A massive blow........

• A massive blow........

Arsenal's Robin van Persie is set for a lengthy spell out after suffering suspected ankle ligament damage while playing for the Netherlands.

The 26-year-old striker was stretchered off after 10 minutes of his country's friendly against Italy in Pescara.

Van Persie held his right ankle after a robust tackle by Giorgio Chiellini and was flown to hospital for treatment.

"We think it's ligaments but will know later on Sunday," a Dutch Football Association official told BBC Sport.

"The medical staff were not talking about a break of the bone but the doctors will be able to tell us for sure. It didn't look too good."

Chiellini's challenge left Van Persie rolling around in agony and reports in Holland suggested he has ruptured ankle ligaments.

606: DEBATE

Don't you panic guys. We do have Carlos Vela and Eduardo who are worthy of that position

A_FORCE_ONE

It is believed he will be examined in Amsterdam on Sunday by renowned ankle specialist Professor Niek van Dijk, who has previously treated Critiano Ronaldo, Ruud van Nistelrooy and Michael Owen.

"The first diagnosis is a bad ankle injury. We are waiting for X-rays in hospital. It's terrible for Robin and is not good for Holland or his club," said Netherlands coach Bert van Marwijk after the game.

Van Persie is Arsenal's second-highest scorer this season with eight goals, one behind skipper Cesc Fabregas.

All of his goals have come in the last 11 games as the former Feyenoord forward helped propel Arsenal to within five points of Premier League leaders Chelsea with a game in hand.

His absence leaves the Gunners short up front, with fellow forward Nicklas Bendtner sidelined until mid-December following minor groin surgery.

Arsenal are also currently without the injured Gael Clichy, Theo Walcott and Denilson.

Any lengthy absence for Van Persie will also be felt by the Dutch as they prepare for the 2010 World Cup.
    Last edited by Karl; November 15, 2009, 08:05 AM.

Bad for Van Persie more than for Arsenal. He was playing his best football. At last he was scoring in prolific manner and was all about TEAM after too many years holding the ball too long or taking an ill advised shot.

...but it could very well be just a slight scare and he could be back much quicker than these early reports suggest.

The GUNNERS should be fine. Eduardo needs the playing time.

Bad for Van Persie more than for Arsenal. He was playing his best football. At last he was scoring in prolific manner and was all about TEAM after too many years holding the ball too long or taking an ill advised shot.

...but it could very well be just a slight scare and he could be back much quicker than these early reports suggest.

The GUNNERS should be fine. Eduardo needs the playing time.
      Time for Eduardo to step up!

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
        Time for Eduardo to step up!
        You guys have a problem. What will be most interesting is to see how Cesc's game changes. One can suspect that he will be elevate himself into super-galactico-level status if he can carry the team through this. It's too bad him don' play for Liverpool instead a unu. He would be a great compliment to Gerrad and Torres.

Yuh figet seh - GUNNERS goals come from haul ova!

Tell dem Boss!!.Nothing will stop us,the Arsenal dont rely on any 1 player,you think a Liverfool this?

Based on the title of this thread having the word "massive" in it I thought you were talking about a real footballer like Rooney or Evra. Come to find out you're talking about some 2nd rate journeyman baller from some 2nd rate glorified championship team. Cho...nobodda waste my time wid fool fool post again seen. - T.K.

The Dutch Football Association has confirmed Arsenal's Robin van Persie has ruptured ankle ligaments but does not require surgery.
                Holland international van Persie was stretchered from the field just ten minutes into the international friendly with Italy on Saturday evening following a robust challenge from Azzurri centre-half Giorgio Chiellini.
                He was immediately rushed to hospital for treatment, with Arsenal anxiously awaiting to learn the seriousness of the situation.
                Dutch national coach Bert van Marwijk conceded the situation did not look good, and now ligament damage has been confirmed.
                "The ankle ligaments are definitely torn," confirmed a Dutch FA spokesman.
                "After the match our medical staff did not mention a break in the bone but the doctors will be able to tell us for sure. It does not look too good."
                Although it is not yet known how long van Persie will be sidelined for, Arsenal can at least draw consolation from the fact surgery is not thought to be required.

Arsenal have announced that Robin van Persie will be sidelined for 'approximately six weeks'.
                  The striker suffered an ankle injury 10 minutes into Holland's goalless draw with Italy on Saturday and had to be stretchered from the field.
                  The Dutch Football Association later revealed he had ruptured ankle ligaments amid fears he could be out of action for several months.
                  Van Persie played down such concerns on Sunday evening by saying that he would be fit to return in 'four to six weeks'.
                  Arsenal have now confirmed the length of time they expect to be without the 26-year-old, whilst also stating that he will come back to England to continue his rehabilitation.
                  Van Persie will therefore miss a number of key games for his club but should be available again around Christmas.
                  A statement on Arsenal's official website read: "Following the care given to Van Persie by the Dutch FA, he will travel back to London this week and continue his treatment with the Arsenal medical team at London Colney.
                  "Van Persie will be out of action for approximately six weeks.
                  "We wish Robin a speedy recovery and look forward to seeing him playing again soon."
                  Radical

Van Persie, meanwhile, intends to do all he can to help his recovery - including radical medical treatment in Serbia which involves using human placenta.
                  Speaking to Dutch television programme Studio Voetbal, the Arsenal striker revealed: "I will fly to the Balkans to meet with a female doctor who helped [PSV Eindhoven midfielder] Danko Lazovic.
                  "She is vague about her methods, but I know she massages you using fluid from a placenta.
                  "I am going to try. It cannot hurt and if it helps, it helps.
                  "I have been in contact with Arsenal physiotherapists and they have let me do it."
                  Van Persie accepted his injury could have been much more serious.
                  The Dutchman added: "A scan showed that my ankle ligament was almost completely torn off where [Giorgio] Chiellini caught me, but it was not intentional.
                  "I was lucky, it could be worse."

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
                    Based on the title of this thread having the word "massive" in it I thought you were talking about a real footballer like Rooney or Evra. Come to find out you're talking about some 2nd rate journeyman baller from some 2nd rate glorified championship team. Cho...nobodda waste my time wid fool fool post again seen. - T.K.
                    JANGLE !!!!! T.K. has saved himself. Welcome back T.K.

Now thats a b1tchslap

ARSENAL have been rocked after Robin van Persie was ruled out for FIVE</B> months.

The Dutch star, 26, suffered torn ankle ligaments during Holland's goalless draw against Italy on November 14.

He was initially expected to miss upto six weeks with the injury and hoped to return sooner after having controversial placenta treatment in Serbia.

But the Gunners' medical staff have reviewed Van Persie's situation and decided he must have surgery.

The striker will go under the knife in Amsterdam next week and will be out until April at the earliest.

An Arsenal statement said: "Having scrutinised these in detail and assessed the response of his ankle, the club's medical team concluded that further investigation and opinion was required.

"Advice was sought from the leading ankle specialist Mr Niek van Dijk, who confirmed that more extensive damage had been suffered than was first diagnosed.

"In order to repair his ankle, Robin will undergo surgery next week in Amsterdam to reconstruct the ligaments.

"The club's medical team anticipate that a full recovery will take between four and five months."