• Samuel Eto'o rewards winning

Samuel Eto'o rewards winning Cameroon squad with £29,000 watches

• Internazionale striker marks World Cup qualification with gifts
    • Watches come 'with dedication from me inscribed on the back'
    Samuel Eto'o has made a habit of rewarding his Cameroon team-mates for good performances. Photograph: Mark Thompson/Getty Images

The Internazionale striker Samuel Eto'o has celebrated Cameroon's qualification for next summer's World Cup in South Africa by buying every member of the squad a £29,000 watch.

Cameroon beat Morocco 2-0 to secure their place in what will be their sixth World Cup finals, aided by nine goals from Eto'o in qualifying.

Speaking before the decisive win, Eto'o told the French television show Telefoot: "You remember that watch I gave to Usain Bolt in the summer? If we qualify I will give one to each of my team-mates, with a dedication from me inscribed on the back."

Eto'o has a proud track record of making use of his lucrative income to incentivise his team-mates. Four years ago he paid them a total of £35,000 – nearly £1,200 each - after they had defeated the Ivory Coast 3-2.

The watches are understood to be made of solid gold and diamonds, and come from the luxury collection he inspired.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Good thing I checked before posting...what being at the World Cup finals mean to this footballer!

£1.00 = USD 1.67842
    Let us say X1 starters + 7 reserves = (18 x £29,000.00) x USD1.67842

= USD876,135.24.00

...and if were a squad of 30 = USD1,460,225.40

...plus his personal emotional capital!

...an fi wi JFF, coaches, players, private sector should be/could be/would be supporta dem a joke wid wi football...a joke wid wi life?

don't forget the bolt reference.

Yuh seit!

Unuh sure that's Eto'o? or Semanya?