Club needs to come first - Wenger

• Club needs to come first - Wenger

Arsene Wenger has warned his players to remember who pays their wages as he tries to guard against the potential distraction of next year's World Cup. Arsenal's multinational squad is full of players who can expect to be playing for their countries in South Africa.
    "For me, the big season is with Arsenal, not the World Cup," he said.
    "We don't pay players to go to the World Cup - we pay them to do well for Arsenal. The first pride of a man is to do well for the guy who pays you."
    Wenger's comments may be in part motivated by the injuries his players have suffered in recent weeks while on international duty.
    Key striker Robin van Persie is expected to be out for at least four weeks after damaging ankle ligaments when playing for the Netherlands in a friendly against Italy earlier this month.
    Midfielder Andriy Arshavin aggravated a groin injury playing for Russia in a World Cup qualifier against Wales in September and full-back Kieran Gibbs picked up a minor ankle injury with the England Under-21s.

Wenger was also unhappy when forward Theo Walcott played for both the senior England team and the Under-21s in the summer, warning that the 20-year-old was being overused.
    Walcott has since endured an injury-plagued start to the season, although he did return to action against Sunderland on Saturday.
    Gunners captain Cesc Fabregas said he could understand Wenger's opinion, but insisted that playing for Spain at the World Cup would only be possible if he played well for Arsenal.
    "He wants Arsenal to do well and the international teams are secondary," said Fabregas.
    "Sometimes I don't play for Spain - I am on the bench. So definitely I want to play well for Arsenal to start in the World Cup.
    "Definitely on my mind in a World Cup year is to play well with Arsenal and be a starter for Spain."
    Arsenal can secure a place in the Champions League knockout stages with a draw against Standard Liege at the Emirates on Tuesday.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/foot...al/8374839.stm

How yuh mean Wenger ... dem just need fi win Sunday.

lol !! Lazie stop the solicitation !!

Arsenal have confirmed that Alex Song has signed a new long-term contract with the club.
        The 22-year-old joined Arsenal in 2006 from Bastia, and has since played nearly 50 games for the club.
        Song has proved his versatility for the club - turning out in central defence, and in midfield.
        Arsene Wenger is a big fan of the Cameroon international and has now rewarded his progress with a new long-term deal.
        Song is the third Arsenal player in the space of a week to agree a new deal, following on from Eduardo and Sanchez Watt.
        a.top_betting_link_1 {background-image: url('/Images/skysports/fixturecal/icons/fix-bet.gif');background-repeat:no-repeat;background-position:0% 50%;padding-left:18px;}

Theo Walcott has taken Arsene Wenger's advice on board and is focused solely on making an impression at Arsenal.
          The Gunners boss issued an angry riposte to reports earlier this week when questioned about the impact next summer's World Cup will have on his international stars.
          The Frenchman made it clear that he is not concerned about events in South Africa, with his job to make sure that success is achieved at Emirates Stadium.
          Walcott has echoed the sentiments of his boss, insisting he must perform well at club level if he is to have any hope of forcing his way into Fabio Capello's England plans.
          "You want to play well for your country and the summer (at the World Cup) will come if you have a great season," said Walcott.
          "The best way is just to take every game as it comes and not look into the future because you never know what is going to happen.
          "You could have a great season, get injured at the end of it and miss out. So I am just going to concentrate on every single game until the end of the season and see where it takes me.
          "I want to get back in the starting line-up for Arsenal and hopefully try and help us to go far in the Premier League.
          "We have got a great bunch of lads and I want to be part of the starting line-up. I just want to get back playing for Arsenal, that is the best way."
          Role reversal

Walcott has often been deployed as a right winger by Arsenal and England, with his pace considered to be a useful weapon down the flanks.
          He could, however, be set for a return to a central striking role - where he played during his early days at Southampton - in the wake of Robin van Persie's untimely injury picked up while on duty with the Dutch national side.
          "It is a shame with Robin because he has done such a tremendous job for us this year," Walcott said.
          "We have got great strikers who can come in for him and I am one of a bunch of strikers who can do that job.
          "I would love to play upfront, it was my position, but at this club I'll play anywhere. I played up front at Southampton and it has been quite a while

sounds like walcott IS focused on the world cup!