The Virtual academy takes shape. Jawge pay attention

• The Virtual academy takes shape. Jawge pay attention

discussion on the other forum and sharing it here as the move forward takes shape. the following is from a poster named Jamaicancanadian
    -----------------------------------------------------------------

The following is shared for discussion purposes. IMHO these details need to be taken into account when developing a "youth development" approach/strategy for any club or academy!

RESPECT!
    __________________________________________________ _______

http://www.gasoccer.org/playerdevelopmentvid.aspx

This is a 30 minute video that compares player development in Georgia to that in Brazil and draws important Lessons for coaches and parents.

http://www.gasoccer.org/playerdevelopmentvid2.aspx

8v8 or 11v11 for U12s - Which one is better for player Development?

Watch this video, prepared by our Director of Coaching Jacob Daniel. In this 20 minute video, a comparison is made between 8v8 and 11v11. The conclusion is that 8v8 is better for U-12 players development. The video explains why

yes Ras bless fi dis video hear a lot of truth in it. Mi respek concrete fi yuh now

On youth development: It depends on what you want to achieve. If tactical 11v 11 or 8v8. technical less players. Boss when mi come si my side dem neva even know how fi position. when di ball go to one side of the field everybody run gone ova deh. Guess whey mi use? Pav style? yes ah Pav mi learn fi play gainst man like tica, bly an jump dem. They call it futsol in Ja we call it scrimage. I break the team up into small groups with a whistle and stop watch around my neck. After a staedy diet of watching Brasil plus hard training in footsol/scrimmage. I won my first tournament. One parent commented that coach Jawge taught them how to pass (Boss passing is very importatnt for me) Even when they reached sixteen I still put footsol in the training but shooting is done on the Fifa sized goal. Learn a lot from playing state cups though .

You can tell footsol players by their touch on the ball. Can't forget a summer in college; we were playing and the ball got punctured. I took up the ball and went to the coach (who was Brasilian)and told him i needed another ball, he laughed and said I should do like what I would do on the streets in Ja, make a ball and play. I was puzzled at the time saying how the hell he knew I played street ball. I found out since I began to coach.

Might go out there and coach again. I want my team from scratch though (9,10 age group)

Thanks for the link to those very interesting videos.

The difference in IMHO with us (JA) and Brazil is that while we encourage and admire the individual skill and creativity of the beautiful game, something does get lost in transition to the bigger field and 11 v 11 game.

nothing of the sort, it's just not encouraged. Look at the Knibb vs mannings game above. The play is scrappy. Why? The players tend to boot the ball up when pressure is applied, yet close inspection will show that some have a nice first touch and one and one ability.

If a coah doesn't stress this in his training sessions you arenot going to seeing it. This in turn goes all the way up to the national level. what I would do is have my goalie throw out the balll to my wingbacks and cntral mDs and put two or more to pressure. (at times they would ask to take off some of the pressure until they are more comfortable) The art of timing with the ball has to be taught. I did this by showing games (Brasil ofcourse) and using the stop watch in conjuction with slow mo. Had a new player that would pass as soon as pressure was near after a session of timing; look like a general in the next match. I would watch my players at times and take note of their technical weaknesses then each player would have sessions according to their weakness (at times players have simialr weaknesess) then we go to train as a team, then we move to futsol (which is the last of the training session; they look forward to this if we are indoors as music and ll is played while we ball, some teasing and trashing is involved here. Hey you know me

In the dcup game above the players are guessing by booting the ball into empty space. The teams seem unable to hold shape. Passing is limited because players do not attack without the ball. Overall a substandard game.

Interesting take on an old argument. What is interesting here is that the kids are playing 7v7 or 8v8 up to that point so he is really arguing that one more year of small sided game is best as no one is saying 11v11 is appropriate before 12. I have witness this argument and have been in some heated debate regarding this. The question really is do you see better development from an extra year of small sided game play considering that your possession games and other factors are small sided in nature anyways. What strikes me as extremely interesting and very American in focus was his emphasis on pressure and how it relates or transcend in technical proficiency and tactical awareness. Having viewing the NCAA game and how pressurize those games are with very little soccer or technique I think his paradigm although well intentioned is flawed. You can develop speed of play without pressure! the 8v8 or 7v7 is the right way to go but it is not because of pressure but for other reason some which he mentioned: size of the field, frequency of goal scoring chance. compactness of the require skill to strike the ball less distance and so on. Pressure on the ball is good but not the only reason why the small sided game is better. Coincidentally I have the same age group now and they are playing 11v11 at 12 and there is constant pressure on the ball for the most part. What we dont get is the frequency in 1v1 duels , crossing , goal scoring opportunity so I do agree with him but I would not start as pressure as the fulcrum in which I compare. Good article and nice posting. Also I must say the play is quite good for 12 year olds..

I'm coming late to this party but I will just add my view now. I coach a U13 team that played 11 v 11 for the first time last season. After playing confidently and virtually never losing a game the season before at 8 v 8, our team just did not adjust well to 11 v 11. There were mitigating reasons such as my team only had 11 players available for most of our games this past season. We also only played the equivalent of 2 1/2 11 v 11 games before the season started. As a consequence, we looked like a team that had forgotten how to play the game of soccer going from the 8v8 season to the 11v11 season.

I agree that the kids up to the U12 level are better suited to play 8v8. What they learn technically before going to 11 v 11 is invaluable. Also, as the video pointed out, the physical demands of the bigger field really really shows up those kids who learned to play over those who used just strength and speed at the 8v8 level.

Originally posted by Matter View Post
              I'm coming late to this party but I will just add my view now. I coach a U13 team that played 11 v 11 for the first time last season. After playing confidently and virtually never losing a game the season before at 8 v 8, our team just did not adjust well to 11 v 11. There were mitigating reasons such as my team only had 11 players available for most of our games this past season. We also only played the equivalent of 2 1/2 11 v 11 games before the season started. As a consequence, we looked like a team that had forgotten how to play the game of soccer going from the 8v8 season to the 11v11 season.

I agree that the kids up to the U12 level are better suited to play 8v8. What they learn technically before going to 11 v 11 is invaluable. Also, as the video pointed out, the physical demands of the bigger field really really shows up those kids who learned to play over those who used just strength and speed at the 8v8 level.
              Re: bigger field

When the kids are introduced to the larger field somehow the coach has got to have them play as close to each other as they did when playing on the smaller field and gradually 'stretch' his TEAM.

Too many coaches miss seeing the need to gradually introduce the kids to the larger field and what it does to these young ones as it relates to 'keeping shape' and physical demands.

The kids just have to get acclimatised to the demands of the larger field as they work on retaining the TEAM concepts they grasped at the lower level.

Karl you do make a good point. I did not have a problem and dont really see the problem. Yes smaill sided is better but you have to move to 11 v 11 you have to know how to do it and what the limitation are. For example you may not have a box to box midfielder immediately so you have to compromise. For example we played with a 4-4 2 with one holdig mid.. on some occassion we had to switch to a 4-3-3 with 2 holding mids and one attacking under the striker so create less physical running for less physical players. We could have use 2 holding in the 4-4-2 but that would proably stiffle the creativity at that age so we had to work with the players at the right age and find the right system... There are also some systems you can use in the smaill sided games that maps to the big game that will give you less transition when you are ready.

Karl it's not a problem if you have them playing matches and tournaments (yes tournaments is the key) in 11v 11. To build up the playes' technical ability small sided games must be used. I started out as an assistant coach. I heard the coach shouting to the players saying that they should control the ball. I said " did you show them?" I literally showed them how to control and catch the ball dead out of the air with my instep. I also brought in my young cousins (balla dem) so that they can see and play against players with individual skills and control in tight spaces.

When we practice 11 v11 I'm in the middle of the pitch with the whistle stopping the game , giving instructions and pointing out mistakes.

the transition is easy if you travel and play tournaments. If you sit practice and wait for match day; problems.

First and foremost happy new year to the man dem and more prosperity for the year ahead.

Thanks to OJ, Matter, Jawge, Peter R and Karl for adding to the discussion.

My question after reading all the responses( and I am trying not to get ahead of myself like I do at times) Is this
                    Given our current youth football situation in Jamaica and noticing how many of us are coaches and volunteers at the youth level.

Can that set up be transfered on a smaller scale to Jamaica to get things started? In other words can we set up a system where our interested coaches working with youngsters can have access to our knowledge and expertise(visually) along with mentally stimulating discussions(in fact Karl would say that we already have that in this site and all that would be needed would be to upload instructional videos) of our onsite coaches working with the youths.

Sometimes thats all it needs to get things started.

Before mi leave let me share something with the I dem
                    Today mi inna trader joe's a local healthy type food store(or so dem claim) and looking at dem potato and other chips made from rice etc. and it hit me.

The father send mi a vision of journalists, paparazzi, and helicopters chasing after Bolt who is running away from them and all the while they are asking "what's his secret" then the camera pans in close to Bolt and while he is running he is snacking on a yellow yam chips which he holds up and points "to di wurl!!! (hey so mi get it so mi pass it on, I am but a messenger)

The father a show mi say the man dem who work with youths have dem blessings a come and so mi fi show dem say the next level is the rising economies of places like Brazil and India and target the youth teams(start from the bottom) because as Jawge would say we have to work with who show willingness to work with us and Brazil has more than once showed that they are willing to work with us.

Now mi have brethrins who a go Brazil go play sound so why can't we target 2 to 3 years from now playing a local small club with say Seba and some entertainers? while inviting that club's youth team to come and play us in Ja along with teams from the USA, Europe etc. There is money to be made in the second tier and if you think a lie pay close attention to the BCS Bowl Series.

You think a little bit of Money Pasadena mek off the Rose Parade, Rose Bowl and now the BCS championship game? Why run down the Super Bowl when you can have a mini super bowl every year?

Pasadena christmas still no done yet and mi want the man dem medi pon this say the future is Healthy eating, youth sports, the internet and social networks(for advertising) and of course music. Mi know bout the crime situation but if you look pon even solving that it all comes down to getting our youths engaged in positive activities from young and grooming their minds and character.

Mi still under the gun so later on mi post some more links but again happy new year and mi deh yah a learn bout the non profit world day by day as mi look forward to launching this thing dah year yah.

You would think doing the creators work would be a bed of roses but memba mi tell you say nothing no gangsta like dah non profit/church business. If you blink dem share up you food so you have fi stay focused pon you studying and lessons.

Just memba wah mi tell unnu say. All we need now to do good is to show what we are doing and be set up to accept help from people who support the work we are doing. They are still a lot of positive spirits out there and we can have our own United Way for what we are doing for Jamaica

deh yah
                    respect

Well it is interesting. But much of that is done naturally in Jamaica. We play small sided games which we call scrimmage all day.. Funny enough we always see some good scrimmage balla who cant play 11v11. because they develop bad habits or lack some of the physical characteristics or discipline for the bigger game. ..

I think Ras is saying that we can have some mini tourney which will have huge payoffs just as how the Rose bowl, cotton bowl, et al is small in comparison to the Super bowl but has huge dividends.

Concerning scrimagge ballas (or futsol players) I think JA has yet to understand the importancce of the skill it gives to players and I'm talking about coaches.Tegat was on the concrete stretch behind the church next to the Dome and concrete interior at J. park. Ronaldo (R9 of Brasil) was king of indoors, so was Robinho, Romario et al. I think the difference with Brasil is that they understand the potential of futsol and utilize it whithin their game philosophy.

BTW you can tell a street balla different from the rest of players in any game (by their touches and dribbles).