• Japan ask 2010 hosts South Africa to ban vuvuzela

World Cup 2010

Japan ask 2010 hosts South Africa to ban vuvuzela

05:06 GMT, Tue 17 Nov 2009 TOKYO, Nov 17 (Reuters) - Japan's soccer chief has joined in the chorus of protestors wanting the noisy vuvuzela trumpet to be banned from next year's World Cup in South Africa.

FIFA had previously rejected calls for a ban on the plastic instrument but Japan have now appealed to South African officials after playing a friendly against the World Cup hosts at the weekend.
    "We have requested that the South African FA cut that noise out," Japan Football Association (JFA) president Motoaki Inukai was quoted as saying in Tuesday's edition of the Sankei Sports newspaper.
    "You can't hear yourself speak. I will be bringing it up (with FIFA president Sepp Blatter)," Inukai added after Japan's 0-0 draw with South Africa in Port Elizabeth.
    Japan defender Tulio said: "You can't hear what your team mates are saying from two metres away. You have to go up to them to give instructions."
    The vuvuzela is synonymous with South African football fans but the incessant noise from the air horns triggered complaints from players, coaches and broadcasters during this year's Confederations Cup.
    Television networks complained that the sound drowned out their commentary, while top players including Spain's Xabi Alonso called for the trumpet to be banned.
    Asked for his thoughts on the subject after Saturday's stalemate, Japan coach Takeshi Okada responded dryly: "Perhaps if they play good football (the fans) will be quiet and watch."

© Reuters 2008. All rights reserved.

Why the thumbs down Mosiah? If they're affecting the players then the request should be given some consideration.

i disagree.

i disagree.

Imagine Jermaine Hue hustling down the left wing, Luton break free and open in the box and Hue, instead of putting the ball in the box decided to roll the ball back to the LB ... because he couldn't hear Luton calling him?

If it items really do prevent the players from hearing each other much less the ref then this may well be a controversial world cup.

jermaine hue...name sounds familiar...hmmm.

Oh... I thought it was Hugu Chuvuz's country...

People need to quit worrying about the vuvuzelas. They are really only going to be an issue when the South African team is playing.
              There have already been more than 500,000 applications for tickets, according to Fifa, and at least 80% of the crowds will be foreign.

The atmosphere at the Confederations Cup has been uniquely African. The noise at Sunday's final was unlike any other match I have been to, with the deafening din of vuvuzelas, the loud plastic trumpets, echoing around the stadium like a giant herd of elephants.

Blatter has voiced concerns about the noise of these instruments but Jordaan says: "Watching football on the African continent is a noisy place.

"Fans come with their horns and drums and in South Africa, the vuvuzela. "When the matches are filled with say Brazil or England fans at next summer's World Cup, there will be far fewer vuvuzelas."
              http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/simonaust...ng_to_the.html

Imagine Jermaine Hue hustling down the left wing, Luton break free and open in the box and Hue, instead of putting the ball in the box decided to roll the ball back to the LB ... because he couldn't hear Luton calling him?

If it items really do prevent the players from hearing each other much less the ref then this may well be a controversial world cup.
                Hear a call in a full stadium?
                Not possible!

good point! and the way things are going for the home team, they may want to not blow them during their matches. maybe they might start scoring again!

lol, I thought so too at first glance
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

totally against any ban on the vuvuzelas... if they are banned, they should ban the drums and all instruments... it is part of the sa soccer experience...

Nigeria Supporters Club: We will not use vuvuzelas

Two months before the kick-off of the 2010 World Cup, the president general of the Nigeria Football Supporters Club, Rafiu Ladipo, has again stated that his organisation will discourage Nigerians from buying or using vuvuzelas during games involving the Super Eagles.

The instruments have been the subject of divisive opinion ahead of the World Cup and Ladipo described them as ‘alien’ and ‘noisy’.

”It is alien to our style and we will not go there with one or buy any in South Africa. We have a traditional way of supporting our team and FIFA has praised our style," Ladipo told KickOffNigeria.com.

(continue)

i certainly will be buying one even though it is alien to me.

OK!
                            ...next logical move - no spectators noise...thus no sounds. No actions like singing, stamping of or shuffling of feet, clapping, etc...these at times drown out the players voices and they have to go right up to a teammate to be heard?!

No sounds tolerated?! Right?
                            Last edited by Karl; April 16, 2010, 04:15 PM.

i find it weird because at the cricket world cup in the west indies everyone complained that it was too sanitary because it lacked west indian spontaneity and flavour....

as one player said, when they come to the west indies they expect and indeed look forward to the west indian flavour of cricket matches....