What a shocker (for me that is) :o

• What a shocker (for me that is) :o

I've been away from the forum and most soccer news for so many months that I was shocked earlier today to learn that John Barnes was sacked by Tranmere Rovers FC. @: o WOW!!!

Grunt!! 'Twas a bad move leaving the ReggaeBoyz! What next for Johnnie!?!?!?!?! Such a shame that a once marvelous player has come to this! Maybe it's time for him to move on...away from the football pitch. I heard he was okay as a football sportscaster; maybe he can get back his old gig. Whatever he choses to do I wish him well.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Ssssup 'ole Farmah!! Long time. Hope all is well with you.

I think Barnes is still a good fit for Jamaica. He offers more than Tappa....

I think he should be recycled back to Jamaica.

This idea will no doubt get lots of folks knickers twisted into an irritating floss.

I read on this site that an African country (don't remember which) is hoping to employ him.

I commented that countries like Gambia or Angola could use his talent.

Hail up mi lab pardna! Yes bredrin, evryting criss. Hope de I also doing wonderful.

Now to Barnes: a recall to Jamaica would probably not work....at least, not in the long stretch. I think he could help with the youths, working with them a month at a time to mold a few into what we need at the international level. Coach Whitmore is now saying that he needs a creative midfielder; heck!! I think we could find the rough diamond right there in Jamaica.

Keammar Daley, Romario campbell et al just need to be smoothed out
      into the finished product. That's where a John Barnes could be an asset. But for him to be contracted as a full-time coach would be a stretch. Remember now, Johnnie B has a family over there in England and I don't believe the JFF has the financial depth to offer him the kind of package which would be conducive to bringing his family to live in Jamaica fulltime. Also, at this time there is a coach (Tappa Whitmore) who statistically speaking has not actually failed in his position. However, to reiterate, I believe Johnnie B could be useful in helping to hone the skills
      of some of our young players.

Some deep-pocket fellow or organization could sponsor a couple camps where JB (and a couple assistants) could begin to work with some of the
      U23 and U20 midfielders in order to unearth the creative midfielder Tappa so desperately crave.
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
        Grunt!! 'Twas a bad move leaving the ReggaeBoyz! What next for Johnnie!?!?!?!?! Such a shame that a once marvelous player has come to this! Maybe it's time for him to move on...away from the football pitch. I heard he was okay as a football sportscaster; maybe he can get back his old gig. Whatever he choses to do I wish him well.
        He's trying to get the Rwanda job.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...ad.php?t=29345

plus he did him selves no favours the first time around with his constant "come get me" messages not to mention how and why he parted ways with the jff...he was his worst enemy no doubt....as he was at tranmere.

the thing is that where actual footballing decisions is concerned he may not be bad but his man management skills as well as his mouth militate against him a little too much....

Perfectly said Gamma.