• Republic of Ireland ask for extra 2010 World Cup place

Republic of Ireland ask for extra 2010 World Cup place

Fifa's Sepp Blatter has revealed the Republic of Ireland have requested a spot in the 2010 World Cup finals as an extra team after their play-off defeat.

The Republic lost to an extra-time goal against France when Thierry Henry handled the ball during the build-up.

"I will bring it to the attention of the Executive Committee," said Blatter.

(continue)

This should not even be considered by FIFA. The result is final and should stand. Whilst I think that Ireland were unjustly bumped from the WC, I still think that it's part of the game for the referee to make errors. If this is even considered, then FIFA would be opening up a floodgate which they cannot close. As to the use of technology, I think that too should also be very limited, preferable to determine if a ball crosses the goal line (full stop). I don't want to see the beautiful game turn into an American sport. The use of a stop clock should NEVER reach the table for discussion.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Jamaica and Costa Rica need a spot too? Tek that to executive committe too.

will open a can of worms. But let see how this plays out. In the essence of fair play Fifa could make a statement

they have...no replay!

they need to give it a rest right now. my sympathy towards them is changing into something else.

I disagree with your position regarding technology...reason being that as technology has improved, the mistakes that a ref makes becomes more glaring; it doesn't make sense that millions of people know that Henry committed an infraction and the man whose opinion matters doesn't know.

As is now done in tennis and being experimented on in cricket a limited number of reviews could be requested by the aggrieved team. If the replay is inconclusive the ref's original decision would stand. We can use technology wisely to right certain wrongs. In the TH14 case, a less than five second review would have disallowed the goal.

Again, with respect to the stop watch; I think the clock should be stopped from the 85th minute of any game, once the ball goes out of play. If time added is necessary,the clock should stop in the last two minutes of added time. In extra time of a tied game the clock should also be stopped in the last two minutes.

My times above are not necessarily etched in stone and better heads than mine could come up with more appropriate length of times during which the clock should be stopped; the idea is to prevent the blatant time-wasting that goes on by the team ahead when the 90th minute approaches.

i was against this clock-stopping practice but now I am in full agreement. Be thankful you're not watching the DPL. It has become ridiculous!

I think the refs should go further though. In my time, the ref would look on us writhing on the grass and unless a bone was sticking out or our brains had fallen out of our cranium, he would run off or tell us to get up! These days, I guess the ref is fearful of lawsuits because the least little thing, the stretcher is called out. The faking that goes on kills the rhythm of the game and the enjoyment to the spectators. ManU put an end to some of the foolishness by just declaring at the start of the season that they will not stop playing if a player is down. They will leave it up the ref. All DPL clubs should adopt that "no stopping" rule, and the ref should only stop the game if the player is truly about to die.