• Mr. President what do you think?

Should we get him?

Matthew Upson unsure over West Ham future as England defender admits he may be sold

By Sportsmail Reporter
    Last updated at 11:22 AM on 21st December 2009
    Matthew Upson has admitted for the first time that his future may lie away from Upton Park when the transfer window re-opens for business in January with the England defender unsure whether he will be at West Ham by February.
    With the cash-strapped Barclays Premier League strugglers told to raise funds before making any acquisitions in the new year, the £10million-rated Hammers captain has emerged as a primary target for a host of clubs - including Spurs and Manchester City.
    When probed if he will stay with the embattled east London outfit until the end of the season, Upson conceded: 'It's a difficult question because there are so many things out of my control and things that may happen'

Heading off: England defender Matthew Upson admits his West Ham future is out of his control

West Ham boss Gianfranco Zola is desperate to ward off interest for his skipper, particularly having been forced to sell Upson's former defensive partner James Collins to Aston Villa for £5m earlier this season.

More...

And with the Hammers battling for the tiop flight survival, the Italian does not want to deplete his already threadbare squad further.

Although the former Chelsea man is well aware that he will also face a fight to hang onto goalkeeper Robert Green and influential midfielder Scott Parker, as well as Upson next month.
    However, Upson, who returned to the West Ham starting XI following a recent spell on the sidelines, insists he is determined to do his best to halt the Hammers slide and is keen to keep the club up.
    Waiting game: Zola is braced for a number of bids

'All I can focus on is the next game, getting myself right and being in the best form I can to pick up points for West Ham,' he told the London Evening Standard.
    Having held league leaders Chelsea to a 1-1 draw at Upton Park on Sunday, Upson is determined to take all three points from their forthcoming crucial Boxing Day visit of fellow basement boys Portsmouth.
    He added: 'As players we can't focus on results, we need to worry about performances. If we do and have no fear, not thinking about winning or losing, the result will take of itself.
    'We have to work on that consistency. We need that spirit and that attitude and if we have that it will carry us a long way.
    'Against Chelsea we came out with a good attitude, a resiliant game plan and applied it. But it can't stop here.

'We have to have that attitude every game. If we achieve that, we'll pick up some points.'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1237474/Matthew-Upson-unsure-West-Ham-future-England-defender-admits-sold.html#ixzz0aL1AgFP0
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Jangle, with the way things stay, I would sign even Mosiah fi play defense at this point. The problem with Upson is how would his world cup spot be affected if all the defenders return.

How is it affected if West Ham get relegated?

I have been saying that we needed to buy some defenders for 3 seasons now. It has now come back to bite us. We definitely need to go into the market this January for a defender and a big striker.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

How much defender you can stock pile?

You have about 5 or 6 hurt. Johny Evans and West Brown finally got their chance and they are not around to take advantage. How many other teams have 4 good center backs?

Lazy can finally admit. Berbertov not living up to expectation.

I have been saying that we needed to buy some defenders for 3 seasons now. It has now come back to bite us. We definitely need to go into the market this January for a defender and a big striker.
            No bredren ... What yuh gonna do with another defender? The problem is that all excepting Evra is injuried.

Here's how I see it. Ferdinand has another year at most playing at the very top level; Vidic is currently serving two masters as his wife wants to move to warmer climes. I think that his game has dropped a notch since being burned by Torres (but that's an easy fix once he's commited to the Empire); I never like Wes Brown in the middle of our defense, I prefer Johnnie Evans any day; Neville is there as cover to give the starters a rest. So I think we need two or at the very least one established central defender. Someone who is in his late 20's - early 30's. Not Sol Campbell. We can continue to work with the twins, they will develop. Our midfield is too heavy. We need to sort out the Nani issue. Tosic was a waste of a buy. Paul Scholes and Anderson should never be on the field at the same time. The Chiney man does not add anything to our attack, but I love his work rate. Gibson should be given more runs in the team, he looks solid. We need to sell Berbatov to Arsenal. That's the team that fits his style. We need a big point striker. We need to go back for Benzema and give him a big box cross him face. He just doesn't realize that his future is with the Empire and he is trying to change his fate.

You 2 stop talking about buy defenders fi stockpile.unuh no see say the purse string tighten,time fi start pay off some of the debt before it hang unuh!!!

Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has ruled out the prospect of buying his way out of an injury crisis.
                  The Red Devils have seen their defensive options decimated over recent weeks, with a number of players asked to play out of position in order to plug the gaps.
                  The likes of Darren Fletcher and Michael Carrick have fared admirably in unfamiliar roles, but they are midfielders by trade and cannot be expected to provide long-term cover.
                  That is a situation causing some concern for Ferguson, who is still without the services of Rio Ferdinand, Nemanja Vidic, Wes Brown, Jonny Evans, John O'Shea, Gary Neville and Rafael Da Silva.
                  With no sign of the injury nightmare abating, there had been rumours that United would look to bring in fresh faces during the January transfer window.
                  Improving

England international Sol Campbell, who is currently available as a free agent, was among those to be touted, but Ferguson is adamant that his side can paper over the cracks until their injured stars are ready to return to action.
                  "That has not come onto the agenda," he told Key 103 when asked about the possibility of utilising the winter window to aid his cause.
                  "We hope that Wes Brown will be back in a week or 10 days' time, Rio Ferdinand is improving, Gary Neville is getting there and Rafael Da Silva has now started training.
                  "We are not so bad and we are not looking at signing players."

The Empire needs to enter this race. We can offer $12m for him and pair him with Vidic.

Real Madrid circle £9m Chelsea utility man Branislav Ivonovic - but Blues don't want to sell star

By Sportsmail Reporter
                    Last updated at 12:36 PM on 22nd December 2009
                    Chelsea could face a tough fight to hold onto Branislav Ivanovic with Real Madrid circling Stamford Bridge to snap up the highly-rated Serbia utility man.
                    The defender, who signed for the Blues from Lokomotiv Moscow in January 2008, has emerged as one of Real's top transfer target's when the window re-opens as they search to replace long-term absentee Pepe.
                    Real deal: Madrid are keen on Branislav Ivanovic

The Portugual defender looks set to miss the remainder of the season after damaging his cruciate ligaments and Madrid have identified Ivanovic as a direct replacement, according to Spanish sports daily Marca which has close links to the La Liga giants.

However, Carlo Ancelotti is not willingly to let his first-choice right-back to leave and Russian owner Roman Abramovich is said to reluctant to part with the player he signed for the best part of £9million.

The Spanish giants are keen to tigthen up their defence, which has leaked 24 goals in 23 games so far this season, and have been impressed with the Serb's versatility.
                    But Ivanovic, who has featured 20 times this term, has another 18 months left to run on his Stamford Bridge contract and Chelsea would not be looking to cash in on the 25-year-old until after the World Cup, providing he fails to agree an extended new deal.
                    Real Madrid, who spent £225m on new recruits last summer - including a world record £80m fee for Cristiano Ronaldo, have also been widely linked with a move for Inter Milan star Maicon and Manchester United defender Jonny Evans next month.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1237751/Real-Madrid-circle-9m-Chelsea-utility-man-Branislav-Ivonovic--Blues-dont-want-sell-Serbia-star.html#ixzz0aQQJzCNL

Chelsea would rather sell him to Real Madrid. Forget it.