Which idiot would compare a high school team from jamaica to an American national team?
Since no one wants to say it let me do
Oh did I mention ball watching? this is very important has to be drilled in players don't ball watch! It was drilled in my team to the point when they talk about ball or even watch video; "oh coach he's ball watching".
Prof. Simoes cited that the above came about because of our cricket culture.
Originally posted by Jawge View Postso: The quality of football that I saw from the clippings in Dcup and Manning cup was poor. (save for that shot by the georges player outside the box) Poor defensive plays, poor goalkeeping, poor all round. Small wonder our forwards can't score on quality opponents because they play against poor defenders. No wonder we did not qualify.
I can tell you this the USA U17 (which I don't even rate) would beat any of these schoolboy champs. I wouldn't put Brasil in the equation as the local expertise would say "oh that's Brasil, they are born to play that way". I would urge the JFF to bring the U17 to Ja to send the point home that Ja needs an academy set up for football and not embeded in high schools. I suggest they bring portugal or any of those youth teams that particiapted in the nike tour (Ja could not enter as Ja is not sponsered by nike, I guess) to play the school champs in JA.
What is the point of an academy if the youth are going to be marred?
We do not want our talent destroyed. We want our talent developed!
We need good teachers...from Negril Point to Morant Point...from the hills of the Blue Mountains to the plains of Vere! ...from Success, Hanover to Mocho, Clarendon! We need good teachers!
Talent abounds!Last edited by Karl; December 13, 2009, 02:38 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Karl the point is simple: set up a football academy in JA. This means an institution that specializes soley in football to compete on the world stage. High school is for academics Karl it's not structured for sports; hence hampering the development of a majority of Ja's players.
U17: where does the US draw their players from? Ans. various football academies. Where does Brasil draw their players from? various youth teams in established clubs (these clubs have their own academies).
Where does Ja draw their players from? High schools (Dcup/Manning cup).
Do you now see where the gulf lies Karl?
Originally posted by Sickko View PostWhich idiot would compare a high school team from jamaica to an American national team?TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Jawge View PostKarl the point is simple: set up a football academy in JA. This means an institution that specializes soley in football to compete on the world stage. High school is for academics Karl it's not structured for sports; hence hampering the development of a majority of Ja's players.
U17: where does the US draw their players from? Ans. various football academies. Where does Brasil draw their players from? various youth teams in established clubs (these clubs have their own academies).
Where does Ja draw their players from? High schools (Dcup/Manning cup).
Do you now see where the gulf lies Karl?
Most are like our high schools...doing more 'buying' than our high schools...except the teachers have a better understanding of the subject matter - football - and thus can teach the subject - football!
...and most of the national academies produce just a little more than zilch. Why do you think the USA raced to #10 or thereabouts on the FIFA Ranking lists?
The administrators of the US national academy raced around 'buying' what they perceive as best talent. ...and they have the boys play 'a 1000 games' against the World's best teams each year.
The problem is the administrators who 'run' the US academy would not 'see' best talent if it jumped all over them. These administrators have no idea of 'good player'...so ignore the US 'best talent'. Sure the players the chose will learn something being on the field 1000 times per year with good players from other countries.
...so the US races to FIFA #10 on regimental orders...and remain stuck!
btw - Look for the team USA to become unstuck in a terrible way in the 2010 World Cup.
Brazil?
How many of the young talent they throw up that make into the national team come out of the academies?
From the stories told it would appear the raw talent is spotted playing on the beach or in some shanty town or deep rural 'back of beyond'...and then brought into established teams affiliated to clubs or the FA.
Have you ever thought about the size of Brazil, the number of academies and the paltry few that come through from those millions of youth players?
Where are the academies that year after year that throw up super Brazilian players?
Yuh hask mi - A wanda iffen im mad? ...but what you are proposing will never get us the national teams we crave...if the talent is not first taught by good teachers...'spread' all across the island...
YEEEEEEEEESSSSSSS! ...in our schools! ...where the vast numbers of our great talent is to be found!!!!
...just imagine if Merlene Ottey never gort the chance to attend Rusea's and Vere Tech?
No Merlene!
Just imagine if Tappa never had the chance to go to Herbert Morrison? No Tappa!
Where will your 1 deggeh-deggeh academy find the talented?
Let me answer - The schools! Well most of what comes out of our schools is raw talent...stunted! Marred!...as generally speaking, those schools have "NO GOOD TEACHERS"!
Trus mi Jawge - up the quality of teachers in the schools and the talent that abound...shall produce quality players til yuh ead hat yuh! ...yeaah some will end up at the JFF academy...but many, many others will be bound for professional settings...a farin! ...not to mention the increased quality of play from prep, primary...through secondary high schools...to colleges/universities...to parish and our DPL (NPL)...to our national teams!
Needed! Teachers...GOOD TEACHERS all across the island!
Let me suppen? Our High School T&F (Best Juniors in the WORLD) ...growing into consistently producing World Class athletes, nuh tell yuh sin-ting?
...well wi caaan duh di same ting wid di football!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Jawge View PostDon, if you don't mind: Can you tell me where does Ja draft its pool of U17 players from? Thanks so much.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE