a time. Yet, year after year, he continues to outshine them all. He wouldn't be Maestro if he was, as you have ignorantly said, losing the ball often.

Karl, for all you know, Maestro is playing the same way as he did 5 years ago. But, as is your custom, you have covered all the bases.

Oh, you don't have a problem with his defensive skills? Or has he also, from experience or some new diet and fitness regimen, improved on that as well?

sigh!
              The DPL fastest...often move faaaaaaaaaaaaaaar slower at starting that closing down action than teams at a higher level.

I am sure they are quick over ground...but what about quick at
              recognising where the ball shall next arrive and thus quick at starting the closing down action?

Mosiah, if you after watching a number of DPL matches in my company and on your own do not recognise that closing down of players is faaaaar slower than what we see in international matches and matches in better leagues...then there is no help for you.

Hue dwells on the ball.

He must have learned something over the years about the difference playing against DPL players and teams outside of the DPL? ...or is it, in your considered opinion he is the same Maestro you used to speak "Sweet Jesus" about on this site years ago and who used to lose the ball too often when playing for Jamaica? ...a dumb-dumb, who has learnt nothing over the years?

No one in the NPL has, over the last 10 years, been as closely marked by some of the fastest and bestest man-markers, sometimes two or three at a time.
                This forum is pure entertainment.

Good move Tappa.

I guess those dfenders from DC united were too slow hence his no show last year. Mo it is what it is. Move on.