This topic is closed.

• Landon Donovan coming to the EPL

Everton have confirmed that they have finally completed the loan signing of Landon Donovan ahead of the January transfer window.
    The LA Galaxy forward, who agreed a new long-term contract with his parent club on Wednesday, will now join the Premier League side in the New Year and will stay at Goodison Park until mid-March.
    Everton had been chasing USA captain Donovan, who is keen to maintain match fitness in the MLS close-season ahead of the World Cup, for the past month.
    But a number of other clubs across Europe had shown an interest in the 27-year-old and he was taking time to make his decision, despite holding talks with Everton.
    Toffees boss David Moyes is therefore pleased to have got his man, saying: "Landon Donovan will join Everton. It is all agreed and done now and hopefully he will be with us on January 1 or 2.
    Experience

"Hopefully he is the first of two or three we want to bring in in January.
    "We need to strengthen our squad to make sure we are not in a situation like we have at the moment with so many injuries.
    "Landon will certainly add pace, he is a good finisher.
    "He was voted best player, yet again, in the American league and is captain of the USA national team.
    "I need players who can hit the ground running, who I think can go into the team quite quickly and make an impact.
    "With his experience and the goals he has scored, I am hoping he will be able to do that."

Good signing for both club and player!
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

yep. Perfect match for Everton. Donovan will have space playing the attacking mid where he is best and two good strikers playing upfront.

Long time he should have made a move like this. Everton is a perfect fit.

I wish Jamaica had a goal scorer of Donovan's caliber.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

A flop, waste of space.Sorry i dont see where he fits in.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

He can play in the EPL! He should do well. ...and he may not come back to the USA.

After all is said USD17,300.00 per week cannot compare to what I think he will command...at least British Pounds 40,000.00 per week.

You just bad mind. Show me a current Jamaican player to play the same position with an international record as Donovan? I think he will do well.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

USA international Landon Donovan has been granted a work permit to finalise his move to Everton from Los Angeles Galaxy.
                Everton confirmed last week that the versatile attacker had agreed terms to move to Goodison Park in January on a loan deal until mid-March.
                Donovan, who recently signed a new long-term contract with Galaxy, had been interesting several clubs, but opted for a switch to the Toffees.
                He has now been given the necessary clearance to start his spell with the Premier League club on 2nd January as he looks to maintain his fitness ahead of the World Cup finals.
                Toffees boss David Moyes revealed his hope that Donovan would be the first of two or three new arrivals in the New Year as he looks to boost his injury-hit squad.
                a.top_betting_link_1 {background-image: url('/Images/skysports/fixturecal/icons/fix-bet.gif');background-repeat:no-repeat;background-position:0% 50%;padding-left:18px;}

NEW loan signing Landon Donovan is looking forward to the short-term challenge facing him at Everton.

The USA striker will spend the next 10 weeks at Goodison Park while Major League Soccer is still in its close season, having agreed a similar deal to the one which has taken LA Galaxy team-mate David Beckham to AC Milan.
                  Donovan does have previous, albeit brief, experience of European football.
                  He made seven appearances for Bayer Leverkusen as a teenager before returning to America, but went back to Germany for another loan spell with Bayern Munich 12 months ago.
                  The 27-year-old is now ready to embrace the task ahead of him at Everton, where compatriot Tim Howard has helped him settle in.
                  He said: "I am ready to enjoy it and I want to personally get myself sharp while I am here.
                  "Tim Howard has had nothing but great things to say about this team so I am excited."
                  Manager David Moyes will hope Donovan can bring another attacking dimension to his team, who have scored 26 goals in 19 matches.
                  With playmaker Mikel Arteta and striker Victor Anichebe still out with long-term knee injuries and Yakubu (Achilles) working his way back to full fitness, a lot of pressure has been put on Louis Saha and midfielder Tim Cahill.
                  Donovan, however, also has one eye on international duty with the USA this summer.
                  He added: "Going into a World Cup year, this experience will keep me sharp."

He can play in the EPL! He should do well. ...and he may not come back to the USA.

After all is said USD17,300.00 per week cannot compare to what I think he will command...at least British Pounds 40,000.00 per week.
                    I am willing to bet against this. The EPL is tuff with hard tackling ( dem nuh ramp fi put lick on ) and the pace is fast. Cant see him coping . He will be exposed.

Everton 2 - 0 Sunderland

Landon Donovan scored his first club goal in Europe as Tim Howard and Everton cruised to home victory over Sunderland.

Marouane Fellaini provided the first cross to set up Tim Cahill for his seventh minute opener. Fellaini's inch perfect cross picked out the Australian striker to give Everton the early lead.

Donovan secured the win with a strong left footed strike that drilled past Craig Gordon after Steven Pieenar flicked on Leighton Baines' long cross, and Donovan did the rest. After chesting down the pass on the edge of the area, Donovan drilled home a left footed shot.

Donovan nearly had two if it hadn't been for George McCartney to clear off the line. Howard was forced into second half saves from Kenwyne Jones, as Everton held onto their earlier lead to claim all three points.

(continue)

Forward Landon Donovan feels at home at Everton

Everton forward Landon Donovan says he feels at home with the Blues after scoring his first goal in the 2-0 victory over Sunderland on Wednesday.

The 27-year-old US international is on a three-month loan from LA Galaxy.

"You kind of get a sense of family and community here that I haven't felt at other European clubs," Donovan told BBC Radio Merseyside.

(continue)

If he isn't staying there for an entire season I don't want to hear it

Donovan gets assist, earns penalty for Everton

Landon Donovan assisted on a goal and earned a penalty kick for Everton, helping the Toffees beat Premier League leader Chelsea 2-1 Wednesday night.

Florent Malouda put Chelsea ahead in the 17th minute at Goodison Park, taking a long header from Didier Drogba after goalkeeper Petr Cech’s long clearance and beating goalkeeper Tim Howard, Donovan’s American teammate.

Louis Saha tied the score in the 33rd minute when he headed Donovan’s cross, which dropped over Frank Lampard, past goalkeeper Petr Cech.

(continue)

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                              Donovan gets assist, earns penalty for Everton

Landon Donovan assisted on a goal and earned a penalty kick for Everton, helping the Toffees beat Premier League leader Chelsea 2-1 Wednesday night.

Florent Malouda put Chelsea ahead in the 17th minute at Goodison Park, taking a long header from Didier Drogba after goalkeeper Petr Cech’s long clearance and beating goalkeeper Tim Howard, Donovan’s American teammate.

Louis Saha tied the score in the 33rd minute when he headed Donovan’s cross, which dropped over Frank Lampard, past goalkeeper Petr Cech.

(continue)
                              Everton v Chelsea ratings

Published: 10 Feb 2010

Add a comment (4)

Everton

Tim Howard 7
                              Leighton Baines 7
                              Johnny Heitinga 7
                              Sylvain Distin 7
                              Phil Neville 7
                              Diniyar Bilyaletdinov 6 (Gosling 5)
                              Landon Donovan 8 - STAR MAN
                              Mikel Arteta 8 (Rodwell 6)
                              Tim Cahill 7
                              Leon Osman 7
                              Louis Saha 8 (Senderos 5)

Subs not used: Nash, Vaughan, Yakubu, Coleman.

Booked: Donovan.

Chelsea

Petr Cech 7
                              Branislav Ivanovic 7
                              Ashley Cole 6 (Ballack 6)
                              Ricardo Carvalho 6
                              John Terry 6
                              Frank Lampard 7
                              John Obi Mikel 6 (Sturridge 6)
                              Florent Malouda 7
                              Yuri Zhirkov 7
                              Didier Drogba 7
                              Nicolas Anelka 6 (Kalou 6)

Subs not used: Hilario, Ferreira, Matic, Bruma.
                              Booked: Mikel, Malouda.