Thierry Admits Hand Ball In Winning Goal

Anti-Irish team to be exact!...but my view is that handling the ball is not much different than a nasty tackle in order to gain an advantage...We don't label people like say Evans of ManU a "cheat" for kicking a man in the chest, and getting away with it, do we?

The refs' (all four) job is to see the infringement and deal with it...true they cannot catch everything but this is part of the vagaries of the game.

Having said that, I do see with the Irish...they were hard done by, better to lose on penalties than through a missed call.
    "...We don't label people like say Evans of ManU a "cheat" for kicking a man in the chest, and getting away with it, do we?"

Err .. really now? Did Evans kick the man or did Drama Queen run into the man's foot? Check the replay.

He could stopped playing after the first time he coddled the ball, not to mention the second time he carressed it!

Reflex action?!?

Maybe the first time. CHEAT the second time!

Reflex action isnt only physical, it can be mental i.e the fight or flight scenario, the mental can produce physical affect.

He choose to fight.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Two players in an offside position, but only one should have been judged offside because he directly interfered with the play when he went up to head the ball or handle it, whatever he was trying to do.

After seeing the replay, it is clear in my mind that Henry cheated! He directed the ball onto his foot. There was no reflex involved. Direct TIEFING goal! I wonder how many of us would be pardoning him had it been Jamaica on the receiving end of such an act, especially if it were the USA that did it and kicked us out of the WC!

nonsense!

I agree the he should have taken the flight path and froze watching the ball and his nations WC dreams fly away.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I understand that players will often do what they have to to help their team win, by legal means or otherwise. Earlier in the game Robbie Keane handled the ball for Ireland, and that was cheating, too.

Yes, the ref and linesman are supposed to catch these things, but it is obvious that when things happen so quickly, and with players blocking their view much of the time, they cannot see everything that goes on during a game.

I am against the idea, as some in Ireland are proposing, of a replay. Too bad, those are the breaks. I am also against the use of video replay, as I think technology and the quest for perfect refereeing would ruin the game. Refs are human and mistakes are part of the game. That's how it should be.

You can call it "human instinct" or "reflex reaction" or any other kind of excuse that you would like to use for it. But when it's all said and done what Henry did is still cheating.

I agree with all except one thing Video replay should be used on one and only one issue , if the ball crosses the goal line, as per fouls or anything else on the field, leave that to the ref.

Reflex cheating...lol with an incompetent ref spells chaos.

it's as simple as that.

it is cheating even as we accept that the refs decision, or non-decision, must stand.

Reflex cheating plus an incompetent ref spells chaos.Isnt this often ? what happens with weak refs?

Dont blame the players.The Mexicans, Italians and argentinians has mastered this type of football.Everytime they play you pray for a strong ref.

Its a part of the game and its all in the refs hands..hehe.

perhaps. let's just hope liverpool or jamaica never have to suffer such blatant cheating.

Havent we already ? Jamaica vs USA RFK , Danovan tiefing imaginary penalty ? And anytime we play a Central American team , I pray for a fair call. We need strong refs , thats the begining and the end of the arguement.

LOL!!! like seh it nuh happen arready!

We need strong refs , thats the begining and the end of the arguement.
                                Strong refs? Or God?!? Strong refs won't see every call.

Again, I admit that calls will be missed and players will not admit their crime. Doesn't change the fact they are CHEATS!!!