Soccer or Mouthballers we have to choose

• Soccer or Mouthballers we have to choose

Time for action and less debate. This is obvious whether politics or sports.

No if or butt about it what Siccko and Farmarare saying is that the game is moving forward withthe inclusion of these players. How in the world can we complain about professional setup and then complain about injection of last minute ballers, the fact remain if a player is involved actively for a professional team outside of Jamaica,( playing or even training with that particular team ala Watford) it is immediately forgone that he is prepared better than his local counterparts. Trying to justify what is obvious is totally fruitless. WE have no money or little moneys to sustain a viable long term youth program...next...as hard as Karl, assassin, MdmeX and others with theirjustifiable love for the advancement of morelocal ballers in our teams and continued training , growth and "wappy kill phillip" cries about Boxhill failing youths and Top of the world this and that. The truth is obvious no person whether Boxhill nor Burrell want a failprogram...no finances is no resources , we have to work with what we have and currently our local boys are not good enuff a great team selection and chemistry is derived from the best selection...whether they play in Jamaicaor Russia...I am not an expert but surely from watching a playeronce I can know if hehas talent and how to blend it into team play.

In a perfect world yes Assassin we would have them training year round or monthly but that is currently not possible. Most international setup get along fine without this total team practice,Most successful international set-up blend local talent withprofessional player mix...See Brazil, Argentina as a matter of fact every good team does not have all their players available most times and it is not Foreign to see a good player, one or two come into the mix at the last minute.

In essence, from now on we can justapose and cry it won't change what is available we have to work with what is available and presented to us...We can want qualification and only local base players and players living and playing together extensively all we want but the true fact is it will never happen..in a real world or rather a real third world country with third world thinkers like Jamaica.
    "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

RE: Soccer or Mouthballers we have to choose

Well, what can I say? As I said the other day, it was due to an emotional outburst and Assassin just ran with it and all now instead of sitting back and making a serious assessment of the facts he has been given he continues to make unfortunate statements trying desperately to justify his initial statements.

the irrefutable facts are that none of the players are so-called foreigners and would be well known to their team mates,I would love to see the tape of the game and see how they blended in with the team.

All now I cant get an answer to a simple question posed to Assassin from Sunday- which more deserving player was left off the team to accomodate these two players?

all our cry is no money.

Look at St.Kitts and Nevis, their program is run by a Jamaican and he has trained over 100 coaches in a year through the ministry of education.

He has had continuous training for his youth teams and it show they beat trinidad and qualify for their first regional youth tournament.

The parents of the kids are very active in raising fund having car wash, bake sale etc. meanwhile we waiting on another 1 million dollar donation.

There is a lot we can do other than sitting down and throwing up our hand that we have no money and grabbing teams.

not a perfect world, so i would have to agree with you and sickko... jamaica's reality is what it is... manley did dun tell wi fi tun wi han an mek fashan... we just affi werk wid how di ting set up... farin yute affi come een fi dem betta dan what we grow a yawd, if dem available and ready fi play...

a juss suh it set up...

Hail up Bad man...some time I have to wonder which planet some of these posters live on as they come up with some scenarios that not even the richest countries can afford yet they want a poor country like ours to put them into practice.

It would have been great if our girls could have gone to Europe to play against tougher competition before the Gold Cup finals the other day...however there are a few things that Karl might not have considered was where would we get that kind of money to send the size delegation; also would the Europeans be able to accomodate us then and most importantly, most of the girls are either in high school or College- what about their educational needs then?

Those who are woerking, who will reimburse them seeing they dont play professional fotoball.

So it is easy to jump up and spout high foluting ideas---but are they practical?

All now Assassin cnat answer the simplest question since Sunday...which deserving player has been left out to accomodate the two players from overseas????

See we cant be arguing from a position of ignorance and expect people to follow blindly like Lemmings

well, u have to understand assasin... he means well... he wants the best for jamaica football... ideally, his point is valid... however, it would not and could not apply to jamaica due to our reality...

if we had taken care of business after 1998, we would not be in this situation of still needing to bring in overseas players at the last minute to augment the local squad...

burrell failed jamaica football... now boxhill is adding to its failure...

So you joining me pon the Chris Dehring band wagon then???? whoooaaaa

Mine exile and Mexx gwaan bad yah- ha ha ha ha ha

Well said PeeJay.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Peejay you are dead wrong mi brethren. Effective leaders must weighthe issuespro and con, then make prudent decisions based on advice received.

Too many of us are intolerant of "out of the box" ideas. The important point is that strong and effective leaders must make informed decisions, and not surround themselves with "yes men".

However, too much debate without coming to a decision is counterproductive.

PeeJay (12/5/2006)Time for action and less debate. This is obvious whether politics or sports.

No if or butt about it what Siccko and Farmarare saying is that the game is moving forward withthe inclusion of these players. How in the world can we complain about professional setup and then complain about injection of last minute ballers, the fact remain if a player is involved actively for a professional team outside of Jamaica,( playing or even training with that particular team ala Watford) it is immediately forgone that he is prepared better than his local counterparts. Trying to justify what is obvious is totally fruitless. WE have no money or little moneys to sustain a viable long term youth program...next...as hard as Karl, assassin, MdmeX and others with theirjustifiable love for the advancement of morelocal ballers in our teams and continued training , growth and "wappy kill phillip" cries about Boxhill failing youths and Top of the world this and that. The truth is obvious no person whether Boxhill nor Burrell want a failprogram...no finances is no resources , we have to work with what we have and currently our local boys are not good enuff a great team selection and chemistry is derived from the best selection...whether they play in Jamaicaor Russia...I am not an expert but surely from watching a playeronce I can know if hehas talent and how to blend it into team play.

In a perfect world yes Assassin we would have them training year round or monthly but that is currently not possible. Most international setup get along fine without this total team practice,Most successful international set-up blend local talent withprofessional player mix...See Brazil, Argentina as a matter of fact every good team does not have all their players available most times and it is not Foreign to see a good player, one or two come into the mix at the last minute.

In essence, from now on we can justapose and cry it won't change what is available we have to work with what is available and presented to us...We can want qualification and only local base players and players living and playing together extensively all we want but the true fact is it will never happen..in a real world or rather a real third world country with third world thinkers like Jamaica.
                    ...but, PeeJay...one big problem is we are not working with what is available and presented to us!

What is the role of the JFF managers?

I would think they should look at results gained by past national teams, and make a determination on whether those past results fit with their ideas of success...the pinacle of success...their pinacle of success?

If these JFF boys conclude - YES! ..then they should resign immediately!

If, however, they aspire to be goodmanagers they will recognise that there is much that can be done to improve on results reaped in the past. ...if they accept that there is much that can be done to improve on past result...create better TEAMs...create greater opportunities for the stakeholders...then, get to it!

That getting to it - Means rejecting your conclusions.Think about it? Do you on reflection see many things you could improve on?

NB: Take the matter of raising funds...funding for our national TEAMs program (not to be confused with local all-island development program)?

Past JFF leaders have tried to use officers and others within the JFF to source adequate funding for the programs. The nearest they have come to providing adequate funding was during the 1994-1998 Burrell years. Take note Burrell could not sustain the level of getting funding after '98. In fact, Burrell was reduced to throwing public tantrums as he tried to get persons, companies & government to plough funds into the national TEAMs program.It got him nowhere! Why then is the current JFF leadership going down that failed path?

One would think they would have learnt from the past and would

Karl I have a hang over from the fraud perpetrated in Frome last night and so dont have time to read your epistle but one thing jumped out at me, the part about boys from primary school who were better than you were but never got the chance.....

Do you follow NBA or the US sports...there are hundreds of stories about people who never made it to the top for various reasons.

There is a park in NY named after this guy they called 'Goat' who they said was better than 80% of the NBA super stars in his time but he never made it past street ball because of substance abuse etc

There was this guy 'Sweet Pea' I think his nick name was, who was around just after Magic broke onto the scene who they said was twice the player Magic was but...once again he slipped through the cracks (pun intended) and got involved in gangs etc.

He did get back enough to play in the CBA then and then signed a brief contrcat with the Spurs and while you saw flashes of stunning brilliance it was never consistent due to age, wear and tear etc..

Same stories in baseball as well and I can tell you dozens from Montego Bay in track and field, football cricket etc...

I have been reading your posts ever since I started coming unto this forum and you seem to exist in some fools paradise where you think every single child that scores two goals in a Prep school game must go on to become a super star at the senior national level.

It does not work like that...no where in the world.

Ask the Chinese, Cubans andSoviets who had these athletes farms where the culled the best from age four and took them away from their families..how many of them went on to be anything decent???

I am sure you know or know of Peter Morgan who went to JC, I heard he was a super athlete in his time but he said after school, most of the guyts then did not persue sports after as they just did it for fun and school spirit.

Some are faced with the reality of life and economics and go find work to feed families or themselves, some get bogged down in academic pursuits etc...get the point yet????

Jamaicans have a way of accepting the negitives saying " a so yard run".

If we want to be successful there has to be some basic protocals and policies in place. Other than that we will always be waiting for the "savior" from foriegn to take us over the top.

time fi a change now. We need to start doing the basic and cheap things good.