This topic is closed.

Donovan's Everton gamble paying off

Landon Donovan made what could be considered one of the biggest gambles of his career earlier this winter, and it is paying off in a way few could have imagined.

Donovan’s big gamble wasn’t going to Everton on loan in order to take a fourth run at European soccer.

It wasn’t agreeing to a short-term loan move that would include matches against a murderer’s row of top English clubs.

(continue)

Donovan Lands Award

Landon Donovan has been named Everton's Player of the Month for January.

The on-loan midfielder was presented with his award by Blues legend, Graeme Sharp and Kitbag representative, Victoria Schofield at a lunch in Goodison's Dixie Dean Lounge on Thursday.

The 28-year-old received the accolade due to some fine performances since his arrival from MLS side LA Galaxy at the turn of the year.

(continue)

You just bad mind. Show me a current Jamaican player to play the same position with an international record as Donovan? I think he will do well.
        The guy is a good player...period.

Why yuh waan diss Jamaican juss fi praise di yute?

That's plain ridiculous.
        Last edited by Don1; February 19, 2010, 09:52 AM.

Best winter signing of the EPL season so far. Big congrats to him. - T.K.

Everton 3-1 Man Utd

Donovan Battled Illness, ManU

In the aftermath of a famous 3-1 win over holders Manchester United, Everton manager David Moyes revealed that U.S. star Landon Donovan played after a morning flu scare.

"I told him most of the players in England play with flu four or five times a year," said Moyes. "If you are from Los Angeles you probably don't know what flu is!"

(continue)

I hope Zeppo doesn't see this.

I have always admired(with a few exceptions) Landon Donovan. I think he is a very good player, and...and...I hate to say it, but I am happy for his success!

Okay, I said it and mi gone!

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                  Donovan Battled Illness, ManU

In the aftermath of a famous 3-1 win over holders Manchester United, Everton manager David Moyes revealed that U.S. star Landon Donovan played after a morning flu scare.

"I told him most of the players in England play with flu four or five times a year," said Moyes. "If you are from Los Angeles you probably don't know what flu is!"

(continue)
                  A morning flu scare?? Ah wha dat?? Something akin to mawnin sickness??

How heroic! He has put Sir Galahad to shame with such an act of bravery & intestinal fortitude.

Galaxy want Donovan back in March

Everton manager David Moyes's hopes of extending Landon Donovan's loan spell at Goodison Park appear to have been dashed by LA Galaxy coach Bruce Arena.

Moyes had hoped to keep Donovan beyond the end of his loan, saying: "I am keen to keep Landon and it sounds initially in America that they might say yes."

But Arena said: "We're not interested. Landon will be back here on 15 March, as we have said all along."

(continue)

Everton attacker Landon Donovan has revealed to Sky Sports that there is a 'chance' his loan deal from Los Angeles Galaxy may be extended until the end of the Premier League season.
                      The American has settled into Premier League life seamlessly and capped possibly his last Goodison Park appearance in Everton blue with a goal in Sunday's 5-1 thrashing of Hull City.
                      Donovan joined the Merseyside club in January on agreement that he would return to Los Angeles in time for the Major League Soccer season later this month.
                      But, in a post-match interview with Sky Sports after Sunday's victory over Hull, the 28-year-old revealed there is a small chance he may stay on in England a little longer.
                      "First of all, winning was important and it's nice to get a goal," Donovan said.
                      Terrific

"There is a chance (of staying). We will know more this week. If that was it then I'm happy. Maybe we can stay a little longer, we'll see.
                      "The fans, the people here are fantastic, the players are fantastic. I've enjoyed it here tremendously."
                      Everton manager David Moyes admitted after the game that he will do all he can to keep the American at Goodison Park.
                      "I said to him 'go on and finish with a goal'. I thought he finished it great. The effort he has put in for us over the past two months has been terrific," Moyes said.
                      "I hope it's not his last game (at home). He's certainly good for the game next week against Birmingham.
                      "I might try and see if I can extend it a little bit longer but, at the moment, the word from America is that it won't be possible and we respect that decision."

Donovan a pull a Beckham? All Everton have to do is come with bigger cash and MLS will go for it.

Will the Galaxy fans give him the same treatment they gave to Becks?

of course not. They won't even see the hypocracy. Just like Zeppo

Probably not, since he was not accussed by teammates of being uncommitted, not attending optional training, being a captain who deosn't show his face and has not said anything negative about the standard of play in MLS.

Donovan with goal and assist as Everton hammer Hull

Mikel Arteta’s double, his first Premier League goals for more than a year, fired Everton to an emphatic 5-1 victory over relegation-threatened Hull at Goodison Park.

Spanish midfielder Arteta, who has only just battled back from a long-term knee injury, claimed his first with a scorching volley before teenage Hull midfielder Tom Cairney equalised in style.

Everton striker Yakubu missed a first-half penalty but Arteta’s second, a Richard Garcia own goal and further strikes from Landon Donovan and Jack Rodwell ensured a comfortable three points for David Moyes’ side.

(continue)