Thierry Admits Hand Ball In Winning Goal

• Thierry Admits Hand Ball In Winning Goal

SAINT-DENIS, France (AP) - France striker Thierry Henry admits he intentionally handled the ball to set up William Gallas' equalizing goal, sending France to the World Cup at Ireland's expense after an intense 1-1 draw on Wednesday.

With Ireland leading 1-0 and the match level on aggregate deep into the first period of extra time, France won a free kick and Henry twice handled the ball - stopping it going out of play, then controlling it - in setting up Gallas for a header.

After the match, the Barcelona striker said Swedish referee Martin Hansson was the main culprit for not spotting the infringement.

"I will be honest, it was a handball. But I'm not the ref," Henry said. "I played it. The ref allowed it. That's a question you should ask him."

Henry, who enjoyed huge popularity while playing for Arsenal in the Premier League, will be vilified by the English press, who were quick to draw comparisons between Henry's handball and the famed 'Hand of God' during the 1986 World Cup, when Diego Maradona punched the ball into the net over goalkeeper Peter Shilton to knock England out of the quarterfinals.

The online version of leading tabloid newspaper The Sun called it "Le Hand of God," adding "Cheat Thierry does a Maradona."

The incident will also re-ignite heated debate as to whether video technology should be used in football to help referees, like similar technology is used in rugby.

Both FIFA president Sepp Blatter and UEFA president Michel Platini are against technology, preferring instead to experiment with five officials - one additional official behind each goal - during this season's inaugural Europa League.
    Thierry Henry handles the ball to put France through to the World Cup. (Courtesy of Setanta / Special to FoxSoccer.com)

Ireland captain Robbie Keane was furious with Henry, and said goalkeeper Shay Given had a clear view of the incident.

"We knew anyway. When you see the reaction of Shay, he's two yards away from it. You don't get a reaction like that (otherwise). (Henry) almost caught it and walked into the net with it," Keane said. "He's an absolutely top player and has been for a long time, but it was a clear handball. He actually dragged it in from going out. I wouldn't expect it from anybody."
    After winning 1-0 in Dublin on Saturday, France won 2-1 on aggregate, and will play in its fourth straight World Cup.

Ireland failed to qualify, as in 2006. But Henry would not express any sympathy for the dejected Irish, preferring instead to pinpoint his own team's recent problems.

"We suffered for two years, we have been having some problems with our press, our fans, with other people," Henry said. "It would have been better to do it in another way, but as I said, I'm not the ref."

France struggled over both games, winning 1-0 at Croke Park with a deflected goal from Nicolas Anelka, and Henry praised Giovanni Trapattoni's resilient team.

"If they had got through it wouldn't have been robbery (lucky). We have a lot of respect for this team," Henry said. "We knew they play long and like a physical battle. You saw tonight that they are a very good team. I played eight years in England and I can tell you they are."

Did he admit it when it happened?

CHEAT!

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/st...up2010&cc=3888

perhaps the CHEAT is the ref!

Tough loss for the Irish, but cheating is part of the game. Diving & fake fouls are as common as drunk chicks at a bar on a Saturday night.

nice try to cop out of it. the trouble is there's probably not a player in world football who would have admitted it. some may not have done it, or may have stopped when it happened (yeah, right), but having done it, they would have done the same thing Henry did. and they all would be CHEATS. No, not the ref, unless he saw it and didn't call it. He can't see everything, even with two assistants.

HENRY = CHEAT!

don't agree wid yuh in the least. and i respect your entitlement to your opinion.

and! he was also anti-TEAM!

Who's job is it to make the calls, last time I checked it was the ref. Henry is not obligated to admit to any offence he may have done on the pitch.

Should he have ran to ref and say uhm silly me I accidentally or intentionally smacked the ball with my, give me a yellow please.

When the free kick was taken, just before Henry handled the ball, there were two French players offside. So the ref (or linesman, if you please) screwed up twice on the play.

Just adds more insult to injury for the Irish.

dat one was for karl to drag him inna di awgiment, nuh truel!

oh me just get it

Video:Henry Hands

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9YVN...layer_embedded

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Cheat or paragon: how Thierry Henry could have handled it all so differently

Thierry Henry had about five seconds in which to decide to join the immortals. While William Gallas wheeled away from the point-blank header which gave France the lead over the Republic of Ireland during extra time in their World Cup play-off last night, Henry's reaction could have gone one of two ways.

In the act of controlling the ball before providing Gallas with a perfect cross, France's captain had handled it. Not once, but twice. The first time might have been almost inadvertent, a pardonable reflex action as it was about to go out of play. The second, in which he scooped the ball with his left hand, redirecting it to drop nicely on to his right foot, was clearly intentional.

Even there, it could be argued that an element of reflex was involved. But in the few seconds that followed, Henry had two options. He could pretend that he had not broken the most basic law of outfield play. Or he could take the opportunity to neutralise the effect of his reflexes. To erase an error. To right a wrong. To be a man.

(continue)

Its a reflex reaction , in all its primal nature .Its the refs responsibility to stop it.Think about it 5 sec to be eliminated from the WC and a erractic ball comes your way about to go out of play but an illegal touch is all it needs to be put right .....whats your choice of action with the pressure of a nation hopes on your shoulders ?

Henry made the right choice the ref didnt !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Anti-Irish team to be exact!...but my view is that handling the ball is not much different than a nasty tackle in order to gain an advantage...We don't label people like say Evans of ManU a "cheat" for kicking a man in the chest, and getting away with it, do we?

The refs' (all four) job is to see the infringement and deal with it...true they cannot catch everything but this is part of the vagaries of the game.

Having said that, I do see with the Irish...they were hard done by, better to lose on penalties than through a missed call.